We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to be..”

Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House
Ranked #4 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I lived here for 9 days. I was happy to be here. Frank and Dolly where extremely friendly hosts, and always in for a chat.. My experience about the area was good, and I felt secure even if other reviewers write that this is close to a ghetto area - I did not notice this..! - By the way talked to quite a few friendly people in the area.. Just use common sense, as you would in any other area..!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mortentrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed five weeks in June-July 2010 (my wife had business meetings in Durham, I played golf...) and really enjoyed our stay with Frank and Dolly. We got special, and very interesting, long term rates while staying in the Inn and enjoying the kitchen at the Holly House across the street. The rooms were great (we stayed in two of them, including the suite - wonderful !), the porch is very nice to browse the net on a laptop or have a drink in. Frank and Dolly are really great hosts and we ended up going together at Bele Chere in Asheville, where we had a great time. As Frenchpeople, we were a bit prejudiced against Americans, but this stay really showed us an aspect of America that we had never heard of or expected. Fantastic !!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

WE thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blooming Garden B&B, WE were treated like royalty from dust into the evening. Frank prepared a special breakfast each morning with fresh berries from his garden. He mixed a tasty breakfast drink that woke the senses in the am. He came up with Amish butter from somewhere that we were able to use on his homemade waffles and pancakes.
Both he and Dottie are charming people whom we fell in love with. They have wonderful, engaging personalities. WE would have like to move in permanently, but alas we had to return home. It was a stay to remember.
W#e could not have been treated any better than we were. I look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkaygs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Lovely 1890's era restored home in central Durham, North Carolina. Handy location. Close to the intersection of main north/south routes through town. Impeccable service provided by resident owners. Fascinating array of historic object 'd art throughout home. Enjoyed company of owners, Frank and Dolly. Wonderful accomodations. Particularily enjoyed meals on the porch and my room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowVoyagerMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Had to stay in Durham for two weeks last March on a business trip, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the extended stay guest house at the Blooming Garden Inn. I cannot say enough about how Frank and Dolly make you feel at home and are as kind and helpful hosts as you will find anywhere. I long to go back, and shall do so once I am retired next year. I had a wonderful stay there. Close to everything in the area - I highly recommend it. Frank's breakfasts are awesome/Dolly is a true doll! And Sarah (the German Shepherd) is too sweet for words...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAlmostRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

At the initial contact wiith Frank, in making reservations for the Holly House,I felt like he was an was an old friend. I was warmly greeted when I arrived. Tthe classes I am taking at Duke are very intense. I spend days at Duke and niights studying. I have all the privacy I want.
My room and the whole house are very chaming. The interior design is delightful. If I need anything Frank is always ready and available to help me. If you like history and want a homey atmosphere with people you can easily come to know, this is the place for you.
As for the neighborood, I would never call it a ghetto. That thought has never entered mind. I travel often and I generally travel alone. As a pastor of a cjhurch with an extensive outreach program, I have visited ghettos. This neighborhood doesn't come close.
When I drive down the street in either direction I haven't seen people standing around. People I ocassionly pass by on the sidewalk are quite friendly. There is much renovation of homes in this lovely neighborhood
I have two more summers to spend at Duke. Holly House is where I'll stay.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
Thank Musolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay during the time surrounding my cancer surgery at Duke. We wanted a place where we could cook our own meals, but the suites hotels seemed a little too cold and impersonal to suit us. When we discovered that Blooming Garden Inn provided rooms at Holly House, their extended stay home across the street from the B&B, we contacted Dolly and Frank and decided to stay there. We were so right in our choice!

It's impossible to recount all the kindnesses done for us by Dolly and Frank, as well as by the other residents at Holly House (and even by other guests at the Inn). Most special to me personally was the help we received when Duke released me from outpatient surgery (way too soon, IMHO). I needed more help than my husband alone could provide getting in from the car and for the first several hours. Dolly (who used to be a nurse) and Frank, as well as the other guests, did everything possible to make me comfortable. (Dolly even took my husband to the pharmacy to fill my prescription for pain medication!) Their kindness and caring continued throughout our visit. Dolly took us on a driving tour of her favorite places around Durham.... they made us a big pot of soup.... and on our last night in Durham, we went to dinner with them and other guests at one of their favorite restaurants.

Over the past several years, the neighborhood with its beautiful old homes has been on its way back from "hard times". Dolly and Frank have lovingly restored both Holly House and Blooming Garden Inn, have filled them with antiques and too many other special things to mention, and have shared their home with guests. (At my request, Frank provided a tour of the B&B....After which I asked if they would adopt me so I could stay there forever!) At no time did I feel unsafe staying in that neighborhood; in fact, it was more peaceful than where I live in Atlanta!

If what someone is looking for is a place to be left alone, this might not be the right place to stay.... But then again, that's a basic difference between chain hotels and B&B's. Although I hope I won't need surgery again (at Duke or anywhere else), I would not hesitate to stay with Dolly and Frank in the future. In fact, if we're ever in that part of North Carolina again, I hope we'll at least go out to dinner with them!

Who would ever have believed that an unpleasant hospital visit could provide an opportunity to make several new friends? But that's exactly what happened.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank testsubject148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.6 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#1 of 8 in Durham
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Morehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The King's Daughters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
3.1 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House

Address: 513 Holloway St, Durham, NC 27701-3457
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £134 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing