We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience, mostly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mixed experience, mostly good”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here twice in a week, in two different suites. The first time everything was flawless -- room spotless and comfortable, above average breakfast, friendly staff. The second time was not as good. The room seemed older and more worn (but clean). The coffee table was missing. The door handle was broken. They ran out of items at breakfast. They seemed understaffed. Despite these minor flaws, we will stay again. The suites were large, the beds were comfortable and fairly firm, and the location is 2 blocks off the main road, so very quiet. We thought it was very good value for the money. It's located on the main commercial corridor between Durham and Chapel Hill, halfway between the two cities. That means there are restaurants and shopping centers within walking distance, but you have to drive to get to Duke, Durham or Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Guest Relations at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
HoosierTraveler60, we appreciate you taking the time to sit down and write us a review! Wonderful to see your first visit with us was great, however I would like to apologize that your second stay wasn't to your nor our standards. We offer many different rooms types from our standard studio queen suite up to our adored two bedroom suite for any occasion. All rooms have a kitchen and living room area attached for easy meals, relaxing or entertaining guests. Resting on the line of Durham and Chapel Hill we are in a convenient area for shopping, eating and sightseeing. Our front desk staff always has suggestions if they are needed as well. Hope to see you again soon, HoosierTraveler60!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    49
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
86
28
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here 3 weeks in one-bedroom suite while recovering from surgery. Staff friendly and helpful. Took me to local f/u doctor appt. Very clean. Free laundry. Great recommendations for restaurants of all $ ranges. Safe location. Breakfast excellent, 3x weekly meals great for quick salad and light dinner. Food always presented well and food area clean. Given medical rate. Clean, certified, service dogs stayed free. Easy to meet other people at meals or at pool. Folks here for pleasure, business, medical reasons. Treated like family by staff. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for handicap accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Guest Relations at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are extremely pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable, Jo-Ann T. Staybridge offers medical rates for individuals like yourself visiting the area for treatment or surgeries. Our shuttle van is a helpful tool when needing to get to and from appointments safely and swiftly. When in need of a lift just give the front desk a ring and our staff will be ready to assist you. However, shuttle ride are on a first come first serve basis. Once again we are extremely pleased you had an enjoyable experience with us and hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is not the most glamorous, but it is functional. During my stay there, I saw a diverse range of guests enjoying themselves by the outdoor pool, taking advantage of the free laundry facilities and mingling over the complimentary breakfasts and dinners (provided three nights a week).

Staybridge Suites caters to long-term guests and while you stay, the staff treat you like family. I'd like to thank Andre, Sarah, Lauren, Camille, Raven, Emery for the great week-long stay I had. Not only did they remember me from my previous visit (six months prior) they went out of their way to provide great service. Because of the people, I always come back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a dishwasher. If you're staying for a longer period, or if you're cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Guest Relations at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
As always thank you Rebecca R. for your review and your kind words! We love seeing those familiar faces and appreciate your feedback greatly. Glad to hear your second visit was as good as your first and we’ll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel before when visiting our son at UNC. Previous stay was very good. This last stay was horrendous. We had a two bedroom suite which smelled like wet dog. When we walked in for the first time, the smell of air freshener and pet odor was so strong it was nauseating. The carpets and furniture were all heavily stained and we were actually afraid to put our bags down. Since there were no other rooms this type available, we were stuck. We spent as little time in our room as possible..and to top things off, my husband and I both got some sort of rash all over our legs. We were so repulsed by the whole experience that we'll never stay here again! If you're plans are to stay here, ask to have a room that pets are not allowed to stay in!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJSHORELADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Guest Relations at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you NJSHORELADY, for bringing a few things to our attention and we appreciate your review. I would like to apologize your stay here at Staybridge did not meet your standards and from the sounds of it they sure did not meet ours as well. We are a pet friendly hotel and with a $75 pet fee your furry family member can spend the night. Our housekeeping staff is notified when an animal has been or is currently occupying a room. Doing so allows our staff to know which rooms need what type of cleaning in order for new guests to arrive. I once again would like to sincerely apologize your stay was inadequate, but I hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitro, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel when my sister had brain surgery at Duke University. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, they shuttled us back and forth to Duke and cooked meals for the family three nights a week at no extra charge. Absolutely the most patient friendly hotel I've ever stayed in. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyHoltzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Guest Relations at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
MistyHoltzman, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are located between BOTH universities and BOTH hospitals making Staybridge one of the most perfect hotels for medical patients. Our shuttle can be a life saver for not only our medical patients, but for anyone needing a lift. Hours of operation run from 7:45am until 8:30pm Monday through Friday and runs on a first come first serve basis. When traveling on a budget our dinner social is a great amenity. Our dinner social happens every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday which comes with an entrée, side dish, salad bar, and of course many guests favorite draft beer and wine. Can’t wait to see you all back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a 5 week stay at this hotel and there were a few issues with the business center, printers regularly broken, and internet access problems during a 2 day period. Despite these issues (and every hotel will experience some type of problem), this hotel really gets high marks for the courtesy and helpfullness of their staff. Even when the business center printers were down, the staff at the front desk was willing to print my documents AND go out of their way to provide help with anything that was asked of them. Whenerver an issue within the room arose, it was remedied within 10 minutes of my request. Room was clean, orderly, and importantly, nothing in the room was tampered with or stolen while I was away. Lobby, hallways, and dining area were always clean but cloth seats on chairs could have used a little attention to remove some old stains. Staff would always greet me, free laundry area and fitness center were well maintianed, and pool was kept clean - guests seemd to really enjoy the ability to lounge and swim at the outdoor pool.
Complimentary breakfast is offered daily with well rounded selections; complimentary dinner on Tues, Wed. Thurs. but could use a little more imagination and creativity as they are only adequate. That said, there are many really good restaurants almost within walking distance and the staff was very helpful in providing a complete list, making suggestions, and providing directions.
This is a busy hotel; especially so because of the convenient location to shopping, universities, medical centers, the airport, and amenities at this facility. In reading some of the negative comments posted I can say that after 5 weeks of living at and observing this hotel, that some of the negative comments are unfair. There will be problems - even in your own home - and yes, people traveling are tired and stressed. Some are even medical patients with serious illnesses seeking treatment at the university hospitals near this hotel. I only observed (and experienced) that the staff at this hotel bends over backwards to make the guest's stay away from home pleasant and comfortable. This staff tries really hard to help and accommodate each and every guest in whatever way possible to meet the needs of the customer. I saw them in action. They worked tirelessly to keep this hotel clean, safe, inviting, and friendly. Am rating them a 4 instead of a 5, but with a little tweaking (new copy machine, no internet glitch, and clean dining chairs) this hotel will definitely be a 5 and will be my first choice for longer stays in the area.
Could not have been happier with this hotel and especially the attentiveness of the staff.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor have higher ceilings which feels like you will have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Guest Relations at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you kindly for your thoroughly awesome review, Xirie! We appreciate all of your feedback and don’t you worry we have taken care of that pesky printer in the business center. All guests can freely use the business center and all of its capabilities! Though you’re right we did not mind helping any guest(s) with their business needs. When a guest like yourself who stays here for your length of stay your become part of our Staybridge family. Our goal here at Staybridge is to make sure each and every guest receives the best service throughout their stay. It’s not about doing what must be done, but taking charge and going beyond what is asked to alleviate any situation. Our location, reasonable rates and our lovely staff does make this hotel quite popular, however we always try and make room for our great return guests. Anytime you need a place to rest your head our doors are always open. Thank you once again, Xirie, your review was outstanding and sure did put a smile on our faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our first stay at a Staybridge, and it was a nice. The suite was large and clean, and the location of this hotel is ideal... Close to the interstate, dining, and shopping... Walking distance in fact... There was a good sized fitness center and laundry room, and while I didn't use either, they appeared to be clean with modern equipment... There was an outside pool that both my son's enjoyed... We all had a comfortable nights sleep, and the water pressure in the shower was better than average... For me, I was happy because I find most hotels have pathetic water pressure as they're apparently trying to save money... At this Staybridge, it was pretty good, which was a nice surprise... They offer a free breakfast, which was OK... The standard fare you find at most hotels that offer a hot breakfast... My only real issue with breakfast is that they don't open until 7:00AM, which is way too late for those trying to get up and get out early... Our only other issues were that our room was not ready when we arrived, and it took them over an hour to get it ready, and it's not like we arrived at the hotel early... In addition, there are no ice machines (that we could find) in the hotel... We were able to get some from the kitchen, but it shouldn't be this way... Our issues were minor and I would recommend this hotel without reservation...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBa6864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Guest Relations at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you GoBa6864 for taking the time to write us a review! We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you at check-in time. Our housekeeping staff has been swamped recently with high volume check-outs and check-ins; great for business, but lots of work for our girls! We do not have ice makers located throughout our property, however our front desk staff is more than willing to help any guest with ice requests when needed. Our breakfast hours change throughout the week; weekday breakfast is served from 6:15am-9:30am and weekend hours are 7:30am-10:30am (so you can sleep in a little). Glad your family found our pool to be the perfect spot to cool down and have fun while our beds were comfortable so you could get a good nights rest. If you’re ever in the Durham/CH area our doors are always open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#41 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP

Property: Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Address: 3704 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#9 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill-Durham , a new, all-suite extended-stay hotel. We re located a few miles from Duke Medical Center, UNC Chapel Hill, Dupont, IBM, Motorola, Nortel, and GlaxoSmithKline. Guarantee the success of your next event in our smartly decorated meeting rooms, with professional planners to assist you. Take care of business in our 24-hour business center with copying and faxing services. Our spacious fitness facility and swimming pool will allow you to relax during your stay and work off the stress after a busy day of meetings. Each of our delightfully appointed suites will have you feeling like you are vacation, even if you re not. Each has a fully equipped kitchen with all the tools you ll need to whip up your favorite meals. Enjoy thoughtful amenities such as cable TV, free high-speed Internet access, and voicemail-enabled phones. Staybridge Suites is moments from all the unique, interesting attractions of the Chapel Hill/Durham area. We are convenient to the Morehead Planetarium, Studio 91, Ackland Art Museum, Triangle Theatre Festival, Wallace Wade Stadium, and the Carolina Brewery. Get comfortable it s Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill Durham! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-Rtp Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing