We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and interesting property in Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Right across from the Duke University Campus and stuffed with memorabilia from the Duke family this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. First rate rooms, furnishings and food with a magnificent golf course. The prices (at least in the Summer!) were very reasonable. To star prices for a four star hotel. It's an easy walk to the famous Duke University Chapel and the hotel is right on a lovely three mile nature trail fro running or hiking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Ian M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! You mentioned several of the wonderful features and amenities of our property. We are thrilled you had a wonderful visit and were able to explore and enjoy our beautiful hotel. Whether business or pleasure brings you back to Durham, we hope your visit includes the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here in connection with a meeting at Duke... a great location for anything having to do with Duke. Excellent facilities, a staff eager to please, good tap selections at the bar, and the feel of an old-world establishment altho the facility is only 25 years old.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Middkiddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Middkiddad,

We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff accommodating and that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Our location just on the edge of Duke’s campus makes us an ideal location for university related activities and events. And there’s no better way to end the day than with a cold beverage in the Bull Durham Bar! We’re proud to offer our guests the very best in local brews. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

No complaints. Everything at this excellent hotel is perfect. Great service. Great rooms. Absolutely ideal. You won't find anything better than the Washington Duke Inn. Beautiful grounds. Wonderful rooms. Excellent food and beverage. Everything is top notch. If you expect the best, stay here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank FunTravelingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear FunTravelingAround,

We are so very pleased and humbled by your review! Our team works extremely hard to provide the very best service to our guests, and it is evident that you had a wonderful experience and were truly delighted during your stay. From the accommodations to the dining and amenities, we are glad your stay was “perfect”. Thank you again for the fantastic review. We can’t wait for your return to the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Washington Duke Inn beckons you to "sit and stay awhile." Filled with Southern charm amidst its beautifully-appointed decor and outside garden spaces, this hotel has everything that the discriminating traveler both needs and wants. Rooms are spacious and elegant. Dining facilities are top notch. The greens are manicured to perfection, and one can only hope to get a seat overlooking them, iced tea in hand, to appreciate fully the stunning setting in which you will find yourself. MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Request a room nearest the pool and gym. A wonderful retreat!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beautyhuggeranonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Beautyhuggeranonymous,

What a lovely review! We are so pleased that you were able to experience Southern hospitality at its best at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! Your comments about the hotel’s décor, your guestroom, our dining options and beautiful golf course views let us know you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel. When you need to get away from the hectic paces of life, please know that we are ready to welcome you back!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is right across the street from Duke University. It offers great accommodations, delicious food at the Fairview Restaurant, and a taste of history. There are pictures and vintage wardrobe from the Duke Family's past. We enjoy the walking trail around the hotel and the picturesque views of the golf course. We also enjoy going to the hotel bar, where the school spirit is evident. The staff is very attentive and professional. Overall, a wonderful place to stay in Durham.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear mamcid,

Thank you for choosing the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club during your visit to Durham. We’re delighted you enjoyed your guest accommodations, the Fairview Dining Room, our stunning golf course view and found our staff to be helpful. The history that adorns the walls of the Inn truly enhances our hotel and we love when our guests have an opportunity to explore and learn more about the Duke family. It’s wonderful to know that you had such a wonderful stay and were able to enjoy our lovely property. We do very much hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for a regional baseball tournament. Although there were no washers/dryers on location (they do have laundry service and there were several very good laundromats nearby), that was the only "negative." The staff were friendly, professional and always helpful. The room was clean and quiet and the two double beds were very comfortable so we slept well every night. There is a nice indoor pool and smallish gym but I forewent the gym in favor of the Adam Buehler trail - a 3.1 mile paved trail (packed dirt at some locations) which I ran each and every day. Less than one minute from the front door of the hotel. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tabringit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear tabringit9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club with the TripAdvisor community! We are so happy you had such a wonderful stay with us. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring that each guest has a spectacular stay and we are thrilled we were able to meet your needs. We’re pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, the dining options and our location as well as the Al Buehler Trail. It truly is a wonderful amenity and one that many guests are fond of. We greatly appreciate your complimentary review and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely old hotel. Staff was very good and helpful. The food and drink were fabulous. Love the crab cakes, banana walnut pancakes and the wonderful margarita cheesecake!!! Beautiful area. Close to the University.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolyn352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear carolyn352,

It’s wonderful to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It’s our passion to delight each of our guests and we are thrilled you experienced that. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our fabulous dining options. Our culinary team is absolutely the best and the cuisine is out of this world! Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We can’t wait to welcome you back to enjoy our beautiful hotel and (of course) the delicious dishes of the Fairview Dining Room!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
308 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
282 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £139 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing