We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yet another stay at HGI Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“yet another stay at HGI Durham”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

And a great stay at that! With family in the area, we visit quite a lot. The King suite with two bathrooms is very much worth the extra $20.00.

We particularly enjoy the fine service from the breakfast staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quincyonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and also got to experience one of our king suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and also the service you received from our breakfast staff. We will make sure to let them know how well you felt treated. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Durham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    169
    52
    13
    13
See reviews for
158
89
37
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for business and was pleased with the customer service upon checking in and out. Hotel offered umbrella for the two days that rained. Stayed on the sixth floor facing the front with minimal noise or distractions. Room was a good size as well as the bathroom. Pleased with the housekeeping here, as the room was nicely cleaned each day. Hotel is across from the Southpoint Mall and very easy access to Highway 40.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fsu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times on business trips.

The hotel is in good condition and the staff is wonderful. The restaurant breakfast is average and the restaurant can be quite crowded on weekdays. There is a Ruth's Chris connected to the hotel which is nice (per diem buster)!

The hotel location provides plenty of dining and shopping options.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wf9150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Check-in was a breeze, they honored my room preferences (high floor, away from the elevator) and the staff offered me complimentary bottled water. I was surprised that neither the elevators nor the common areas on the room floors were adequately air conditioned -- this made for an uncomfortable few minutes every time I left the room (especially in work clothes).

The rooms at the hotel are a nice size and there was a large desk where I could work (free WiFi, too). There was also a refrigerator and a stocked Keurig machine. I had a room facing the highway and was bothered by road noise -- but, I solved the problem by running the fan on the a/c (which worked well in the room, thankfully) as white noise. Next time I stay, I will request a room facing the parking lot as they seem to honor room preferences.

The hotel is near a strip mall and right across the street from a large mall, so the location is fabulous for restaurant choices -- I ate at Maggiano's and had a wonderful meal. There is also a Cheesecake Factory, California Pizza Kitchen, and more. Last time I stayed, I had a great dinner at the Ruth's Chris Steakhouse located in the hotel.

My package included breakfast. The buffet was busy at 7:45 a.m. -- the tables were full and they were out of coffee, eggs and plates. But, the waitress was super nice and made sure that more plates were immediately on the way and that eggs would be on the way soon, and that tables were immediately cleaned and re-set when vacated. Everything I ate was good (eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes). No coffee, though -- not a big deal as I had some in the room and knew I could get more at the office.

Overall, great stay and I will stay here again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a high floor away from the elevator and facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLMWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It was a good family reunion the hall room was neet and tidy the buffet was good and pleasant and having a reunion in a hotel was fun and cool. I would come back to the Hilton Garden Inn and another city and state for a stay vacation site. I hope you have one in New Jersey in the garden state because I will be looking for one to visit some family in one of those cities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Incredible! Had a great stay, staff was very helpful and breakfast was amazing. I expect nothing less from the Garden Inn. From Check in to Check out the staff was available and responsive to all my questions. Wish I could have stayed an extra few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

the hotel is great. the food is pricey for the quality but good enough because we did not want to go out. a nice selection of wines and a full bar with a bartender that knows how to make a drink, a big plus for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lennard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
8.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Durham Southpoint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint
Address: 7007 Fayetteville Rd, Durham, NC 27713-8725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Durham Southpoint Hotel Durham
Hilton Durham
Durham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing