We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cathy and Dave”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poquoson, Virginia
1 review
“Cathy and Dave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I were in Durham for our friends sons wedding. Staying at the Arrowhead was super. Phils cooking was superb and Glorias hospitality the best..We even met some very nice young people and a couple who were going to the same wedding. The Inn was a plantation and has lots of history,and there is a book in the great room that you should not miss.I can not say enough good things about our stay at the Arrowhead Inn.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the garden cottage. It has a private porch with table and chairs and a very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2015
Thank you for your stay and for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the company at the inn. We hope that you will return to see us next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
258
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only stayed one night. Wish it had been longer. Beautiful property with lovely gardens to explore. The room was perfect with every imaginable amenity.To make the stay complete, breakfast and dinner were fabulous gourmet treats, truly unusual in even the best B and B's.
And let's not forget the charming and hospitable innkeepers. Altogether, a magnificent getaway.And we didn't even have time to explore all the surrounding attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcookep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2015
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that your short stay with us was a relaxing getaway. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food so much as well. We hope you can make it back sometime for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent rooms, great service, fantastic food, and close location. The garden cottage was particularly nice, and the breakfast was delicious. The picnic dinner was just what we needed. The owners went out of their way to make our honeymoon stay incredible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmpopovc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2015
So glad to hear you enjoyed the garden cottage, it really is a special experience! We are thrilled to have been a part of making your honeymoon stay so wonderful. Thank you for your stay and for your review. We hope you will be back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had the opportunity to visit Durham, NC and the Arrowhead Inn during a recent trip to visit my fiance. We could not have picked a better place to stay. The moment you pull into the driveway you get a sense of wonderful seclusion; exactly what we were hoping to feel on our mini vacation. The Inn itself is beautiful and the grounds are just a stunning. Phil & Gloria were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! I cannot wait to visit the Teber's and the Arrowhead Inn again soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Congratulations on finding our secluded property and thank you for your wonderful remarks. So glad we could help create the perfect mini-vacation and hope to have you back for your next getaway when you can hopefully enjoy dinner as well! http://www.arrowheadinn.com/eveningdining.html
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had the best experience with our stay! The property was gorgeous and the inn keepers were amazing and very friendly. They wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and offered us suggestions for restaurants in the area! Our cabin was amazing and breakfast on the front porch was better then we could have imagined. We are already taking about coming again and staying for multiple nights!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaFanKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed the cabin and breakfast! We look forward to your next stay with us! Thank you again for your stay and for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Arrowhead Inn is not only a lovely bed and breakfast but also, the home of our friends Phil and Gloria. This year in particular the grounds are so lovely with the meandering graveled drive that brings you onto an oasis of beautiful lawn, flowers, shrubs, magnolia trees, and butterflies galore! How lovely and peaceful. And, as always our rooms were very spacious and clean with a comfortable bed which was much needed after a 3 hour hike in the local vicinity. In addition, our friends were so kind to welcome our niece and her boyfriend with the same warmth and cheeriness that they have given us over the years which was very special to us. Our breakfast was served with elegance but yet in the comforts of the "sitting" room. And, not only was it delicious but it was also very filling so we didn't have to do lunch that day! Overall, this is my favorite B&B mainly because of what we look for most in any lodging.....a great smile and a warm heart!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice so any one would be a nice selection for a traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We greatly appreciate your patronage and glowing support. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Pulling into the driveway at the Arrowhead Inn past massive magnolia trees, beds of wildflowers and lots of butterflies was our first clue that this would be a special stay. Stepping into the beautifully restored home and our suite and then walking around the grounds confirmed that this is an uncommon B&B that Phil and Gloria clearly enjoy sharing with their guests. Our suite was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable, and the breakfast Phil prepared was the crowning touch! Everything was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the service and the easy conversation with Phil and Gloria. They are gracious hosts who made us feel like we had come home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 8 December 2015
Thank you for this wonderful description of our inn! We are very proud of our beautiful magnolias and gardens, it is so good to hear that you enjoyed them. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we hope you will be back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#11 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
8.4 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
14.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Property: Arrowhead Inn
Address: 106 Mason Road, Durham, NC 27712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing