We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Pulling into the driveway at the Arrowhead Inn past massive magnolia trees, beds of wildflowers and lots of butterflies was our first clue that this would be a special stay. Stepping into the beautifully restored home and our suite and then walking around the grounds confirmed that this is an uncommon B&B that Phil and Gloria clearly enjoy sharing with their guests. Our suite was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable, and the breakfast Phil prepared was the crowning touch! Everything was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the service and the easy conversation with Phil and Gloria. They are gracious hosts who made us feel like we had come home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 8 December 2015
Thank you for this wonderful description of our inn! We are very proud of our beautiful magnolias and gardens, it is so good to hear that you enjoyed them. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we hope you will be back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
255
14
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Wow what a gem and a find! Phillip and Gloria think of every small touch too. Flowers in the rooms. Amazingly comfortable beds. Immaculately clean rooms. We had the garden room and it was heavenly. The gardens are beautiful and full of butterflies.
All I can say is it delivers more than promised.
I probably will never come back to Durham again just because I probably won't have the need to, but would recommend this place to everyone
Excellent and homemade breakfast too.
Very helpful owners with regard to sightseeing and restaurants

Room Tip: The house is wonderful but for privacy and enjoying the garden choose the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We really appreciate your very kind feedback after leaving our inn today. We are humbled that you noticed the room details and the beauty of the gardens. We, too, enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family. It was our pleasure to serve you! We send our blessings to the UK!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We attended a small wedding booked at the Arrowhead Inn and decided we would spend the night there before & after the event as well. It is a charmer, that is for sure. The location was perfectly suited for the wedding, from the landscaping surprises around the property to the décor of this circa 1700's home. Very clean, a thoughtful staff with interesting history to the place made the stay for this ole couple a real treat.

Room Tip: Get online to view the rooms & pick what suits you. If you need more help, call them. We did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieDJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2015
We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us after the wedding! Weddings at Arrowhead are special affairs and we are glad you were able to be a part of one. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your stay. We hope you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Gloria and Phil Teber (the owners) are fantastic. The Guest Cottage was amazing, and the grounds and garden surrounding the property were ideal for an outdoor wedding. The food was second to none - Phil is a master chef! If you are looking to have a small, intimate wedding, definitely check out the Arrowhead Inn! My new husband and I are already planning to celebrate our first year anniversary there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sicardfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2015
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and kind review! We are so glad that your wedding was everything you dreamed it would be. We wish you and your husband all the best and hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Recently my wife and I were looking for a B&B conveniently located between Atlanta and Baltimore. About midway along our route we found Arrowhead Inn located in Durham, NC, a few miles off Rt. 85. And what a find for us. The Inn is meticulously kept and expertly run by its owners, Phil and Gloria. Our room was the original master bedroom and it was spacious and completely modernized. Afternoon tea was an enjoyable treat and dinner and breakfast were superb, all prepared by chef Phil. This was our first visit to Arrowhead but it will not be our last. Whenever we travel route 83 through North Carolina, we will be sure to include at least one night at Arrowhead Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satisfaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2015
We are so glad you found us and that you chose to stay with us during your trip. Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We hope you will stay with us again if you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We went to the Durham area to attend the 10th annual lavender festival of a small farm near Durham and booked the Garden Cottage at this Inn for 3 nights. It was our first trip to the area. The lavender festival turned out to be a real disappointment, but the decision to stay at this Inn made the trip to Durham worth while. The Innkeepers, Phil and Gloria, were fantastic and immediately made us feel at home. The cottage was fabulous and the gourmet meals, prepared by Phil, a real treat. The Inn is located just outside of Durham, a short drive away from downtown and very convenient for our visits to the Sarah P. Duke Gardens and Duke University. We highly recommend this wonderful Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EzTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so happy to hear your stay at the Garden Cottage was worth your while. The pictures you took during your stay are lovely! We hope you will return to stay with us should you be in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Arrowhead Inn sets the standard that other B&Bs should be rated against. My wife and I stayed numerous times at the Arrowhead Inn while visiting our daughter, a student at DUKE. If you are staying in the Durham area, this is definitely a B&B that you should visit. The owners of the Arrowhead Inn, Phil & Gloria, are perfectly suited as inn keepers as they’ll make your visit one that you won’t forget. This inn has it all: great food, great service, good company, and individualized care will make each guest’s stay a very pleasant one.

Bill & Brenda

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2015
We are so thankful for your continued business! We are so glad you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions and that your stays with us have been unforgettable. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We look forward to the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#10 of 71 in Durham
259 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
8.4 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
173 reviews
14.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Property: Arrowhead Inn
Address: 106 Mason Road, Durham, NC 27712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing