We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A southern gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A southern gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I always stay at the Washington Duke when visiting our daughter and have never been disappointed. The hotel is charming, the service exemplary and the rooms clean and comfortable. The dining room menus are excellent (and we personally much prefer the more interesting breakfast menu over the buffet). The outdoor terrace is a lovely spot for lunch or drinks and the bar cozy and relaxing. The grounds are gorgeous and the Duke west campus is readily accessible. I agree with the previous reviewer that some of the walls are extremely thin (in our room it appeared to be the ceiling in the bathroom) but I don't think this is the case in every room as I only noticed it this last visit. All in all a great place to stay and we'll be back.

Room Tip: There was some construction on some of the floors which you may want to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriaanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    129
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
234
116
39
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
quito
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there for a few days, and could enjoy the walkings. It is located in Duke University. It is near shopping centers, downtown, banks. The food is great. I really liked this hotel, and if possible will come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed two nights. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. Overall, the hotel decor is lovely and classic. The flower beds around the property are perfectly maintained (loads of red roses in full bloom when we visited in May).
There is a 3-mile walking trail around the perimeter of the property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rd_horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights while attending a conference at the university. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, with good service. Unfortunately, I had planned to try the afternoon tea but when I attempted to make a same-day reservation (at 8am for afternoon tea), I was informed that tea reservations should be made 24 hours in advance and that they were booked. It would help to know that when checking in ("Can I make a reservation for you for afternoon tea during your stay?") - it would help guests understand that multi-day advance planning may be necessary if they want to try the tea service.

The hotel is in a beautiful building. The walls are, however, extremely thin and one could hear every noise coming from the other room (tv, telephone calls, coughs, flushes, suitcase zips, everything). It made me hyper-conscious that my neighbors could hear me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Although the hotel and the food services are always top notch, the golf course itself is in horrible condition. The greens look like they have not been watered in weeks. They are hard as concrete making even the best shots impossible to stop. Most of the tee boxes are nearly barren as well as the fairways. Fairway grass is non-existent. For a green fee ranging from $85-$100 for a round I would have expected a far better course. For 1/3rd the cost you can play a nearby public course with better conditions. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David27705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed here many times over the past 20 years.....and we never cease to enjoy our stays at the "Wash Duke" ..,,lovely rooms, excellent service and great location. Nothing better than watching the sun set over the golf course from your seat on the patio.
Dinner at the Fairview tops off your stay.

Room Tip: Get one that overlooks the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BloomfieldHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff at the "Wa-Duke" are very friendly, superbly trained. While the hotel itself could be more dog-friendly, i.e., they don't allow even outdoor dining with Fido, they do allow dogs and simply require the use of a dog sitter when needed, which they will readily supply.
The food is not bad at all. The bar scene is friendly and lively at times.
Definitely still the best place to stay in Durham.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipperDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#12 of 70 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#35 of 70 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.6 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing