We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The University Inn
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Visit to Dike University with several teens. Clean but somewhat worn rooms, good value, breakfast about as expected. I would go back because it was safe and the staff was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
10
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We stopped in via bus. The reviews said the location is good. For anyone visiting and wanting to sight see, its terrible. Go into the city centre, or just go to the next town haha. If you need to get to the hospital, or university, it's a great location.

First impression we're concerning. No smile or hello from staff. They look miserable. And they don't care at all about you. Check in also took forever!!! I was scared to ask if their was a problem though!!

Rooms are nice. Beds are big and comfortable. Very clean also.

They offer a shuttle, well the shuttle doesnt run on a weekend. Don't ask me why.

We ended up going into the hotel next door for help regarding directions. Instant regret that we hadn't booked there as the staff were nice and they had their shuttle bus running.

Oh well. It's money we will never get back. Lucky it was only one night!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel was clean and the rooms were large and comfortable. There is always coffee in the entrance and they have a no smoking policy including outside the front door now. It was conveniently located for us because it was near the Duke campus and nearer to the Duke hospital (right across the street). there is van service and a free breakfast. There are coffee makers in the room but no coffee was given. We had several problems. I have never met an unfriendlier staff. You had to walk by them to get to the elevator and no one ever said hello or good evening. The worst were the housekeepers who banged on the door around 10am whether you had a do not disturb sign or not.. They left before we did, so we only got the room cleaned once during our visit. There is some good food nearby if you have a car--if not, you will have very few options. The breakfasts did not include bagels or danish several days--they claimed there was no delivery and when they did come, they were tiny and dry. There was cereal and milk and yogurt and coffee each day. Wifi was good. A mixed bag all around.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChayaYehudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

I stayed here for a day as it was very close to Medical Center where I had my interview. The rooms very clean and was surprisingly over-sized. I real liked the ambiance, furniture of the room. You get coffee maker, fridge, TV in room and WiFi, breakfast for free. The front desk staff were very helpful. Shuttle service is available. If your trip is primarily concerned with the Duke Medical Center and want to cut down the cost of your stay this hotel is very much recommended.

Room Tip: If you are for a medical reason in Duke hospital then you will get discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeep277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The University Inn at Duke primarily serves patients there for medical issues. I went for a quick business trip and wanted to cut costs.

It is utilitarian with basic stay for a week furnishings like fridge and microwave. Mattress and chairs and bath were adequate. The thing that distinguishes this place from others in its class are that it is immaculately clean and the staff understand the concept of hospitality. And without the supercilious smarminess we so often see in upscale hotels. I'm not sure I will stay there every trip but I will never hesitate to. And you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hotel says smoke free but heavy smoking takes place just outside the entrance. The smoke filters into the lobby and there is always a smoke residual that effects the lobby/entrance area. Since that is the location for check-in and the continental breakfast and seating area, someone with a lung condition should give lots of consideration before making their reservation. Also, the odor from the cleaning agents is very strong throughout the hotel and the air is hard to breathe. Beware any who have a lung condition.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviagutoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Quiet! Nice staff .got a good deal on priceline! would recommend to anyone who just wants a good night's sleep. No partiers or screaming kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idlehands_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
0.9 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#35 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The University Inn

Property: The University Inn
Address: 502 Elf St, Durham, NC 27705
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn at Duke is across the street from Duke University Medical Center Hospital and the Durham Regional Veterans Administration Hospital. We are walking distance to the Duke Medical Pavilion, Duke Cancer Center, Duke Ambulatory Center, Duke Eye Clinic, Duke University, Duke University Medical School, Cameron Indoor Stadium, Duke Gardens, Duke Chapel, Duke East Campus and Duke West Campuses. All of our rooms are extra large and include a microwave, refrigerator, and free WIFI. We have a complimentary Shuttle bus for the Duke campus and medical center that runs Monday thru Friday 7am to 9pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Inn At Duke Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing