We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent front desk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I owe them more than my middle of the night review, but, oh well..We had a wonderful experience at this hotel! And I want to advise all hotels to be sure that their front desk is as welcoming as this one. Jahmed and everyone else were welcoming and professional. The mood was set... We had a wonderful night--even 'tho we had an adjoining room door where we could hear everything (actually, kind of fun). The room was updated and clean (I have allergies to dust mites, but everything was O.K.) The bathroom was small, but O.K.--it didn't matter--the front desk set a positive mood. Everyone on staff greeted and was friendly. Housekeeping (Carmela) ran to get us what we needed. Fantastic staff!! I don't demand service--but, it was lovely to receive it! Oh, yes, central to all venues. We walked to our wonderful show (Memphis,the Musical-greatest thing I ever saw from front row). We are too poor to use their restaurant or room service, but McDonald's is one block away and great for breakfast! I loved this hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goggyholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, Director of Sales at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and comments with us! Our warm and friendly staff enjoy receiving positive feedback, and they love being service superstars for our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed 'Memphis', it had a great run here in Durham! The Durham Performing Arts Center has many wonderful Broadway shows headed to downtown this year, and we hope to once again have you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Close to Duke with plenty of space to explore the city. Close to the minor league stadium, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at the DMCC for our Sorority's Founders Day celebration. Our group was the largest they ever hosted in the hotel. Needless to say...NO ISSUES! For a group of roughly 1,000 attendees, the Marriott staff did a phenomenal job hosting the event from the room preparation for the luncheon to the ease of valet service. The hotel shuttle gave us a ride to many locations in the area. Thanks to the shuttle, we were all able to "partake" in the menu at the restaurant we patroned. ;)

Rooms: Comfortable and cozy linen and bedding. The rooms were extra quiet considering the chatter and bustle going on in and around the hotel. The only issue was the lack of hot water in the morning. Understandable since (as they say) our group was record-breaking for their hotel. Perhaps they will have it corrected by next year :) Wifi was a bit confusing because the name of the SSID that was written on the hotel room business card was not able to be found. We were a bit occupied with the conference for many people to notice but I think the hotel needs to update the card.

Meals: The conference center had a wonderful meal of chicken stuffed with spinach and some kind of cheese, beef and a vegetarian dish. The conference center staff were very courteous and anticipated our needs.

Location: The hotel is actually located close to the major highways 40, 440 and US-1. Northgate Mall is around the corner for those last minute trips to the mall for a conference/event. Duke University is also very close to the hotel. The hotel lobby has an ATM so any last minute purchases or splitting the cost of the room (like we did) is convenient. Parking is available across the side street but the hotel validates tickets for you at the front desk.

OVERALL: I think this would be a great location to host a conference and for private events. It would also be great for a wedding because the lobby is positioned in a manner that hotel guests heading to their rooms or guests attending an event will not be fighting for an elevator. The conference halls/ballrooms and hotel rooms are on opposite sides of the hotel. Away from the bustle of Raleigh with plenty of parking, restaurants and activities in the area to keep attendees busy.

Room Tip: All rooms are surprisingly quiet. If you would like a room with a view, I would choose anything but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laff4becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffriesW, Director of Sales at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words, and we are very pleased that you had a wonderful time while in the Hotel and Convention Center! Downtown Durham is a wonderful location for all types of events, as there are so many restaurants and entertainment venues in walking distance. We are so glad you got to experience Nana's Restaurant, just one of the fine dining jewels here in the Bull City! Thank you again, and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We got a room at this hotel for the night of a Duke game and it was a great stay. It's a standard Marriott experience. It's walkable to a 1 block area called brightleaf square which has some good restaurants. It's about 2.5 miles to duke but I wouldn't walk through the areas you go through. The only thing we didn't like is that the parking is in an open lot accross the street. Just a little uneasy. On the brightside we paid an extra $10 when we booked for breakfast for two which was an excellent buffet! Can't beat that!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennDC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The staff is helpful when asked for advice.
The hotel facilities include a gym which is rather small but there is a YMCA across the street at no cost for guests.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Though my room did not include a minibar or safe.
Breakfast service is decent.
Hotel shuttle takes you to places that are nearby (ie. the Northgate mall, the city center).

All in all, a really good stay at this Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g3re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The hotel is located downtown. There are a few restaurants in walking distance. It is attached to a convention center and close to a music theatre.

The staff was friendly. The hotel was clean. The workout room was a bit small with only a set of free weights for those who want to actually do some lifting. The concierge lounge was very small, but the food was adequate and staff was nice.

The room was not big, but it was big enough. The bathroom was small. There was a decent HD flatscreen TV. The bed was comfortable and I could hear little to no noise.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I've been staying here for years and have never really been disappointed. The service is very good and I always feel like it's a good value. The only downside is that the public areas and the rooms could use a facelift. The rooms are comfortable, but average at this point. Try to score a corner room is you can.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleoleolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#21 of 71 in Durham
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Unscripted Durham
Unscripted Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
230 reviews
3 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £90 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Durham Marriott City Center. Situated in downtown Durham, North Carolina, you'll love how our hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriott's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing