We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The good... Well managed. Excellent staff. the onsite bar is excellent. Great location for getting to duke events, chapel hill and downtown Durham. Excellent golf course. Rooms were in pretty good condition.

The bad...Didn't like the breakfast buffet at all. Not much to criticize other than that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed at the Washington Duke Inn recently when in town for business at Research Triangle Park. The hotel itself is very classical and despite the age of some of the furniture, the hotel is kept extremely clean and I found the entire hotel and grounds to be very enjoyable. Staff was all very pleasant and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Wi-Fi was a bit sketchy in some areas of the hotel and stopped working at 10:30 two nights in a row which was frustrating when trying to catch up on work. Overall a very convenient location whether visiting Duke or other campuses and close to Research Triangle Park without having to stay at a chain hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms all have a good view but ask for a view overlooking the Golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easytraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My son and I stayed at the Washington Duke during a visit to the colleges in the Research Triangle Park area. The hotel is located very close to the West Campus across from the athletic fields. Its 300 acres are beautifully landscaped. Check in was efficient, although I found the service level at the rest of the hotel superior to the desk staff. We had a room with two double beds, very comfortable with nice amenities. The room had a Keurig coffee maker so it classifies as the only hotel I've stayed at with decent in-room coffee. (Free coffee is available in the Bull Durham Bar in the morning.) We had a very good, though somewhat expensive, dinner in the Bull Durham the evening of our arrival. The atmosphere was relaxed, and my only wish was that the weather had been a bit nicer because the view of the golf course from the patio was wonderful. My crab cakes were very good, my son enjoyed his steak. Dessert was outstanding and there is a nice wine list.
Breakfast was in the vista room. There is a full buffet, although we ordered from the menu. The time it took to prepare two simple breakfasts is my only real complaint - it took well over 35 minutes to make French toast for my son and eggs over easy for me. Once they arrived it was delicious. Our breakfast was included in our room rate so I can't comment on the cost. We self-parked but Valet service is available for $10 a night.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Durham.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We went to the DUGC for some light dinner ... appetizers, drinks and dessert. It is not an inexpensive place to dine but we didn't expect it to be. Our drinks ranged from $8 - $13 each. Our cheese tray, with a nice variety, was $12 and our desserts were each $8. Everything was well prepared and scrumptious. The service was extremely attentive but not overbearing. We spent over $100 on our light dinner (mostly on drinks) and found it was well worth it. A nice family get together in an quiet outdoor atmosphere overlooking the golf course ... priceless.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank prmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

This place is welcoming, old southern charm and first class all the way! Right across the street from Duke basketball and football facilities. The hotel is classy, yet warm and friendly. Feels like home! We had a suite, which was very spacious and nice with two baths. We also had a two queen room for the teenagers. Everything was great! The Bull Durham Bar was my favorite bar ever - Angel was the most attentive bar tender and server I've ever had. The breakfast was very good as we're the appetizers in the bar. The only bad thing about this hotel was the indoor pool. It was loud, with little kids screaming and no opportunity to enjoy the incredible views of the outdoors and the gold course.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I hosted a business meeting here last month. The facilities and staff were outstanding. Very modern conference phone and LCD projector. Those who called in to listen to our meeting were very pleased with the voice quality of the equipment, which is often a problem at other business hotels. The meeting room was spacious and comfortable. We had a delicious hot breakfast; service was wonderful. Everyone was very happy with the rooms and the grounds. There is a nature trail around the property that received rave reviews from my colleagues. I would definitely return with my business group.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishcrazycpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Fortunate to have this resort for a recent business trip. Resort grounds were impressive upon arrival with lots of historical memorabilia sprinkled through the resort honoring the famous Duke Family. Oppulently furnished with lots of "quiet nooks" throughout the facility, beautiful grounds to explore, a nicely accommodated gym, and several dining options (although pricey). I had a king bedroom suite with a nice well-furnished living room area with desk and french doors leading into a lavishly decorated king bedroom. View from my room was less than spectacular because I had a 2nd floor room with an obstructed view (RM 262). I'm sure other rooms have some great views of the golf course and other views of the well-maintained grounds.

Although dining was a bit pricey, the food was well-seasoned and service was top-notch.
The Chopped Salad in Bull Durham Bar is HUGE so it's best to have a big appetite. Breakfast buffet was about $19, but if you order from the menu, the service is rather quick and the serving sizes are quite filling and can save you some $$. The golf course snack bar (near the driving range and called "Nineteen" is the best bang for the buck for a quick, casual bite to eat. Eating area is outdoors and informal, but the food is the same food they offer inside the hotel for VERY affordable prices.

I would gladly return to this hotel to enjoy the "Lap of Luxury", but unfortunately it's outside my family's typical price range. Perhaps I'll be fortunate to have another business conference and I can bring my husband along. :)

Room Tip: The Chopped Salad in Bull Durham Bar is HUGE so it's best to have a big appetite. Breakfast buf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibmrsbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
321 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.6 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
JB Duke Hotel
JB Duke Hotel
#27 of 71 in Durham
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £141 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing