We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendliest Hotel Staff You Will Ever Meet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The south is of course renowned for its overly friendly people and exceptional hospitality but the Durham Marriott City Center takes it to a new high point. Every one I ran into was cheery and helpful. From the bellman who greeted me at the door, to the desk clerks, cleaning staff and restaurant staff. It was noticeably exceptional! The room was a standard Marriott room - a good size, comfortable bed, decent WiFi speeds and close to shopping and restaurants.
This is the place to stay when you are in Durham.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelotts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,
We are excited to receive your FIVE STARS with big compliments on our staff. Please come back to see us, we will again serve you the BEST. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This full Marriott is located in the heart of downtown, easy walking distance from dozens of restaurants, three or four blocks from the Bulls stadium and Durham Performing Arts Center, and is immediately adjacent to the Carolina Theater. The rooms have been refurbished relatively recently and my two stays there in the last year have been great. I believe the drawback, to the extent there is one, may be the cost of parking, but only compared to the free parking at most hotels in the Durham area. There is street parking around the hotel and a facility a block to the north that is reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are likely to be marginally quieter, but the streets around the hotel are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EWWarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are happy to hear that both of your stays were great. We thank you for always staying with us and look forward to continuously having you here at our hotel where you can do lots of good things in walking distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here on a Wed night to see a baseball game at the Durham Park. Awesome location as I could walk to the baseball field. Staff was very nice and helpful. Room was very clean and well appointed, Loved the Executive Lounge, food and staff were better than most. Gym was clean and equipment worked. Did valet park with zero issues. Met the GM and he was very nice and helped out like the rest of the staff. I definitely would stay here again and recommend it to anyone coming to Durham.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were attending Triple A Baseball All Star Game! We really do appreciate your time and effort to greatly review and compliment us. Please come back to enjoy our service and this amazing city as we have so much more to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I arrived at the Durham Marriott City Center in the middle of a thunderstorm, which wasn't the best omen! However, my fears weren't realised as my stay turned out to be a great experience.
My room was large, clean and well-appointed and the restaurant served top quality meals. Above all else, the staff was fantastic, always helpful, friendly and attentive.
I didn't have a car but the hotel is perfectly situated, within walking distance of the historic districts, the Durham Bulls stadium, the free city centre bus route (which I used to get to Duke University) and a number of restaurants and coffee shops.
A really great Marriott!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDub1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are glad to hear that you were here with us safe and enjoyable during the thunderstorm. And thank you so much for the compliments on our staff service. We are here to serve you so please come back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding in Durham. From the moment we arrived the staff was attentive and courteous. Great location with many restaurants and activities within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The valet staff was awesome, even making recommendations for golf for my husband and friends and informative on drive times for our sightseeing adventures.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank msrock1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are excited to hear that you had wonderful wedding weekend with us. Our staff will also love to hear about your compliments on our service. Thank you again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at the Marriott City Center in Durham, NC overnight June 13th because we were attending the American Idol concert at DPAC and did not want to drive 100 miles home afterwards. DPAC is only about a 3 block walk from the Marriott so we did not have to drive OR take a taxi. That was a wonderful Perk.
From Check in to Check out, this hotel was wonderful. The staff from the Valet that parked our car to the check in people to the housekeepers to the host and wait staff and cooks in the restaurant were above the top. Every one went out of their way to help us. For example, I had cut my hand when we went out to eat and it was bleeding and I could not seem to get the bleeding stopped. Of course, we had no bandaids. The wonderful lady behind the counter found me some supplies in their first aid kit that I was able to use. They did not have to do that.
Also, I am on a very specific special diet and the restaurant bent over backwards to accommodate my needs.
Everyone was friendly and helpful.
The room was very nice. The hotel is older, but it does not matter. The furnishings were updated. The room was very clean. The bed was very very comfortable. Nice Flat screen TV with plenty of stations. You can even rent movies from off the TV. The water pressure was great.
So many places to eat within walking distance of the Marriott. The Tobacco Warehouse is within walking distance and is right across the street from DPAC. We ate at Tyler's and enjoyed the Grilled Chicken Salad and Salmon salad respectively. They have a large variety of Beer on Tap.
Was so nice not to have to worry about driving home after the show.
We will definitely visit the Marriott again when we are visiting Durham again.

Room Tip: As for a corner room on an upper floor. The view is spectacular of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are excited to see your FIVE STARS compliments on our staff starting from our Valet/Bell Service Attendant to Front Desk, housekeepers, host, wait staff, and cook. We are also very happy to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel and surrounding areas. Please come back to see us, we will definitely again serve you at our best. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Staff were polite, greeted us every possible opportunity, and constantly asked if they could do anything to make our stay better and more comfortable. We had a great time. The fitness center was clean, and among the better I've seen in large hotel chains.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank rbnodurft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woochan_Kim, General Manager at Durham Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,
Congratulations on your wedding and we are glad to hear that you had a great time. Our staff will love to hear your compliments and thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Unscripted Durham
Unscripted Durham
#21 of 71 in Durham
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
317 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Address: 201 Foster Street, Durham, NC 27701
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £97 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Durham Marriott City Center. Situated in downtown Durham, North Carolina, you'll love how our hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriott's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing