We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but location is good if going to Carolina Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but location is good if going to Carolina Theatre”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were visiting Durham to see a show at the Carolina Theatre. You can't beat this hotel's location, it was right next door to the theatre. That was the best part of the hotel. The other positive was the bed was comfortable. The cons: I felt it was overpriced for what we got, the hotel needs updating, parking is not free as trip advisor lists (there is a $12.95 valet fee) and you have to pay for Wifi in your room. It is free in the lobby area. At the time we visited there was only one elevator working which made for long elevator wait times, and crowded elevators. Breakfast at the hotel is $16.95 a person. We walked across the street to Blue Cafe Coffee and had the $4.99 breakfast special which was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtHomeMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please call my direct line at 919-768-6011 for your future stay, I will make sure we do better take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    157
    75
    22
    11
See reviews for
72
91
26
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Really no complaints about this hotel, it just didn't "wow" me. It's literally in the middle of downtown durham, so the location is perfect! The dessert in the concierge lounge was pretty good. Room was clean. Staff was as expected, but again, nothing that "over-the-top" impressed me. I was torn between an average and a very good rating, but decided to go with very good based on the location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for honest feedback with good rating. We will try to WOW you next time with more and better services so you could give us 5 stars. Please come back to see us and let us know you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Staff is great. Location is great for DPAC--walking . Walking distance to several excellent restaurants. As expected nice bedding , cleanliness etc. I mentioned to bellhop that we would need the car in an hour or so and he called in 60 minutes to ask if ok to bring around! Only hit is small bathrooms as an older but very well maintained hotel.

Green Features: they ask all the right questions so there is nothing more I can say
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reddevil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. All my staff will appreciate your compliment about our service we offered to you. Pease come back to see us, we are here for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Arrived after a long stress full drive. Friendly greeting from staff and a upgrade to concierge level added to a relaxing night in a very comfy bed. Breakfasr was ample in quiet room made for an overall happy stay.

Room Tip: concierge floor allows for flexibly snacking and a more relaxed breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,
We are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. I will share your compliments with our staff. Thank you again and please come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Very close to everything! Walking distance to many things including Durham Bulls Ballpark. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Ronnie the Concierge went out of his way to assist. He was very knowledgeable of local area and places to eat. He is an asset to the Marriott. Would stay again, no issues!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaThinBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest,
Yes, you are correct! We have so much to offer – restaurants, Bulls, Durham Performing Arts Center, North Carolina Theatre, Duke University and more….. Please come back to enjoy Durham again and stay with us. We will continuously serve you the best. And I will make sure I share your compliments with Ronnie. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I called to ask for early check in, said yes - we arrived even earlier and the desk clerk Keiren (know i spelled it wrong) was happy to tell us he had arranged us a nice corner room with our choice in beds and it was waiting. Happy Day. They smiled, spoke, and asked if they could assist at every encounter.
Can't remember such a great professional staff. Thanks for making it a great weekend. Oh, the breakfast buffet is OK, room service a bit slow - but food is medium, bartender knows exactly how to make an old fashioned!

Room Tip: 402 has windows on two sides, if you like bright lighting. Not much to see, but feels very open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slogan1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your compliment about our staff. I will share it with everyone including Kleyser. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for a conference and were very pleased with the service we received! The online concierge was great, too...the items we requested were in our room, ready for us. Staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. Don't mind staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cami630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. All my staff will appreciate your compliment about our service we offered to you. Pease come back to see us, we are here for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Unscripted Durham
Unscripted Durham
#28 of 71 in Durham
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing