We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness is next to...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cleanliness is next to...”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My room overlooked the driving range and rooftop of convention center. Nice view, except for the rooftop..I was in room 456. Room was lovely and very comfy. AC unit worked great, but it was noisy. It actually worked out well- no hallway noise. Love the Kuerig in my room. Beautifully decorated..bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly ..found previous occupants used soap left on wall and body hair in the bottom of the bathtub...yuk!
Love the location....great place to walk from if you want to check out Duke's West Campus.
There is a very popular walking trail that circles the property. Perfect walk in the woods..I even came face to face with a grazing doe.
The golf course is beautiful and perfectly kept...looks challenging, but lovely at the same time..
Indoor pool, fitness center all are nice.
We especially enjoyed breakfast on the terrace in the morning...great way to start the day...

Room Tip: My room overlooked the driving range and rooftop of convention center. Nice view, except for the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaDuke, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear BBB2013,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are pleased to hear that many aspects of your visit were positive, though we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered. Please be assured that this is not our standard of service and we have addressed this with the team appropriately. We have also addressed the issue of the noise from the AC unit in room 456. Unfortunately, the next guest might not find the same silver lining in the noise, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are very happy that the location with regards to Duke University and the Al Buehler trail around the property made your trip one to remember.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    136
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
250
125
41
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Beautiful property! Everyone was friendly, polite, and very helpful! Rooms are very nicely furnished; housekeeping staff is very efficient! The golf course is beautiful, as well as the grounds. Just a very relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJD101956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear CJD101956,

Thank you for your gracious comments about the Inn. We are so very pleased to hear that every aspect of your stay was enjoyable and relaxing. From your interaction with our staff to the property’s amenities and accommodations, we are happy we had the opportunity to delight you. Whether business or leisure brings you back to Durham, we hope your stay includes the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed a night away but couldn't quite get out of town! We decided to keep our money local and the Washington Duke did not disappoint! The staff was lovely and kind, and our room service was delicious. We stayed in one of the newly renovated 5th floor rooms and loved it!
We enjoyed a drink on the terrace which really started our staycation off on the right foot. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetmama14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jetsetmama14,

We are thrilled that you selected the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club for your recent “staycation” with your husband! It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the service from our team, the enhancements to our guest accommodations and our in-room dining options. Also, thank you for sharing the lovely photo of the view from the terrace as you enjoyed your afternoon beverage. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn upon your next visit!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

At check out, they couldn't print an invoice. When I got my credit card statement, they double charged me for my room. When I disputed the charge, they came back to my credit card company and said it was a room service charge. They presented a lunch check for a meal about three hours after I had checked out of hotel for three people. I never ordered the meal. I wasn't on the premises and had checked out. It wasn't my signature. I was traveling by myself. After a couple of hours of my time, I'm still disputing sloppy, sloppy over charges. I would NOT recommend this hotel for anyone whose time is valuable. Customer service of the worst sort!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 199ANNE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaDuke, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We sincerely apologize for the incidents you experienced during your recent visit and the frustrations this has caused you. I was pleased to find out that our accounting department has already been in contact with you directly and has since rectified this situation. Please know that we strive to provide excellent and timely service and these errors have been addressed with the team. We hope that you will consider us again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Alawson@wdigc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the Washington Duke Inn during an event I was planning at Duke University. The hotel is a short walk to Duke's campus. Southern charm exudes from all aspects of the hotel from the decor, staff, grounds.
I ate in all three restaurants:
- Fairview Dining Room - wonderful dinner, sat on the patio with views of the golf course
- Vista Restaurant - weekend brunch
- Bull Durham Bar - great food & fun ambiance for drinks.
There is a nice gym in the hotel, along with a gift shop and golf pro shop.
The guest rooms are generously sized and very comfy.
I appreciate the hotel taking such good care of the property. The hotel is in excellent condition. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear KristiK77,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Washington Duke Inn! Your kind remarks about our restaurants, amenities and Southern hospitality are greatly appreciated. We hope you will choose to stay with us again during you next visit to the University.

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Set among the university campus, it has a beautiful landscape. The lobby and the restaurants have old world charm. Very limited food options, though the bar is good. Rooms are comfortable with a great view of the golf course. Very pricey for the services provided.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sensha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sensha29,

We are so glad your recent stay with us was pleasant and you enjoyed our beautiful landscapes, comfortable accommodations and the offerings of the Bull Durham Bar. I have passed along your comments regarding dining options and pricing to our executive team. We hope your next visit to Durham brings you back to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the Washington Duke while we were in town for a wedding. The property is absolutely beautiful and the hotel looks great. We had no problems with service and enjoyed our stay...that being said I wasn't blown away by any means. The food we ate at the hotel was also just ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Lauren A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn. We are happy to know that you and your husband enjoyed our beautiful grounds and property during your recent visit. I have passed along your comments to our culinary team regarding your dining experience. It is our goal to provide top-notch service to all guests and I hope we have the opportunity to showcase that upon your next visit to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#16 of 71 in Durham
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing