We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel for a nights stay, nothing great, service lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The medical rate is the reason I chose this hotel. It looked like an average hotel that would be good for two nights stay for two doctors appointments at Duke with my dog. I checked in on Thursday June 12th at around 7pm with a friend. Room was small, smelled old and musky but seemed clean. Everything was good that evening. I get up to take a shower Friday morning and the water would not stay at a constant temperature. One minute it is scalding hot, the next it is freezing cold.

The hotel advertises free shuttle service to the area hospitals and we were put on the list for shuttle service at 8:30 Friday morning. We go down to the lobby to meet up with the shuttle driver at 8:15. We are told that the keys are lost to the shuttle and they will have to call a cab to take us to the hospital. The hotel paid for the fare of the cab but we still had to tip the driver. We called after the first appointment to get picked up from the hospital. We are told the keys are still lost and they will have to call a cab again. After waiting for one hour we decided we would not have time to go back to the hotel and make it back to the second appointment. The female working the desk was very rude during each call we made.

We were told we were going to be in a pet friendly room when I made reservations. When I called back to cancel the cab from picking us up at the hospital the rude female states that we have a dog in the room, and it is not a dog friendly room, and we will have to take this up with the manager when we get back. We were already stressed with the doctors appointments, loss of the shuttle keys, and now basically being told we took an animal in with permission. I told her what date and time I made the reservation and was told I would be in an animal friendly room and it was not my problem. She said it was my problem and I could take it up with the manager. I asked to speak with the manager, and she was not there.

The shuttle keys were found finally and we were picked up after the second appointment with no hassle. We went in to speak with the manager about the dog and she was there and said it had been taken care of.

Saturday morning we went to breakfast at the breakfast area. It had several options including danish, eggs, english muffins, cereal, waffles, milk, juice, coffee. Overall the food was good and saved us from having to stop for breakfast.

This stay was total disarray. I don't know if they were having a bad day or what but it was very stressful and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the hotel for your experience with us. I can assure you that we normally have a smooth process for our shuttle service. I am so sorry for the stress and inconvenience. We are glad to know that you did enjoy our complimentary breakfast. We really hope that you give us another chance the next time you visit the Durham area.

Sincerely,

Gloria Stukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is the best deal in Durham. It also has great rooms, great breakfast, and great free wifi. All rooms have fridge and microwave. It is also on the VA contract list. Their medical rate is the cheapest around. They are just a couple of streets over from the hospitals. Driving a couple of blocks to save half the rate is well worth it!

Room Tip: This hotel has an elevator. Don't worry about getting a ground floor room, all rooms are very a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wolflady4733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for providing a review of your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay all around! We have been working harder to please our guests and it shined through during your stay. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to taking care of you again on your next trip to Durham!

Sincerely,

Gloria Stukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is clean and the staff was very nice and helpful at check in. The hotel is in a good proximity to getting to the VA Hospital and to Duke Medical Center. However, the hot water in the room was luke warm at best and we tried it at multiple times during our one night stay. When we could not get any hot water, we waited to shower at 5 in the morning but the water remained luke warm. We even let the water run for a while thinking it was just taking a long time to get to the 3rd floor. The desk clerk did not have any suggestions. We would not stay again as the one thing we really require while traveling is a hot shower at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and staff very nice and helpful. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the issue with your hot water. Again, we appreciate your business and we hope that we can have a second chance to provide you with superior service on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Gloria Stukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stopped here on our way south. The room was fine for two people, the king bed took up just about the whole room. The staff was very nice. We stopped here on our way back home but by then we had two teens with us and the pool was not working. They gave us the option of checking out with no charge which we did and moved on to a hotel two hours closer to home that had a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maribeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. I apologize on behalf of the hotel for our pool being closed. Our goal is to make sure our guests are safe and our pool in proper working order. We are proud to know your encounters with staff was pleasant. Again, I am so sorry about the pool being closed. Hopefully you can give us a second chance. Thank you for your review.

Regard,

Gloria Stukes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just moved to Durham from the Midwest. I knew no one and felt a little disoriented after living for years "out west." The staff welcomed me with smiles and kindness. Within days they had answered many questions and directed me to helpful services as I began looking for a place to live. Because I was staying for an extended period of time they gave me a great rate. My room is lovely, although I'm convinced they put something in the bed to cause me to sleep so well! Actually, the bed is extremely comfortable, housekeeping keeps the room in good order, and that staff is also friendly and courteous. Breakfasts are hearty and delicious. I'm a veteran and there is a free shuttle to the VA Hospital and Duke Medical Center, which is not only helpful for transportation, but it means many vets stay here and there is a camaraderie that is most pleasant. All floors are easily accessible due to the elevator and rooms have plenty of light and good air conditioners too!

Room Tip: Many want to be on the ground floor, but all floors are easily accessible with the elevator. I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Our team has been diligently working to improve and provide superior service to all of our guests and it feels good to know when we are wowing our guests! We are so happy that you enjoy your room, staff, and the breakfast. Again, we appreciate you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

Gloria Stukes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good property. This is an old Fairfield Inn with the first two floors opening to the outside and the third floor is an interior corridor. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the linen (bedding/towels) were good. The rooms have been redone with new bedding, flat screen TV, new paint, decent furniture, refrigerator and microwave. The negatives, carpeting dirty (needs a good steam cleaning), some mold in the bathroom (minimal), room smelled damp/musty upon check-in. This is one of the best Quality Inn hotels. Apparently others have found out about this hotel since the parking lot is full each night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BraggDLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests' experience. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and noticed the changes in our hotel. We hope that you will stop in and stay with us again next time you are in Durham.

Kind Regards,

Gloria Stukes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The bottom two floors are all exterior rooms and the third floor has interior corridors. Our first room in the bottom floor smelled like smoke despite being a non smoking room in a non smoking hotel. People were smoking within a few feet of the front door as well. We moved to the third floor which was better, though overall I would say the renovation here was the equivalent of putting lipstick on a pig.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay. On behalf of the hotel, I sincerely apologize for the smoke smell you experienced. We have provided a smoking area for smokers and are in the process of changing where smoking is allowed outside so that it doesn't get close to the rooms. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We hope that you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Gloria Stukes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#44 of 71 in Durham
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
8.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park
9.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park

Address: 3710 Hillsborough Rd, Durham, NC 27705-2906 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-85 and within minutes of Duke University and Duke Hospital. All of our rooms & Suites include a 32" Flat Screen, Luxury Vanities, Refrigerator, Microwave, and more.Come an enjoy a relaxing swim in our newly reconstructed pool! We also offer a complimentary expanded continental breakfast with hot items in the mornings, business center and 24 hour access to fitness room. Whether you are planning to visit for business or leisure, you will enjoy our signature service and the upscale amenities we have to offer. At Quality Inn & Suites,Durham we always strive to reinvigorate the hotel experience and provide our guests with a home away from home atmosphere, with spacious comfortable suites, featuring all the extras that make a difference when traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Medical Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Durham
Quality Inn Durham
Durham Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing