We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needs Renovation”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Service standard in this hotel has noticeably deteriorated since I was last here about a year ago. Apart from overall musty smell in corridors, in room 332, it appears as if someone took a damp cloth and tried to wipe mildew or mold from several areas of the ceiling. The bathtub was not draining properly and I quickly had water rising to my ankles, abruptly ended my shower. Bathroom sink also had similar drainage problems. Light sleepers may need some earplugs for the very loud A/C unit which kept cycling on and off during the night.

At breakfast, there were just the very basics -- coffee, yogurt, juice, waffle, bread and powdered eggs. Instead of replenishing the supplies before they ran out, the attendant seems to wait until all is gone before doing so. Consequently, at the time I was there (about 7 am), there was no powdered egg, bread and cutlery for about 20 minutes.

Reasonable rates for easy access to RTI, Duke, UNC, etc., with lots of nearby restaurants and shopping facilities. Front desk and housekeeping were also very pleasant; however, the problems appear to be beyond their control.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tak009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Sorry you feel our service has gone down. We do try to be perfect 100% and sometimes we fail. We are sorry you were disappointed and will try better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    31
    14
    12
See reviews for
48
21
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Room smelled dank and mildewy. Linens all felt slightly damp. Shower was clogged with brown sludge and would barely drain. It was disgusting. We were too exhausted to flee the night we arrived, but we checked out the next morning and stayed elsewhere for the rest of our trip. There are nicer hotels in the immediate vicinity of this one. In our opinion, it was worth paying an extra $20 a night for accommodation that wasn't revolting. The staff were nice enough and let us out of our reservation without a question though (got the sense this happens a lot).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing, we will always try and do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from a great weekend with my family and youth track club. The Comfort Inn met most of my expectations, but not all.

Pros:
I must say this hotel was a pleasant surprise for the room and location (lots of shops and restaurants nearby). I also liked the lobby and sitting area (coffee/tea all day) . The desk staff was great and tried to accommodate anything that we needed. The pool was decent. My kids and athletes had a great time in the water... Would have loved a hot tub outside, but I did have a King suite w/ whirlpool in my room. The Belgian waffle makers at breakfast are always a hit.

Cons:
I had a roll-away bed in the room, so extra pillows were needed. The cleaning persons took the pillows, so I had to ask for more daily. It was a little difficult when almost none of them spoke any English. The whirlpool tub, drained extremely slowly, and I only used the shower. Needless to say, that was not very pleasant having water rise over my feet as I am showering. Lastly, please do something about those powdered eggs... They were watery and bland.

All-in all the hotel was a hit and fit our needs for a short stay. Yes, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: 317 faces the pool and parking lot... Not a bad view, especially if you have kids that you want to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing. We think it’s a great location too; especially if you like a variety of dining options that are within walking distance and shopping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totowa, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I traveled here with my team of 12 basketball players. I booked a block of four rooms. Upon arrival I find I receive the keys for our rooms. One of my girls goes to into her room and walks in on a couple in their room! Then in the room next store the same thing happens.

When I went to the front desk to explain this they seemed confused but realized they assigned the room to two different people.

Not only was I annoyed but so were the people currently in the room.

There solution to the problem after 45 minutes was to place one group of 4 on the first floor and the other group in the smoking section on the fourth floor while I was on the 2nd floor.

This is completely unacceptable!! We travelled 9 hours on a bus for a basketball tournament. I am chaperoning 12 high school girls, and this was their solution!

Not only that but these reservations were made three months ago. I'm very disappointed and UNC shouldn't recommend this hotel to any teams traveling for tournaments.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank npucci129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I am so sorry about the mix-up in your reservations; we do have new staff members that are being trained. We hire for personality and those who we think will be good in problem solving and customer satisfaction, then train for the skills needed. Unfortunate, we were sold out that evening and she had limited options once she realized her mistake, she did try her best. We did review how to handle this differently in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here on business. While a good bit away from the destination (Franklin St.) this was still a good choice for a business stay. The clerk assigned a quiet room on the third floor. There were two sets of towels and a comfy bed. The room was quiet with few disturbances, even though we were near the stairs. I had a full eight hours of sleep, enough light by which to study, and a feeling of safety.

In the morning, there were adequate toiletries and a hot shower.

Issues that prove it's not the Ritz? The adjoining room next to ours had a broken slide lock, but there was another deadbolt.

We needed more towels, but there is no room service for this, so we needed to collect them at the desk, and they were handed loosely, with no hand towels.

Breakfast was not great - the powdered eggs were fairly bad - but it was nourishing, and the coffee was fine. There were also pastry options. It was good that breakfast was included.

Overall, it was a quiet, updated hotel that provided a good night's sleep and easy stay.

Room Tip: Tell the clerk if you are there on business; you may get a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writejen_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Our hotel is in a great location for business traveler o visiting one of our Universities.

I am sorry you did not find our breakfast to your liking. We offer 8 different kinds of yogurts (including Greek), waffles, muffins, pastries, pound cake, croissants, French toast. Five different fresh fruits, toast 6 different cereals hot and cold, and wide variety of rotating hot breakfast items. Please let us know how we can do better, we will always try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced room near family and friends. We found it here - it was nicer than expected and for the price - unbeatable. It was also very quiet. As a bonus, we were given a second floor room overlooking a tree in the parking lot, so our view was green and leafy! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank townsend88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our room was comfortable and quiet -- lots of pillows, towels and hot water. The staff was always helpful. Comfort Inn University is located near Duke University and restaurants. Cannot beat the rates with breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATraveler3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, I will share with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#44 of 71 in Durham
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3508 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Comfort Inn University hotel located between Durham and Chapel Hill, NC. Centrally located between Duke University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and UNC Healthcare, the Comfort Inn® University provides easy access to Interstate 40 and Interstate 85. North Carolina Central University and Hillsborough are just minutes away from the hotel.The Raleigh-Durham International Airport is 14 miles away.Research Triangle Park, The Streets at SouthPoint and many other points of interest are just minutes from this Durham hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing