We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40 yr old carpets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Durham/University Area NC
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Durham
1 review
“40 yr old carpets”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

room smelled of 40 yrs of cig smoke and the carpet must have been that old. there was a 1 inch gap at the bottom of the door that mice or many other creatures easily could pass through. The continental breakfast was a joke.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    19
    27
    40
See reviews for
31
19
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

i stayed here for the 1 night and had a great night sleep, soon as i walked through the door the staff was polite and bent over backward to make me feel at home, clean and affordable and great location aswell most of the hot spots in towns are within a short distance too.

Im a very picky guy when it comes down to staying away from home but i have to stay i had a great night and everything was perfect, if i am ever in the area again i will stay there again and recommend anyone else to stay there too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for a week end and overall it was pleasant. I would defiantly stay here again. It's very convenient to downtown 5min drive and just around from Duke east campus. The staff are very helpful. The price was reasonable for the area. The breakfast they offer was good it consisted of 2 cereals, whole wheat bread that you could toast, 2 types of bagels, powered doughnuts, cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, fresh coffee and 2 juices. Thanks super8 for making my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

There are cigarette burns on all blankets and comforters, the room reeks of there smell as well, room service doesn't come by at all till after you leave, we asked for clean towels and never received them, we had to go buy some to be able to take showers here. The ac leaks all over floor and keeps the carpet wet. There is a group if men who just hang out outside the room doors at random hours of the night. No tv channel is clear, all filled with static snow, and don't waste your time on their free breakfast because you won't even be able to fit in the lobby to get it with the group of men now hanging out there in the morning. And to top it all off you can hear everything in the rooms next to you, no privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D34thk1tty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
9.0 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Durham/University Area NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Durham/University Area NC

Property: Super 8 Durham/University Area NC
Address: 2337 Guess Rd, I-85 Exit #175, Durham, NC 27705-3342
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durham/University Area NC 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Durham/University Area NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Durham
Super Eight Durham
Durham Super Eight
Durham Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing