We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here before and thought it was a good value while visiting our kids, as we would only be sleeping in there. No frills were needed.

This time there was a smell that seemed like cigarette smoke, though this was a non smoking hotel. That smell permeated our clothes; luckily, we only stayed there two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at our property. Our hotel is now 100% smoke free. We believe in providing each guest with a comfortable, clean room each stay. We expect the very best from our hotel and our staff. It is always our goal to provide oustanding service and quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

i gotta admit i stay at plenty of red roof's before n this is one of the cleaniest places i been.... i checked in late was tired n angry because i was on the road. the front desk clerk nate was very polite n humorous even made me smile n forget i was sleepy n upset....when i got to my room i called front desk for extra pillows and not only did he bring the pillows to my room he brought towels, wash clothes, n really cared if i was comfortable.....the room was clean i was very pleased with my overalln stay... look forward to coming back next time im in town.....thank you so much

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for your response. It is always a pleasure when we hear about a guest who had an outstanding visit. I will share these compliments with our staff and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Usually when i stay at the red roof inn the experience is average but this time everything was exceptionial. The receptionist Ashley was very personable and friendly and made me feel good spending my hard earned money on this hotel. i will definately tell a friend about this and i will be back. Thanks red roof!!!!

Room Tip: look at reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank You for sharing your experience during your past stay with us. It is always great to hear how our guests love our property and our staff, we try our very best to ensure each guest feels welcome and wants to come back. Happy Holidays from the Red Roof Inn staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I had a fantastic stay were able to bring my pet also the front desk
clerk witch her name was ashley. Ashley was great she was able
To help with directions i will advise anyone to stay at the redroofinn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for choosing The Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill. Pets are always welcome and stay for free! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Chapel Hill area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stay there in November had a comfortable great stay.i felt very welcome lady at the front desk ashley was great very helpful i wil always come back to stay because of the price and good customer service

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakari24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroofchapelhill, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for expressing your delight with our property. We strive for each guest to enjoy our property as much as you. We look forward to seeing you in the furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

This is a no frills motel. When all you plan to do is sleep and shower, it is a perfect fit. Very, very reasonably priced. Clean. Small pets allowed without charge. Would stay there again, after figuring out how to find the entrance road. Evidently, the town of Chapel Hill will not allow a sign indicating their hidden entrance road.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroofchapelhill, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill. Our hotel is conveniently located off Interstae 40. Our location does offer free Wi-Fi, free local and long distance phone service and each room has a new flat screen television. Please feel free to contact our hotel in there is diffiulty finding our location at 919-489-9421.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

If you are looking for a bargain in the Chapel Hill/Durham area this is a great choice. Rooms are clean and basic. Hotel is very conveniently located just off I-40. Wish they offered a continental breakfast...coffee is free but for a meal you need to drive across the freeway to nearby restaurants (there is a good selection of restaurants and shopping within a mile).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsetbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroofchapelhill, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel while staying in the Chapel Hill area. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit while in Chapel Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#15 of 18 in Chapel Hill
244 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#42 of 71 in Durham
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 5623 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, I-40 at US 15/501, Exit #270, Durham, NC 27707-3320
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £36 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
Red Roof Inn Durham
Durham Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing