We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

Old North Durham Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old North Durham Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Nice little Inn with great hospitality by Jim and Deb. First time I stayed in a B and B. I met other travelers at breakfast we were all from different places. very fun. The Inn had everything I needed to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmkhomeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

If you are in Durham, you must stay at Old Durham Inn. The owners Jim and Debbie are lovely; the amenities are great. The bedrooms are comfortable. We stayed in the Lavender Room which was so comfortable and filled with light. But the best part are the breakfasts. One of my favorite meals of our four-day road trip! Within walking distance to the Duke campus, the 9th Street area and to downtown.

Room Tip: Lavender Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilpa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Looks like there's a new sheriff in town. If you are going to stay in Durham you must stay here. Not only are your hosts Jim and Debbie charming but so is the grand ol' house. What character it has. They don't miss anything. Every touch is there for you to feel like your at home. Best part is breakfast. Best ever! Great location too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

What a find! Robin, the innkeeper, made me feel so at home. She prepared wonderful vegetarian breakfasts, which I ate during our long, interesting conversations, and she gave me dinner recommendations. The B&B is terrific. My room (the Masters) was beautiful, as was the rest of the restored house. One nice, small surprise: there was a library of movies in the hallway, which guests could watch in their rooms. There's a thick binder with info on the area's restaurants, and the sweetest dog. And the rate was great. If you're looking for a place to stay in Durham, stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryVeggieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Although we’ve stayed in many country inns, this was only our second time in a B&B, so we weren’t quite sure what to expect. Our stay far exceeded our expectations. Hosts Jim and Debbie Vickery were welcoming and accommodating without being intrusive. We stayed in the lovely Victorian room, and were impressed by all of the little personal touches that made our two-day stay particularly memorable. Breakfast in the morning included fresh fruit salad, homemade zucchini or pumpkin bread, and a hearty entree, such as banana pancakes with sausage, or baked ham and eggs with cheese. We played backgammon on the porch while enjoying an afternoon snack, and took advantage of the Vickery's extensive collection of DVDs. The home is conveniently located to the downtown area, and the Vickerys helped out by providing dining recommendations and directions. If you’re planning to visit the Durham area, I wholeheartedly recommend a stay at the Old North Durham Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerryInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We wanted to share our wonderful experience at the Old North Durham Inn in Durham, North Carolina. We were recently visiting our daughter who lives in Durham and had heard about the Inn. We booked at the last minute but were still treated like royalty. We were going through a stressful time and this stay was just what we needed!. The Inn is small enough (4 rooms) that it feels intimate. The Innkeepers (Debbie and Jim Vickery) are the real secret to making this such a special place. They were so welcoming in every way and made it clear to us that they were there to provide any assistance (even let us store bags there when we took a side trip in the middle of our stay!)
The breakfasts are exquisite (and I heard them making arrangements for a special time & special diet for another guest). The rooms are very clean and comfortable with every amenity. We had the unique feeling of being in our home, yet absolutely pampered. We've stayed at many B&Bs over the years, and this overall experience will stand out. We learned that because of their proximity to Duke, many parents of Duke students are repeat guests over the years their sons and daughters are at the University. It is easy to understand why they would have so many repeat guests! We will be back!!

Ellie & Chris Speh
Cape Elizabeth, Maine

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skyescrapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Statesville, North Carolina
119
Reviewed 9 February 2005

Charming, lovely, warm & inviting--That's the Old North Durham Inn. My husband and I had a much needed getaway here. It was time well spent. We relaxed in the lovely lavender room, watched movies from Debbie's video collection; had delicious meals (Durham has wonderful restaurants--and a wide variety of cuisines); warm chocolate chip cookies and delicious breakfasts. Debbie and Jim are the quintessential hosts--It was a perfect weekend.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
7.8 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#1 of 8 in Durham
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The King's Daughters Inn
0.7 mi away
Blooming Garden Inn and Holly House
1.4 mi away
Morehead Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old North Durham Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old North Durham Inn

Address: 922 N Mangum St, Durham, NC 27701-2229
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £67 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing