We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, nice rooms for our conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Durham Marriott City Center
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service, nice rooms for our conference”
Reviewed 3 May 2007

I stayed at the Durham Marriott on April 19-21 in a comped room as part of a conference I hosted at the hotel. The meeting rooms were very nice and the catering/event staff great and responsive to our needs.

My room was an 8th floor corner room, and really big. Great view of downtown. The wireless internet worked fine, and it was nice that it was free.

The parking garage was across the street and kind of creepy/deserted, but it was free too so no complaints. I would def host an event here again.

  • Liked — Elegant and up-to-date rooms and conference facilities, free parking and internet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank silverthief2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    153
    72
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
85
26
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

We had a good experience at this property. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable and we had a very nice view of the whole area from our window.

The thing that makes this property stand out is the staff. The morale is obviously good - every staff member we spoke with - from the bell person, to the valet parking person, the front desk staff, housekeeping and the bartender - were friendly, very helpful and competent.

The area is undergoing a lot of construction and improvements, which is a good sign that they are investing money in that area. We ate at a very nice - and very new - restaurant called Rue Clair. It was right down the street and we had an excellent dinner (with excellent service). This town has a lot of potential, and we're looking forward to going back at some point to see what progress they are making.

  • Liked — The hotel staff was excellent!
  • Disliked — The construction in the immediate area caused some inconvenience, however we believe it's a good sign of investment by the local government.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a view of the area...it's beautiful in the morning!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Princess1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Stayed here for one night at the end of July. The hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean, and the hotel staff was very pleasant.

I ate at the Steakhouse inside the hotel, and had an excellent New York Strip. The lounge area was also nice.

Parking is a liitle inconvienient since you have to park in an outside lot a couple blocks away. Not a real big deal though. It was free parking.

There was free internet access as well. This was good since you can never tell nowadays. Some places try to nickel-n-dime you on everything. Not so here.

The downtown area of Durham was awfull. It looked like a war zone. They seem to be doing a lot of construction, and fixing up the area, but it gives a real bad first impression of the city. I don't know if I would come back here again. It wasn't the hotel itself, it was the area the hotel was in...

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Fool for the Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 August 2005

Excellent value. Nice hotel; clean, staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Food in their restaurant was so so, but everything else made up for it. (Besides, there are many other places to eat in the area) They even have a shuttle that will bring you a couple of miles away from the hotel, including Duke and to do laundry. Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2005

This is the nicest hotel in Durham, right in the heart of the city. The large rooms have large windows and comfortable beds. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We requested extra blankets and pillows which arrived right away. High speed Internet access is free. There is a great restaurant and bar in the lobby. The rooms are very clean and welcoming, typical Marriott, yet a bit more. Parking in their lot is free.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#23 of 71 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#5 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott City Center

Property: Durham Marriott City Center
Address: 201 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701-3211
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Durham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#19 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Durham Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Durham Marriott City Center. Situated downtown, you'll love how the hotel and the city seamlessly blend the modern and the historic. The Durham Marriott City Center is connected to the 44,000 square foot Durham Convention Center and adjacent to the beautifully restored Carolina Theatre. Minutes away from Duke University, Duke Hospitals, and North Carolina Central University, this modern hotel compliments the heritage and classic architecture found throughout the city. Designed for both the business traveler and family vacationer, our comfortable accommodations and outstanding Marriott service ensure a memorable and productive visit. The Durham Marriott City Center is known for its helpful and knowledgeable staff that will ensure you get the most from your stay. Rooms at the hotel include Marriot's luxurious revived bedding package accompanied by high-definition flat screen televisions. Guests on the concierge level enjoy the added benefit of the concierge lounge serving appetizers and snacks Sunday evening through Friday morning. All guests appreciate the state of the art fitness center highlighted by eight units with 17 inch TV screens. Dining options include the 2 zero 1 restaurant with continental American dining and a casual atmosphere. The 2 zero 1 lounge offers nightly specials and a relaxed setting. So what are you waiting for? Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Durham Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Marriott City Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing