We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Clean Rooms but Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Clean Rooms but Terrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We arrived on a Saturday evening for a one night stay. When we reached the front desk to check in, we were left standing there for approximately 5 minutes while one of the staff was too busy doing something on a computer, that she could not even greet us nor say that someone would be right with us.

When someone finally helped us, they told us that they did not have any King Beds available. We had made a reservation for a king bed almost 2 months before. He said that the rooms had not been cleaned yet, but he could offer us free breakfast and a room with a double bed. This was at 530pm, when check in was at 3pm. We had dinner reservations, etc. and I was not willing to sleep in a double. We insisted that we were disappointed and needed a King. The staff member then precoded to get rude telling me that "these things happen" and that "I would have to be patient". His apathetic behavior made matters worse.

While this is going on, the woman who ignored us when we first walked in had checked 2 other couples in while we waited, both with King beds!!!!

In the end, after 30 minutes of dealing with the rudest person, we got keys to a room with a king bed. The room was very clean and wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    150
    71
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
84
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traveling
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Was in town for a convention and while there a snow/ice storm came through. The staff was extremely pleasant throughout the stay and the valets were wonderful in helping to get all the snow off the car! Did eat in the restaurant 1 night during my stay and the wait staff was superb as well. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paranor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

Have you ever been to a property where everything exceeded expectations? This just happened to me at the Marriott Durham Civic Center Hotel.

With no hesitancy I give this hotel a 5-point (TripAdvisor) rating.

I try to avoid extravagant overstatements, but this Marriott could very well be the most accommodating Marriott I have ever stayed in.

I did not meet the general manager, but he or she must be a remarkable person and a wise, experience manager, because that leader has inspired in the staff a can-do and want-to-do attitude toward the guest.

Two meals were taken in the downstairs eatery. The first server was perhaps the least hospitable of any of the staff I met. Neverthess he was acceptable and within normal expectations for such a property. By the way, my dish that night was surprisingly good. A wonderful, delicious swordfish steak cooked perfectly and some mashed potatoes just the way I love them.

My room--920--was on the concierge level. The attendants in the private lounge were friendly and hospitable. One went to extra trouble to return my camera to me after I left it in the lounge.

Bell-persons/Automobile Valets -- all friendly and helpful.

My second eating occasion (downstairs) was a Spinach Salad for lunch on Monday. The restaurant was nearly empty, so I expected a tired old downtown hotel salad. (You know the type.) Instead, I was blown away with the freshest spinach, the freshest mushrooms and bacon and eggs! The salad was rather large and I doubted I would eat it all, but I did! It was so fresh and delicious. The server was fantastic and truly friendly and attentive, even bringing me a complimentary small ice-cream dish after the salad.

The Marriott Durham hotel was for me a true and pleasant surprise--one of the best run Marriott's I have encountered.

Now, do I have a negative? Not about the hotel, but the location might find some guests a little disappointed. An argument can be made for the location downtown, adjoining the convention center and Carolina Theater. The YMCA is just down the block.

But otherwise, the downtown area doesn't seem to have much to offer. Brightleaf warehouse area can be an acceptalbe walk in pretty weather, but it is a few blocks over there.

Access to Ninth Street (shops and restaurants) is 2 or 3 miles away. Duke University, including the hospital and clinics, is not a long drive either. Just be sure you have the streets written down or set in your GPS. A couple of destinations for me involved numerous turns on smaller residential/business streets. And Northgate Mall is not far either. (Not one of these--except BrightLeaf--is walkable in my opinion.)

Marriott Corporation! Take note of this hotel. They are doing some great work!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

This is really your only choice directly in downtown Durham, so it's a good thing this is a solid, competent lodging. The free parking and reasonably-priced food and bar add extra value. The location is also prime, adjoining the Carolina Theatre and the Durham Convention Center and just a 5-minute walk from the Durham Performing Arts Center.

Service was a little perfunctory at check-in and from room service, but it was efficient. The bar staff is very friendly.

The rooms appear to have been recently renovated [in a gold and raspberry color scheme] and are surprisingly nice with attractive touches and a comfortable bed. The bathrooms are smallish and standard-issue Marriott, but otherwise room space and furnishings are good quality. Request a corner room, which has windows on two sides for lots of light.

The fitness center has a pretty good selection of equipment. The atrium lobby is a little '80s-looking, but spacious and comfortable. If you stay here, you must try the restaurant Revolution, just a two-minute walk from the hotel and absolutely wonderful. The sleek design and creative menu make it one of the very best restaurants in Durham, and it won't break the bank, either.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Haven, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

great staff, beautiful rooms an all around good hotel.

Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PegM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed on a short business trip, found the room to be nice, but the food was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here one night after attending a concert at the Durham Performing Arts Center. It is a very nice property and well located for persons who are going to the DPAC or a game at the Durham Bulls Athletic Park.

The room was clean and the hallway was quiet. I was very impressed with how comfortable the bed was. I had one of the best night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel.

Parking is in a lot directly across the street and is no problem at all. The staff was very nice.

If you are in Durham on business or to attend an event at the one of the local entertainment venues, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabfourfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#23 of 71 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#11 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing