We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best!!!”
Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When we arrived, we were greeted at our car by Phil who welcomed us as if we were family that he hadn't seen for some time. He showed us around the Inn, which is beautiful inside and out. The decorations are stunning. The bedroom was large, well furnished with several places to sit comfortably. The bed was an extremely high poster bed with a delightful mattress. The bathroom was well stocked. Oh, and did I mention, the afternoon snack (homemade by Phil) with wine in the Keeping Room which also serves as the breakfast room. We enjoyed sitting in the backyard under ancient trees with gorgeous flowers in bloom. Gloria was the gracious hostess at breakfast, bringing us a gourmet spread prepared by Phil--the chef. (By the way, he will prepare an evening meal for you on certain nights if you arrange it in advance. The next time we will try that.) I can't say enough good things about our experience. Phil and Gloria make you feel like family. The provide very good information about restaurants and sights in the area. If you have something to celebrate this is the place to go. If you don't have something to celebrate but want to just indulge in very special treatment--then visit the Inn. The next time we are near Durham, we certainly will make reservations at the Arrowhead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2015
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review of your stay with us. We are so glad you chose The Arrowhead Inn, and we are happy to hear that you felt welcome and at home with us. Phil was delighted to hear you spoke so highly of his cooking. Guests such as yourself are what make this "job" such a joy. We hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
272
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our experience at the arrowhead was very brief but spectacular, nevertheless. My wife and I spend our wedding night there and it was perfect. Beautiful house. Spacious room. Delicious breakfast. I sent one of my groomsmen to pick up the key and they left us all the instructions so we could just walk right in without having to check in or anything. It was like walking into your own house.

Incredibly homey. Highly recommended. Better than any hotel (if you can consider this just a hotel). Definitely going back.

Room Tip: Doesn't have a swimming pool or a fitness center. But everything else was excellent. I just didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomás B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2015
We are so honored that you chose to spend your special night with us. We are beyond thrilled to hear that your wedding night was so wonderful. We hope you will be back to see us and we wish you all the best in your future together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon. The cottage was beautiful and private, and having our breakfast served to us on the porch was fantastic! It was in a beautiful area, close to shopping and wonderful dining options. The innkeepers are so sweet and accommodating! The hot water in the cottage seemed to run out quickly though, but when we asked they were able to immediately fix the problem. Overall wonderful experience and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2015
We feel so grateful that you chose to spend part of your honeymoon with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the cottage and breakfast on the porch. We are so sorry that you had an issue with the hot water but we are glad that we were able to remedy the problem quickly! We hope you will be back to see us and we wish you all the best in your future together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I just spent a wonderful weekend in Durham, NC, where we stayed at the Arrowhead Inn. The inn itself is beautiful, with large, gorgeous rooms. There is also a cottage and old log cabin located on the property which can be rented. We booked the Brittain room, which was huge. It has a large fireplace, a very nice two person hot tub, and a private porch for relaxing and/or enjoying a bite to eat.

The innkeepers/owners are extremely warm and helpful, as was the entire staff. The meals were delicious, and they will accommodate most all dietary requirements. They also serve dinner, but we didn't get a chance to experience their menu.

After a fun time at the Durham farmers' market in the morning, we spent the remainder of the afternoon just relaxing around the inn, reading in the gazebo, and strolling around the property.

If you are planning on being in Durham, we highly recommend a stay at the Arrowhead Inn.

Room Tip: We loved the Brittain Room, but you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2015
It was so nice to hear about your experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your time with us and that you felt welcome and warm. We hope you will return to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Relaxed and refined are two words that describe the setting for our wedding. We reserved the entire inn for the weekend for an intimate family wedding. All of our children including grandchildren were completely accommodated with luxury linens, robes and amenities. The gardens were in beautiful form with lovely paths, swings, lawn and sitting areas for play and gathering for casual conversation. The porches at the cottage and cabin were great places to sit and talk. Breakfasts were delightful, and our evening buffet and wedding receptions were absolutely perfect. The lamb and salmon were fabulous. Gloria, Phil and their staff made sure we were happy and satisfied throughout the weekend. They even made special arrangements for food items for the grandkids. Having the entire inn to ourselves was the best decision we could have made, facilitating a convenient, caring, and intimate family affair.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2015
We absolutely LOVE hosting family weddings! We are so glad to hear that your family felt well taken care of. Thank you for your kind words regarding the food, Phil is passionate about cooking and is always willing to accommodate the tastes of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review, We hope you will return to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamuning, Mariana Islands
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I chose to stay at the Arrowhead Inn to rest up after long travels before going into a conference. My stay was thoroughly delightful! I asked ahead for special meals and was so pleased with all my meals. Salads were bursting with flavors and colors. Breakfasts were quite lovely. It was so nice to walk around the neighborhood and enjoy nature. The innkeepers have a wonderful sense of humor and really went out of their way. All the staff have a sweet culture of friendliness. I set up (online) transportation to the Inn from RDU airport with Skylink shuttle. Worked like a charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We’re so pleased you chose Arrowhead for your R&R! We are very happy to accommodate special requests and are pleased we met your expectations. Hopefully we’re conveniently located for your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hope, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our experience at Arrowhead Inn was very relaxing. The owners were so polite and helpful. We stayed in the Duke Suite and we loved the layout. We definitely enjoyed the whirlpool tub. The landscape was beautiful and romantic. I would suggest to place to family and friends :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowhead_Inn, Owner at Arrowhead Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We’re so pleased you enjoyed your room and stay! Depending on your taste, you may enjoy our Log Cabin (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/carolina-log-cabin.html) or Garden Cottage (http://www.arrowheadinn.com/rooms/garden-cottage.html) and their beautiful garden tubs on your next visit. Thank you for your wonderful recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
7.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
296 reviews
12.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Property: Arrowhead Inn
Address: 106 Mason Rd, Durham, NC 27712-9106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing