We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkey-Rainey Golf Invitational Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Simply an annual event that I would never want to miss.

The WDIGC is an excellent host venue for a fabulous weekend.
The hotel and golf course are unbelieveble. Staff at the entire property meets and usually exceed my expectations. All you need do is ask. They are ready to help.

The improvements/renovated greens of the golf course were fantastic. This is the best course I play every year. I enjoy the course so much that I play a 18 hole practice round, the 18 hole event and then a replay 18 holes in the heat of the afternoon following the event.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jeff A,

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your annual visit to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club for the Yorkey-Rainey Invitational. It's a special event and we are happy to host! We are thrilled that the service from our outstanding staff not only met, but exceeded your expectations, and you were able to play the course three times during your stay. The Duke University Golf Course is absolutely beautiful and we are fortunate to be surrounded by its stunning views. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year to enjoy your weekend on the greens!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Went up for the week end and EVERYTHING was great. WD Inn made check in/out a seamless process. Centrally located to campus/downtown. Friendly staff.

Lunch in the cafe overlooking gold course was about $60 for three (tip and alcohol not included) If you have been here you know the standards, if not, give it a try. Above average chain prices but what do you expect with "Duke" in the name!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear J D,

Thank you for the “excellent” review of your weekend at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We are so glad you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed our courteous staff and convenient location. The Bull Durham Bar is a wonderful place to dine and we are pleased you had the opportunity experience it. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

For visitors to Duke, this is a first-class hotel conveniently located right next to the west campus.

Service was excellent. The front desk and bell staff were welcoming and efficient.

Our room, while not luxurious, was very clean, comfortable, and well-appointed.

The breakfast buffet, included in some packages but not ours, was excellent and included many southern favorites.

For visitors to the University, you really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ready2go410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear ready2go410,

Your feedback means so much to us and we greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We are elated that our team provided you with such wonderful service, and are happy to know that you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms and the abundant breakfast buffet. And yes, we agree with you that our convenient location to campus is ideal for visitors to the university. Should your travels bring you back to Durham, we’d be honored to welcome you!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are in to modern as my husband and I are, this isn't your place. With that said, the hotel is superb in all other aspects. The staff is great, friendly and courteous. My only other criticism is that the bed spread had a big stain, but nobody touches that anyways, right? We were upgraded to a suite, so I can't really complain about the room. The restaurants and bars were good with great beer and food options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennylin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jennylin4,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Inn! While our old English country inn décor did not suit your fancy, we are pleased to hear that your stay was superb and you enjoyed the Southern hospitality offered by our wonderful staff. We do apologize for the oversight by housekeeping and will be sure to address the team appropriately. Again, thank you for your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We’d be honored to welcome you back soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I graduated from Duke in 2012 and every time I come back for recruiting, I always stay at the WaDuke. Not only does it remind me of my time as a grad student, the food is great and the room decor is so southern! Enjoy a round of golf or just sit on the patio with a drink and watch the golfers on the putting green. The staff is so accommodating. On this particular trip, I took the red eye in from CA and they were able to get me into a room at 6:30am for a quick nap and shower before needing to be on campus at 8:30.

It's less than a 5 minute walk to the Fuqua School of Business or the Law/Policy school. It's about 10-15 if you need to get to Cameron Indoor stadium/campus student center.

I've stayed at the Millennium (don't! just don't. there was a shooting there while i was in school) and the Marriott downtown (they offer free valet for single women because they don't want female guests walking from the parking lot back to the hotel at night). If you really don't want to spend the money but need to be on campus consider the Dave Thomas Center or the new hotel they just opened by Station Nine apartments). But really, you should just stay at the WaDuke, enjoy the southern hospitality and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scstar2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear scstar2000,

We are honored to be such a fond memory of your time at Duke and to be your home away from home during your travels to the area. Our staff prides itself on guest-focused service, and it is great hear that we were able meet your needs and accommodate your early arrival. We appreciate your high praise of our beautiful golf course views, culinary delights of our dining venues, the Southern stylings of our guest rooms and our close proximity to Duke University. Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Washington Duke is a spectacular hotel with friendly Southern Charm and excellent service. The rooms are clean and well appointed with a nice desk and chair plus lounge chair. I have stayed at the hotel a number of times and the service and rooms are always nice. The chef is very good in the dining room and the Bull Durham Bar. The reception area is lovely with a large arrangement of flowers. If you go down the hall to the meeting rooms, there are interesting items of historical interest from the Duke family. Definitely the place to stay in Durham!

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel have lovely views--the golf course or love gardens in front of hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeCe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear CeCe E,

We greatly appreciate the excellent review of your recent stay at the Inn! We are excited to welcome back return guests and are delighted that you have chosen us as the place to stay when visiting Durham. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff and your guest room, as well as the Fairview Dining Room and the Bull Durham Bar. The Inn’s décor complimented by Duke Family memorabilia truly makes this a unique place for guests to explore, and we are glad you had the opportunity to do so. We hope your next stay with us is just as pleasant as your last!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was given a stay at this hotel and dinner for two for my birthday by my son. He has friends and colleagues that work at the Conference Center of the Inn. We arrived to check in and found that our room had been upgraded to a suite. The room was lovely, and very elegant. Everything in the room was immaculate. The staff at the hotel was very professional but also friendly and welcoming. We went out to look around the Duke campus, and came back very hot and sweaty, only to find an ice cold bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries for my birthday. Our dinner for two was terrific. All the food was expertly made and quite delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in the Durham area. If you want to be well taken care of and pampered, stay here! If your company wants to plan a meeting or conference, do it here, they handle all the little things as well as the big things!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in a "Jr Suite" with a view of the golf course. We never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Kathryn A,

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful birthday getaway at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It is wonderful to know that every aspect of your stay was superb. We are so happy you enjoyed the comfort of your suite, your dinner in the Fairview Dining Room and the strawberries and champagne that greeted you upon your return from campus. It was an honor to make this special visit even more memorable for you. Thank you for the stellar recommendation. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.3 mi away
JB Duke Hotel
JB Duke Hotel
#27 of 71 in Durham
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#21 of 71 in Durham
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
2.6 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £136 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing