We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrowhead Inn is the place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arrowhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arrowhead Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrowhead Inn is the place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

If you are every in the Durham area, the Arrowhead Inn is the place to stay. Our 2 day stay was incredible. The rooms were elegant down to every detail. Breakfast was outstanding, and Phil’s scones were superb. Both Gloria and Phil were so welcoming and really made you feel like you were part of the family. The grounds and gardens were beautifully kept. It’s heaven on earth, so peaceful and serene. Plus Phil’s gingersnap cookies are to die for! Sue - Cleveland, Ohio

  • Liked — The overall upkeep of the Inn and grounds and very friendly Innkeepers
  • Disliked — There was nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LEEcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
258
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

My husband had never been to a bed and breakfast before and I thought this would be a fun experience. This turned out to be an AMAZING experience! Phil and Gloria were wonderful hosts. The grounds were not only beautiful, they were peaceful and relaxing. The room was even more delightful than we imagined! We had received some hard news before our stay and I just don't think anything would've been better medicine than the Arrowhead (well, maybe Phil's melt-in-your-mouth cooking but we got that too!) We didn't want to leave! The attention to detail in the room was very apparent, down to the single rose on the nightstand. Robes were provided in our room to enjoy during our stay. We even purchased a delightful Arrowhead mug to display at home! We will certainly be back. Thank you Phil and Gloria for making our stay so special. You were truly meant to do this! The only problem is now you've set the bar so high, I'm not sure any other B&B can compare!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmoisgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2007

We stayed in April 07. The Inn has some very nice qualities like being very clean and a good breakfast. The main problem is location. It is on the corner of a very busy street. We experienced a great deal of noise from our room. It was over $250.00 a night and we felt is was overpriced for what you receive.
Bells
California

  • Liked — Clenliness and breakfasst
  • Disliked — It's locatioon
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2007

Five to ten minutes out of the central part of Durham, this wonderful house is as good a B&B as I've stayed in. Extremely clean, decorated but not too froufrou; the hosts are gracious and relaxed. The two cabins behind the house are large, nice, and give great privacy. Breakfasts are elegant but too fancy for some in our party: simple fruit, egg dishes, protein would have fit the diet better than scones and souffles. But that's more our fault than theirs!! A wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2007

We are from Lincoln in England and we were in Durham NC on business. We stayed at the Arrowhead Inn in November - We had the log cabin for 3 nights and it was fantastic. Phil could not have been kinder - and the food was out of this world. We would definately go back again if we were in the Area and our friends in Durham NC are planning on booking a romantic weekend there on our recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne&Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2007

My husband and I typically stay with friends when we visit Durham, but this time around we opted for accommodations since our friends have a newborn. After one stay at the Arrowhead, we are hooked and plan on making this delightful inn our home base when we come to Durham in the future. This is the first B&B that we've been to where the owners truly exude passion for what they do. Innkeeper Phil Teber does his own renovations, and it's evident that quite a bit of care has gone into preserving - and upgrading - this home. Phil could not have been nicer, and spent enough time with us at breakfast to make us feel welcome, but not so much time that it intruded on our morning. The amenities were wonderful - incredibly fluffy towels, the softest sheets, and Gilchrist and Soames products in the rooms. I believe it was the cleanest room I've ever stayed in, and it just felt so homey and warm. My only complaint is that the front door started opening and closing rather loudly beginning early in the morning, and because our room overlooked the front I woke up earlier than I would have liked. But that was a small blip in an otherwise wonderful experience. We look forward to our return!

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2006

Over the past four years we've stayed in Durham several times while visiting our son - always at chain hotels/motel - and thought we would treat ourselves to a bed and breakfast for his senior year parents' weekend. From the moment we stepped into the Arrowhead Inn, we felt welcome and comfortable. A beautiful home that was built as a plantation house, the Arrowhead has been lovingly renovated without losing any of the charm of an 18th century home. We were warmly greeted by Gloria and given a tour of the house before she took us up to our room. Because it was Parents Weekend, when we booked we were 'only' able to get the Mason Room. Described as 'cozy' on their website, we were expecting a tiny room. Instead, we found a beautiful, gracious, recently refurbished room with a four poster bed, working fireplace, and lovely new bathroom. Linens were excellent and the bathroom was well stocked with thick fluffy towels and wonderful toiletries. The Inn's thick terry robes were the perfect touch after our showers. Little amenities such as complimentary bottled water, snacks, chocolates, etc., in our room were also a nice added touch. Breakfasts were delicious and prepared each morning by Phil; each breakfast had it's own flair and was accompanied by fresh, warm scones or other baked goods. We love the friendliness of B&B's - the opportunity to meet new people, etc. - Gloria is such a wonderful hostess that she smoothly facilitated introductions and pointed out common interests before heading off to help serve the food. By the end of the weekend we were sorry to be leaving and wished we had thought to book here for our son's graduation weekend (regrettably it is no longer available). We wish we had found the Arrowhead sooner and will definitely return when we are next in the area.

  • Liked — the beautiful facilities and the friendliness of the hosts and other guests
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mavrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.4 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#11 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
9.0 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
8.4 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
14.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Inn

Property: Arrowhead Inn
Address: 106 Mason Road, Durham, NC 27712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowhead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis in the Heart of North Carolina's Triangle-Durham, Chapel Hill & Raleigh. Relax in the comfort and luxury of our 18th century plantation home. The Arrowhead Inn rest on six acres of gardens and lawns amid venerable magnolia trees. Each of our nine elegant rooms and Log Cabin and Cottage provide a serene respite with the amenities of a fine hotel. The Arrowhead Inn is proud to be a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Arrowhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing