We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redone basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel where your door opens to the outside on the first and second floors. On the third floor the rooms open to a closed hallway. The staff were very nice and when notified that the hall smelled like smoke (smoke free hotel) they immediately got on it. Breakfast was OK. Your basic complimentary breakfast. There is Cracker Barrel next door. Location is so so. The rooms have been updated with new beds and furniture and was comfortable. Good hotel if you are only staying a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbqmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad the staff promptly handled your complaint and treated you kind. We will work on breakfast selection. We are happy your room met your expectations. Your review is very important and we will use your feedback to make sure future guests have a pleasant stay. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Durham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Yes, there's a free buffet so if that's your priority then this might be the place for you. I'd rather have some of the other amenities that's just my preference. Bright rooms, friendly desk and office staff that are knowledgeable and have equipment and technology that can provide a receipt upon check out these are all important to me.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your stay. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for not meeting your expectations. We are always receptive to all feedback as our goal is to wow the guest and ensure they have a great stay. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention as we will work on them. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you give us another chance on your next trip to Durham .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

At $75/night, this was an ok hotel. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and included a small fridge & microwave. The breakfast was not very good (the only natural-seeming items were bananas and hard-boiled eggs.)

Room Tip: The top floor has interior corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your time and providing us with feedback about your stay. We are glad to know for you the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast as we are making changes to the breakfast selection. We value your review and we hope you give us another chance so you can enjoy a better breakfast.

Sincerely,
Gloria Stukes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed two nights in the king suite during Duke University's graduation. The suite was two rooms, a bedroom with king bed and a combination kitchen/living room with a sofa bed. Microwave, frig and toaster were included. The room was clean; the bed was comfortable. The only shortcoming was the shower. I had read many reviews about the shower -- we managed to find the sweet spot where the water was hot, but the stream was pretty weak. My major complaint was that my adult son, who was sleeping on the sofa bed, only had a very tiny pillow. It was half the size of a normal pillow. I went to the desk and asked for a second pillow and they said they didn't have any more. That's pretty difficult to believe! Other than that, the breakfast was quite adequate and our room was very quiet. The AC worked fine. So no major complaints. This is not a fancy place, but it was quite adequate and only 8 minutes from Duke.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad that you liked your room and overall enjoyed your stay. Allow me to apologize for the inconvenience of the pillows. You should have been given one when you asked. Your feedback will be used as a training tool to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope that you give us another chance to provide you with better service.

Sincerely,
Gloria Stukes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at this property March 31 - April 2 2014. Business trip. Check in was a breeze. My room was clean and I have a positive first impression. Anytime I needed the staff I had no problems or issues communicating. Property is close to several eating establishments. The breakfast provided a good selection, and there were attendants at all times. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We are glad to hear we met your expectations regarding the cleanliness of your room, the positive interactions with the staff, and the good selection of breakfast items in the mornings. Hard work pays off and your review is a great example to the staff. Again, thank you for your time and we really value your feedback! We look forward to having you come stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Gloria Stukes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, April 16, & 17th.. The first night we only had warm water. When I took my shower the water was just warm, not hot but was not totally freezing, just barely manageable. Since we had heard other people complaining about the lack of hot water, it would be taken care of and we would have hot water the next night.. The next night I got into the shower and had just wet my hair and put shampoo in and the water went from warm to ice cold. It's not fun to have to take a cold shower!. We did call down to the desk and they did offer to let us move, however, it was well after 9pm and we were checking out the next morning so we turned down the offer. When we checked out the next morning, we commented on the lack of hot water and was told they had made a note in the file. No apology was offered I was just handed my receipt.
I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank daffyduckbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. On behalf of the hotel, I sincerely apologize for your experience with the hot water. I will share your review with the staff to ensure we handle these situations differently in the future. If possible, I would like for you to contact me at the hotel so that we can discuss your stay. Again, thank you for your time and I hope that you will give us a second chance on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Gloria Stukes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel needs a bit of TLC. The last time I stayed here there were issues with water temperature and mold. The beds are on the harder side but it stays quiet most of the time. The staff is good, but they need to learn that the do not disturb sign means just that. The breakfast in the morning is a great perk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I apologize for the disturbance during your stay. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention as we continuously strive to make improvements for all of our guests. We are glad to know that you liked our breakfast and things were quiet for you. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Gloria Stukes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#43 of 71 in Durham
62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park

Address: 3710 Hillsborough Rd, Durham, NC 27705-2906 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-85 and within minutes of Duke University and Duke Hospital. All of our rooms & Suites include a 32" Flat Screen, Luxury Vanities, Refrigerator, Microwave, and more.Come an enjoy a relaxing swim in our newly reconstructed pool! We also offer a complimentary expanded continental breakfast with hot items in the mornings, business center and 24 hour access to fitness room. Whether you are planning to visit for business or leisure, you will enjoy our signature service and the upscale amenities we have to offer. At Quality Inn & Suites,Durham we always strive to reinvigorate the hotel experience and provide our guests with a home away from home atmosphere, with spacious comfortable suites, featuring all the extras that make a difference when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Durham
Quality Inn Durham
Durham Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing