We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn-highly recommend it!!!!!”
Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West palm beach, fl.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn-highly recommend it!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We had a delightful experience at the Arrowhead Inn. Gloria and Phil went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room was large, gorgeous, clean and very comfortable. The rest of the inn is beautiful. I could have lied on the hammock in those luscious grounds all day. Phil is a gourmet cook graduating from a top DC culinary school. The breakfast of orange juice, fresh fruit, ginger lemon scones, amazing egg strata with cheese and fresh herbs and fresh home baked rolls was 5 star restaurant quality. This is a select registry 5 star Inn. I would have loved to stay and relax there for a month!!!!!

  • Liked — congeniality and hospitality of owners, room, grounds, breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krisssy71005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
265
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The Arrowhead Inn is located some distance outside of Durham but the house and its grounds are quite beautiful. Rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished and display some of the woodworking skills of the innkeeper, himself. Breakfasts were freshly prepared with hot and cold items, but many of the dishes were not really to our tastes. Despite this, the efforts and intentions were good and many people may have fully enjoyed them. The innkeepers kept a file of restaurant menus and were helpful in selecting dining spots and making reservations. The location outside of Durham was actually a plus because it gave easy access to bypass roads making access to most areas of tourist interest very easy.

  • Liked — location, main house
  • Disliked — breakfast recipes
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
450 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

A wonderful property just far away enough to be rustic but within 10-15 minutes of restaurants, shopping, etc. Phil and Gloria were extremely hospitable and even invited us to join a private party they were hosting for neighbors, friends and employees. The DVD collection is varied, the grounds are quite lovely, and breakfast was delicious. The owners mentioned to us that when the inn is not full, you can drop by just for breakfast -- just be sure to call ahead. They also plan on hosting themed dinners later this year. Everything made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Furnishings, cleanliness, hospitality and food.
  • Disliked — Gravel driveway and cramped parking.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Gloria and Phil and very friendly hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. Phil is a great cook--really good breakfast. Our room was on the small side, but had a nice jacuzzi tub and very comfortable bed. The grounds are lovely. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Pretty place, great hosts
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PickyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

My husband and I just got back from Arrowhead Inn, stayed at the Carolina Log Cabin for one night. It was a very nice experience - the cabin itself is very cozy, rustic decor, and the bed was comfortable, the linen smelt faintly of lavender, there were complimentary bath salts for the whirlpool tub. I had pre-ordered a plate of fruit/cheese and chocolate covered strawberries, and there was also small bags of nuts, crackers and chocolates on the table as well as bottled water in the refrigerator. Breakfast is served from 8am to 9am, however I had emailed Gloria beforehand and she had breakfast brought to the cabin at 9am. The grounds are beautiful, I spent some time sitting on the porch on one of the rockers. Even though the inn was full, we felt secluded, and it was such a restful experience. Gloria and Phil were tremendously friendly, and the DVD collection is surprisingly good. I did have a small problem with the ac in the loft, it was loud - and I did mention it to her while checking out so that they can fix it.

I am also putting up pics of the cabin and the grounds. I took the pics in the evening, so it might look a little dark, but wanted to give everyone an idea about the place.

  • Liked — The seclusion, the cabin, the grounds
  • Disliked — The noisy AC upstairs.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Desirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

This is a gem. Lovely old property with pretty garden and beautiful comfortable rooms. We had a pretty kingsize room which had a comfortable sitting area and a well equipped shower room, on the smalll side but more that adequate. The owners are great and go out of the way to provide for all your comforts. Details of local restaurants and sample menus are available and there is an early evening snack available from 4 pm is in a comfortable lounge area. The owners also stock a samall selection of wines which can be purchased by the glass or by the bottles.

The restaurants are not close by - 15 minutes in the car, through pretty rural area. Ample choice of restaurant types and heaps of parking.

I would greatly recommend this place.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and friendly [people
  • Disliked — Durham does not have a great deal for tourists to see, but plenty for a couple of days
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosesGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission VIejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

My husband and I, along with our daughters, were welcomed by gracious hosts, beautiful surroundings and luxurious accommodations.

  • Liked — It's history, beauty and hosts
  • Disliked — Near a main highway
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sarah051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#12 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
8.4 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
14.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Property: Arrowhead Inn
Address: 106 Mason Rd, Durham, NC 27712-9106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing