We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food with weird server” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rue Cler Restaurant

Rue Cler Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 760 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Using our extensive network of regional farmers and fishermen and our close friends in the wine business, we have tried to adapt the experience of a Parisian neighborhood restaurant to offer a unique dining experience. Our food is inspired by French tradition and seasonal, local produce. The wines we serve are all made by vignerons that we know personally, who themselves love food, and who craft their wine to showcase the specific terroir, while harmonizing with the meal. Most of our vignerons practice biodynamic or organic farming. Our prix fixe dinner menu showcases the freshest ingredients the southeast has to offer, prepared simply and with care, served at a bargain price. We also serve classic bistro and brasserie dishes a la carte. Our popular lunch and brunch services feature French-styled sandwiches, crepes, salads, and more.
McTown Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious food with weird server”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We ate at Rue Cler last week. Group of 7 with 3 vegetarians. The food was outstanding. Some of us had the fixed price 3 course meal. It was a good value and the scallop entree was outstanding. I also loved the grilled asparagus with egg on top. Wanted to lick the plate. The single entrees were good but a bit sparse on the serving size. Our waiter was a bit disjointed, but the acoustics are horrible so it may be that he could not understand what we said.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Celestial-Mctown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    87
    37
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delightful French Bistro keeps getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We've been to Rue Cler many times. It's always good, but they keep getting better. The prix fixe menu (3 courses for $30) is a true bargain, and all six different dishes my wife & I had last night were superb (as was the dessert). The wine list is well chosen and fairly priced. When time for dessert comes, the creme brulee is very good, but the beignets are a religious experience. You'll be transported to New Orleans, aching for chickory coffee, before you know it. Rue Cler is highly recommended. Make reservations by phone - people are finding out how good they are...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We frequent Rue Cler often and typically stick w their steak frites. Amazing service and reliably delicious food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KendallFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what we have experienced b4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Lunch today. The onion soup was served in a crock 1/2 the size it used to be. It was no longer covered in a tasty blistery cheese nor was a savory as remembered. The Turkey Mornay sandwich used to have carved turkey now looked/tasted like luncheon meat. Round pre-cut slices. On the positive - the croque madame was perfection as were the coffee & beignets. All in all a 50/50 experience whereas previous visits eating the same items were 100%.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNVOLUNTEER17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great, casual French food in downtown Durham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We, my wife and I, both enjoy this restaurant a lot. You don't have to get all dressed up like with other French places, the wait staff are generally very helpful, there is decent wine to drink with your dinner, and the food is almost top notch.

Why do I say "almost top notch"? The only complaint I have about the food, which is always flavorful, is that almost everything is a little too salty. I would prefer it if the chef would err on the side of caution with the salt content of the food. This is my personal opinion, not everyone will agree I am sure.

Oh, and those who complain about the bare walls - the atmosphere is fine. It is like a French country place and you take the atmosphere with you. We love it as-is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raindance01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rue Cler Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rue Cler Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing