We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Positives:
- Outstanding hotel restaurant 2Zero1 (blackened mahi mahi and NC BBQ sandwiches with a caprese salad plus an excellent waffle/omelette/buffet in the morning)
- Very friendly staff
- Free parking across the street
- Great HDTV with plug in panel so that you can watch movies from your laptop on the TV easily
- Fast internet
- Great sleeping bed

Critiques:
- Nothing other than there's no restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H4VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    150
    71
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
84
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Needed a place to stopover on a trip down I-85 to Georgia. Since we just needed a place to sleep, I put in a low-ball bid on Priceline and got this hotel...what a pleasant surprise! From meeting the friendly doorman upon arrival, to the congenial front desk staff, to the breakfast staff in the morning - this is a very welcoming place. My best recollection of this hotel, however, will be the beds....without question, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Woke up totally refreshed and ready to take on the remainder of the trip. Have already recommended this hotel to a friend who was also pleased with the choice. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

The front desk and other staff are genuinely friendly and helpful.
Beds very confortable and we love that the entire hotel is non-smoking

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proseAnnArbor_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

This place is the tops for value and service! This was our second trip to go see the Durham Bulls play. We had a great time! The food is a little pricy at the hotel, but, what do you expect? (tasty though)

The staff is very attentive and genuine. They learn what your stay is about and they exceed your needs!

Before we left I used the online system to request a crib and frige. Both were in the room when we checked in. I know, but, it’s the attention to detail that makes an impression. Parking is safe and free! On the weekend you can get a spot across the street directly! Nice!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adtisant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

This is pretty much the only show in town if you want to stay in the thick of downtown Durham. The best thing about it is how NICE the people are, one of the most universally helpful and genuinely pleasant staffs I have come across from the front desk, right on down to housekeeping.

The second greatest thing is the value, you get free parking, free internet, great food, of course the little chocolates on the bed which are always nice, and a great location.

100% recommended, I would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTour365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We arrived on a Saturday evening for a one night stay. When we reached the front desk to check in, we were left standing there for approximately 5 minutes while one of the staff was too busy doing something on a computer, that she could not even greet us nor say that someone would be right with us.

When someone finally helped us, they told us that they did not have any King Beds available. We had made a reservation for a king bed almost 2 months before. He said that the rooms had not been cleaned yet, but he could offer us free breakfast and a room with a double bed. This was at 530pm, when check in was at 3pm. We had dinner reservations, etc. and I was not willing to sleep in a double. We insisted that we were disappointed and needed a King. The staff member then precoded to get rude telling me that "these things happen" and that "I would have to be patient". His apathetic behavior made matters worse.

While this is going on, the woman who ignored us when we first walked in had checked 2 other couples in while we waited, both with King beds!!!!

In the end, after 30 minutes of dealing with the rudest person, we got keys to a room with a king bed. The room was very clean and wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Was in town for a convention and while there a snow/ice storm came through. The staff was extremely pleasant throughout the stay and the valets were wonderful in helping to get all the snow off the car! Did eat in the restaurant 1 night during my stay and the wait staff was superb as well. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paranor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#23 of 71 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#10 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing