We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite Repeat Visit if in the Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definite Repeat Visit if in the Area”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Visited for a wedding last weekend. Wedding was beautiful. Food was great. Cake tasted incredible, best that I have ever tasted at a wedding. Loved the southern fusion flair - appetizer was shrimp and grits. Room was spacious, beds were very comfortable, service was GREAT - my fiance got his shoes shined, his shirt ironed, and shaving cream that he forgot so he could be spiffy for the wedding :). We walked around the wonderful trail behind the hotel, had a lovely drink at the bar - beautiful landscaping. The lobby was especially luxurious looking.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swimstar200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    133
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
240
121
39
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days/two nights for a quick golf get-away. This hotel definitely lives up to it's 4/5 star rating. The wonderful impression starts at the entrance to the hotel, which is beautiful and has lovely landscaping, continues to the welcome by the bell staff and then the front desk. Every part of this hotel is done with good taste and refinement. The common areas, the golf locker rooms, the golf pro shop, the restaurants, the patio dining and the beautifully appointed rooms (they are completely updated, as are the bathrooms)...it is truly a wonderful place to visit. The food is delicious, whether it is from the lounge, room service, or the main dining room. We have stayed an many luxury hotels, and this one certainly did not disappoint. Every employee made us feel welcome. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have a really pretty landscape to look at from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestotravel5272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This elegant hotel, golf club and dining room is the place to be for all varieties of Duke-related activities. We've stayed there numerous times for campus visits for college-hunting, move-in, parent weekend, Alumni events, and school-year visits. The staff is courteous and welcoming, and the plush furnishings and decor give the whole place an elegant ambiance. Rooms and suites there are lovely and welcoming, as is the dining experience in the dining room, the bar area (especially in the library room off the bar), and the seating area outside that overlooks the golf course. You'll see alumni, student groups celebrating special occasions, family groups touring the campus, and local area residents and businesses using the meeting room and conference areas. The business center is top notch. They do an awesome job during move-in days assisting with directions and handouts and having grab and go coffee and info stations. The food in the dining room and bar has always been good, the breakfast buffet is lovely, and overall the service has been very good. If you can afford it, it's the first choice of places to stay near campus!

Room Tip: You can ask for a golf course view room if available. Front view looks out over the drop off circle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A lovely inn that makes visiting Duke extra special. Not to say one shouldn't visit Durham and understand the tone of the town, but as most students stay campus-bound when attending Duke, this is just an extension of the beautiful campus, and of course so well located you can walk or take their shuttle bus for all activities on campus. Almost no need for a rental car.
The price is good value except during the "hot ticket" times such as freshman parent weekend, graduation and probably a couple of other times. Then the price is practically double--so depends if you want a luxury hotel that much.
If you have a family event, the staff is very accommodating in the main dining room. But reserve early for large parties. Brunch is great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc20cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were preparing our college road trip looking for hotels close to Duke University and the Washington Duke Inn had the best reviews. When we arrived, we were swept away with the luxury and elegance of the hotel. From the bell stand greeting you as you drive up, to the friendly greeting at the front desk, you definitely feel welcomed at this hotel.

The one problem we faced was we had requested a King size bed with sofa bed and rollaway. When we arrived to the magnificently enormous room, we did not see a rollaway and the bell hop said he would look into it. After about 20 minutes we called housekeeping and found out that the room did not support a rollaway as it would create a violation to the fire code. This surprised us as you could fit another king sized bed in that room and still be able to walk around it. I went down to the bell stand and the guy who said he would look into it said he was not aware the room could not support a rollaway bed and that's when i went to the front desk and explained my situation. As I booked through Expedia (never again), the rollaway request never came through to them, otherwise they would have contacted me. The very polite front desk manager said to enjoy dinner and she would have me an answer when we finished. After dinner, they made a one time exception and allowed the rollaway bed in the room. Other hotels would have told me flat out no, but the Washington Duke Inn did everything possible to ensure I had a memorable stay.

Being at a luxury hotel does come with the price. Dinner for four in the bar restaurant - 3 burgers, dinner salad, beer, two soft drinks, waters, and two desserts came to close to $100, but the food is high quality.

The beds - King, sofa bed, and rollaway were fantastic and we all had a great night sleep.

The Washington Duke Inn does offer a shuttle to Duke University. The bell stand recommended to me that you make reservations the night before, especially if you have an early meeting there. The shuttle van is also luxurious and they took us right to the admissions office and picked us up from West Campus when our tour was completed.

We had a late arrival and an early departure for us to experience all the Washington Duke Inn has to offer. Hopefully our daughter will be accepted into Duke next year so we can frequently visit this nice hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a little and get a King suite. It is simply gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We came to the Washington Duke Inn to stay for a wedding (not held at the Inn, but nearby). Our first impression was WOW! The inn was just beautiful. Our check-in experience was excellent. The valet, front desk and bell staff were courteous, efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was lovely and spotless. We had lunch and several breakfasts in the restaurants and were pleased with the quality of the food, even though the service, while very polite, was a bit pokey.This was not a big problem for us because we were not in a hurry.
We loved relaxing on the lawn overlookig the golf course, but were unable to enjoy a drink or light snack there unless we went inside to get it, because we could not catch the eye of a waiter, even though they were serving guests on the veranda twenty feet away.
We would absolutely stay at this hotel again and recommend it highly to anyone traveling to the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were equally nice. You might want to ask for a room overlooking the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammie0251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed last June and have booked a week this upcoming June during the time our kids are attending Duke sports camp. The hotel was truly lovely. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well cleaned with beautiful golf course views. Although they were not 100% new, they were quiet, and plush. Bathrooms had everything, and were spacious. We were most impressed by the staff. Truly 10 everyone was a 10. Helpful, kind, quick to attend, and very happy. The staff all take great pride in their hotel. I would say the only only small negative is the pool was slightly small. But they do not advertise a pool, so we were not at all disappointed. We can not wait to check in again this upcoming June.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 775mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
2.4 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing