We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every detail”
Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our stay was shortly after Christmas and we were able to experience the wonderful ambiance of real trees and sitting in front of the fireplace with warm cocoa. Phil is an amazing chef and always had mouthwatering breakfasts (any juice you could think of, fresh fruit and a scone or other bakery item and the breakfast of the day--waffles with bacon, quiche, baked eggs, breakfast burrito--the naming of which does not do them justice) and afternoon snacks (wonderful selection of fruit, cheese, crackers and sweets). I can only imagine the cuisine and enjoyment of it during the spring and summer, when Phil harvests from his garden and meals and quiet time can be outside in the garden. Gloria is fully attentive to the needs of every guest and all details in the smooth running of the Inn. She ensures that no quest wants for anything she can provide. We stayed in the Duke suite, with the comfortable bed affording great sleep and the sitting room with fireplace large enough to spread out and complete our work. Housekeeping was unobtrusive and excellent. We would recommend Arrowhead for any travel--business, romantic getaway, a retreat when at the medical center, or simply to treat yourself to pampering.

Room Tip: Look at the online pictures carefully. They accurately depict the amenities and size of the rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkingRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

What an excellent breakfast description and commendation – much appreciated! We’re so pleased you enjoyed the fresh trees and fireplace ambiance. On your next visit, consider the Garden Cottage (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/garden-cottage.html) or Carolina Log Cabin (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/carolina-log-cabin.html) and we’ll bring the sumptuous breakfast to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Arrowhead Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We loved staying in the cabin for our 30th anniversary retreat! And it was definitely a treat! Loved the cozy feel and all the amenities! Gloria and Phil were excellent hosts! The food was excellent and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want a total get-away, the cabin is the way to go!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

We’re honored you chose Arrowhead Inn for your 30th Anniversary! Look forward to having you back at our Durham B&B again soon for your next special occasion or just because.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Arrowhead Inn turned out to be much more than I anticipated. We stayed in the log cabin & had everything that we needed for a romantic getaway. The innkeepers were wonderful, breakfast was exquisite & the accommodations were really enjoyable. It was very comfortable & the grounds were beautiful. Great place to ensure privacy, a very intimate setting. We had everything that we needed. We loved it & plan on returning soon

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbrown2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for entrusting us as your special getaway and for taking the time to submit thoughts and feedback! We look forward to your next visit and might recommend the Garden Cottage, which is our other private suite (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/garden-cottage.html).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Arrowhead Inn is one of the nicest inns that we have stayed at. We chose the "cottage" which was very comfortable.The fact that it also included a fireplace made it cozy as well. The extra appeal was the steam shower.....what a treat! Our hosts, Gloria and Phil, are the best innkeepers, they are friendly and very helpful. And best of all Phil is a great cook. He made us a dinner the night of our arrival that would match any gourmet restaurant in the area. Breakfast was incredible as well.
We would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the Durham area.
MJ & Vinny

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vobrien42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

We really appreciate your glowing feedback MJ and Vinny. We’re so pleased you had a great time. You’ll have to try our Elegant Tasting Dinner (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/eveningdining.html) on your next visit and we hope you return to our country oasis in Durham again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Arrowhead Inn is a marvelous B&B. We have stayed here for four of our wedding anniversaries. The Inn is a restored mansion with individualized suites and rooms. The Brittain, our suite, this visit, is a large room with the a grand four poster bed, oriental rugs, fireplace, wing chairs, soaking tub in suite, and a nice deck. The suite features lovely furniture and looks like the photos online.

Phil and Gloria are welcoming hosts who invite you into their home. They are like old friends. They are very attentive to your needs and wants while allowing you your privacy.

Arrowhead Inn is a bed and breakfast so breakfast is included. Breakfast is a three course experience you do not want to miss. Phil can really cook. Start with Phil's signature scones. Today's breakfast, baked apple stuffed with walnuts, raisins, cranberry, and topped with raspberries. Sheared eggs with asparagus, chicken sausage, toast, brie, jelly, and juice. Then there is layered brie, spinach, tomato, topped off with a sweet pepper relish.

Arrowhead Inn is like a fine wine, it is better each time we visit. It deserves more stars. We will be back, same time, next year.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Toussaint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your marvelous review! We are thrilled you have fallen in love with our property and continue the tradition of visiting for your anniversary. Your compliments on breakfast warm our hearts and the fine wine alliteration is an inspiration! We look forward to your next visit and appreciate the wonderful testimony you are to all our future guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited Arrowhead on our way south for Thanksgiving, and we could not have stayed at a more perfect inn to begin our trip. Our room was the Brittain Room, which is exquisite with a to-die-for whirlpool, fireplace, elegant trappings, and the hospitality was unsurpassed. The property is beautiful. We truly felt that we had slipped into an era of eloquence and peace.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We are honored you chose to stop at Arrowhead Inn on your way south. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we hope you enjoy another trip to our area soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I can only say if you have to be away from home this is the next best thing. Phil and Gloria take pride in their beautiful home and watching their guests relax and enjoy themselves. Guests truely have the run of the house. Phil's breakfast menu is not to be missed. Thank you so much for taking care of me Phil and Gloria. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

We’re so pleased you enjoyed your time away from home. It was an honor to serve as your host and we hope to have the privilege again for you or any of your friends and colleagues!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
7.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
7.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#19 of 71 in Durham
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Address: 106 Mason Rd, Durham, NC 27712-9106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £138 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing