We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid place, neighborhood very (VERY) quiet at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Solid place, neighborhood very (VERY) quiet at night”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed for one night in a 6th floor room, my first return visit since 2007. Check-in was smooth ... until the room keys I was assigned wouldn't unlock the room door. I returned to the front desk and they made new keys & sent someone to test them. Turns out "you have to push the door handle up instead of down; it was installed upside down." Seems like something that could easily be fixed.

Otherwise, the room was good, clean and spacious and quiet. The downtown area has a few pockets of activity but is still basically deserted at night, so if you didn't drive keep in mind there won't be a lot to do in walking distance. One good place close by is Dos Perros for solid Mexican food and cocktails. The parking lot is now located in a lot across Foster St., a minor upgrade from the creepy parking garage across Morgan St. I'll likely stay again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverthief2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us again. We checked all of our door handles including yours so no guests would be inconvenienced again for such events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    150
    70
    20
    11
See reviews for
69
83
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wise, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for St Patty's Day weekend with some friends for a baseball series at nearby Durham ballpark. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. Our overall experience was wonderful.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rohirrim_maiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are so glad you had good time. We will share your comments with our Housekeeping staff. Please come back to enjoy our bed again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
344 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed there for just one night. The room was very comfortable and everything to pretty high standard, and the service was fine. It's very good value for money, considering what one pays in larger cities for lower standards. Its also very convenient proximity to Duke U and to good restaurants in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are excited to have such wonderful comments. We will serve you continuously better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Rooms were clean and furnished beutifully.a bit pricey had to wait a long time for shuttle to dpac ended up walking short distance alot of staff standing around while one guy working trying to valet and drive shuttle

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilalkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to staff service. We take your comments seriously and share with our tem for continuing improvement. Please give us another chance and we will make sure you get our vip treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed for 1 night for business. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean with the usual comfy Marriott bed. The parking was free - quite a surprise. The concierge lounge was ok - nothing special. This hotel is just a little tired looking. From the hard to turn shower knobs to the oldish furniture and dated wall hangings to the way too cramped bathroom. In need of a refresh. But certainly the traditional Marriott service was excellent as usual.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for great comments! We will share your comments with our staff and will continuously be working on our rooms to make sure guests feel fresh while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I took my daughter to a concert at the Durham Performing Arts Center, and I made a reservation well in advance at the Marriott City Center. I made the reservation based simply on the location of the hotel. It was just a few short blocks from the Performing Arts Center. Turns out it was the perfect location. If you are doing business in downtown Durham or simply attending a concert, this is a great choice. We arrived at the hotel at about 10pm, and at first I thought there was no valet. Within a few seconds, a gentleman walked out of the hotel and I asked if there was a valet, and he replied, "I will take care of your car and your bags for you." He waited patiently while we decide what we needed from the car and helped us with our bags. He then told me valet parking is FREE for female guests traveling alone! Wow! Loved it! After escorting us to check-in and then to our room, he explained the hours and location of the courtesy lounge on the concierge floor, where we were staying. We couldn't have received better service if we'd been staying at a Four Seasons! The front desk staff checked us in quickly and answered all my questions with a smile too! After settling in, we ordered room service. It's not 24 hours, so we needed to order before the 11pm closing. Service was fast, and the food was great. It wasn't "institutional" tasting like some room service foods can be. After eating, we fell into bed and slept beautifully through the night. The room was nicely appointed, and the bathroom had all the toiletries we could need. The next morning, we stepped across the hall to the concierge lounge for breakfast, which was surprisingly delicious. My daughter had fresh-made waffles and bacon, while I opted for eggs and bacon, all served hot from the buffet. The coffee was hot and plentiful, and the lady working in the lounge was very friendly and accommodating. We could not have asked for a better experience. Later, I called down with my valet ticket number, and when we checked out, the car was ready and waiting. Again, the hotel staff bent over backward to help us in any way they could. We were extremely pleased with the Marriott City Center and will definitely stay there when we find ourselves in Durham again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for great comments! Our staff will be smiling and happy to see your compliments and be proud of serving our wonderful guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
252 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was there for business and got in at 1:30 am. It wasn't a nice trip and I was exhausted. The valet guy did not offer the free valet service and wanted me to park the car this early in the morning 3 blocks away. Thank goodness the front desk guy noticed how tired I was and offered the free valet service and parked my car. This hotel is not in a good location. There is nothing to walk to, just old buildings. Make sure you eat a Nana's restaurant, it was excellent service, only a 15 minutes ride.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy_Jeffries, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced first. We will do better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#24 of 71 in Durham
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#10 of 71 in Durham
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing