We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Is this a Marriott? What terrible standards. The van drivers look like criminals, every front desk person had a different uniform on. The hotel was outdated. Seemed like I stepped into the late 70's. Box projection TV's in my room. For a hotel that small and with a name like Marriott I would think they would have flat screens in the room. It's clear to me whoever runs this dump is cutting cost. I couldn't even fathom walking into work each day and walking on that hideous carpet. The hotel smelled like a mixture of mold, mildew, cigarette smoke and industrial chemicals. I'm was kind of relieved in the chemical smell. At least they attempted to clean. Then in the morning the wait staffs white shirts were dingy and wrinkled, the server looked like she just rolled out of bed. I couldn't believe this is was an actual Marriott and not a Red Roof Inn. On a brighter note the location was excellent. Only hotel in the downtown area, which I found to be odd. The valet was nice but took forever to get my vehicle. I figured it was in a secure lot or deck somewhere down the street but they park the cars in te same self parking lot across the street. I could have saved $10 a day just by walking 6 steps across the street. Then the pillows in my room were yellow and had a bad odor. I called for another set but it took forever and they were worst than the originals. I literally bought my son pillows for college from Walmart at $5.00 each and were so much more comfortable. They claimed this is non-smoking hotel but my room smelled like a Hookah bar. I asked to move my room and the van driver/ bellman/valet/ front desk agent took forever. I called again and they're we're no bell carts available. Then I finally went downstairs myself and the van driver was in the gift shop reading a paper. When I grabber one of the three luggage carts he asked if I needed assistance. At this point I wanted to scream. Then my new room must have been over a fan or generator because there was constant noise all night. At this point I was not going I move my room again and had to endure it. Overall my experience was a 1 out of 10. I would not recommended this 1 star hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelguy861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I was so disturbed to hear about your stay. We are here representing Marriott very proudly with our service and products that we offer to our guests. So it was very disappointing to hear that we didn’t attain your 100% satisfaction. We take guest concerns very seriously because you tell us what we are doing great and what we need to improve on. I would really like to ask you to please contact me directly at 919-768-6011 with little more information (I.E; room number, date of stay etc…) because some of the comments you made, such as Van drivers look like criminals (we hire and train great associates and they are all well groomed in uniforms and act professionally to serve our guests), every Front Desk person had a different uniform (All Front Desk agents have same Marriott standard uniforms unless they are Managers and supervisors), Box projection TV(All of our rooms have flat screen plasma TVs), wait staffs white shirts were dingy and wrinkled (all of our wait staffs uniforms are black stripe, no one wears white), pillows were yellow and had a bad odor (we wash and dry them thoroughly and dispose if any stains found) etc…. I have more questions to ask you so we can immediately start to work on improvement. Please give us opportunity to do so by contacting me again at 919-768-6011. Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to let us know about your bad experience. I look forward to your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    150
    71
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
84
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

In a part of town one would not have dared to venture 10 years ago- area is now on it's way to being the trendy boutiquey area. Overall the hotel is good. Probably 5 star for the area but 4 star in general. Front desk staff welcoming and helpful. Comforable stay. Excellent breakfast available at restaurant 2 blocks away "Rue Cler" kind of Parisian believe it or not.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hudtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and giving us great compliments for our Front Desk staff! Yes, we are in the heart of this great City of Durham where you can do many exciting things. Going to Carolina Theatre, Durham Performing Art Center, Durham Bulls, and tasting great food in many popular local restaurants…. Please come back to see us. We will again best accommodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed here recently while visiting the Duke campus (which is a very short drive away -- I won't say easy, however, because of the current road construction). If you are wanting access to downtown businesses, it is an excellent location. We walked to several good restaurants during our stay. The beds are SUPER comfy -- great pillows. I understand why Marriott has a catalog in the room of their products you can purchase. The room and bathroom are also clean and spacious.

And that is where my good comments end. When we checked in (around 7:00 PM on a Wednesday night) the lobby was not really busy -- and there were three staff working the desk. But it took more minutes than it should have for them to silently decide amongst themselves who was going to verbally acknowledge our presence. We were not warmly welcomed. Were not really talked to at all. Just handed the key. Weren't even told our room number -- good thing it was written on the key card folder. Once in our room, it didn't take long to figure out this is NOT a quiet hotel. The walls are paper thing -- and unfortunately we were in a room next to a screaming baby. Also -- either everyone on our floor was slamming their doors or the tension on the doors needs to be adjusted to keep them from slamming. Laying in bed -- the headboard actually shook every time someone's door closed down the hall. And it woke me up during the night a few times too. Last complaint -- no pool! I don't know why I didn't notice this on the hotel's web site -- I just assumed a Marriott of this size would have a pool!

Room Tip: NO POOL! Paper thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and giving us honest feedback which is very important to us. We will compliment our Housekeeping staff for their great work and we will coach our Front Desk staff for immediate improvement. I am also very sorry to hear that you didn’t ‘t have a good sleep due to noise. Please contact me directly at 919-768-6011, I will do my best to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, Usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I stay in Marriott all the time. This one was ok - nothing especially good or bad.

It's a little dated - could use a facelift. The staff was great, though and extremely helpful and friendly.

The downtown location was great since my meetings were downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for being our loyal guest! We really appreciate your always staying with us. I will share your compliments with my staff. I know they will love to here. Hope your meeting went well and please come back to see us for your next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

TIPS:
- If you are not the valet type it’s easy to pull up in front, register, then self park ½ block away
- I don’t eat in hotels unless I’m desperate; plenty of fine alternatives close by
- If you are without car but willing to walk you can get to the DPAC and many stores and restaurants in converted mill buildings

PRO:
1) Clean, quiet, well run
2) No-hassle parking
3) No other hotel has the same central Durham location

CON:
1) An odd city center with restaurants but virtually no stores; Durham lacks a sense of place
2) The large creepy photo next to the elevator of Mr. Marriott Sr. and Jr. starring at you with smarmy country-club smiles

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryInBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us! Your tips are excellent and we love your title that starts with “Perfectly fine standard Marriott”. Please keep coming back to see us and to enjoy this wonderful Durham. We will be here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I really loved it
Very classy
Was a very good deal too Sub100 $!! THANK YOU PRICELINE -;)
BETTER THAN SHERATON
I would definitely go back
Super clean
Smells great
Was there for Duke surgery

★★★★★
☆☆☆☆☆
♡♡♡♡♡
♥♥♥♥♥

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear guest,
So glad to hear that you loved staying with us. And hope your surgery went well. I will share your “super clean” comments with my Housekeeping folks and I know they will be so happy. Please stay healthier and come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Decent location, so-so accommodations. Here's the screw up... When you travel for business,have meetings planned the next morning, make sure to eat breakfast somewhere else if staying here.
These incompetent amateurs did not bring my room service order. I called and they said it just left sorry, meanwhile my meetings are soon approaching. Twenty minutes later, still no food. I called to complain, they could care less and were full of excuses.
Lying to customers is wrong! The on shift manager apologized when I complained, and said they would give me some points.....the points they gave were nothing. My self and my colleagues are rethinking this brand, and will never return to this location.

Room Tip: Avoid it at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience because of our poor room service. We take guests concerns seriously and work harder to make improvements. Please give us another opportunity so we can better serve you. And if there is anything I can do for you to make your stay more enjoyable next time, please call me directly at 919-768-6011. Thank you again for staying with us and giving us comments for the improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#23 of 71 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#11 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing