We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service is what you will remember after you leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The service is what you will remember after you leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at the Washington Duke for a conference. Since i live less than an hour away I've never had to desire to check it out before. Its amazing. While the hotel looks like most other upscale places the services remind you that you are in a nice location. The walls of the hotel are decorated by Duke family memorabilia, There golf course is out behind the Bull Durham bar so you can sit on the patio and look out. Service details are everywhere, from doorman ready with umbrellas to get you to your car, waiters who will bring your drinks to you outside when you started inside but didn't say a word, to the staff that when you walk by them looking lost will direct point you int he right direction or even walk with you and chat about the Duke family.

The room itself was large there was no tub but the shower was very large and had a small seat. rooms included bathrobes and an umbrella to use if needed during your stay there was also a Keurig machine in the room.

I did not dine in the restaurant themselves, but I did have food off the menus. good but not overly amazing. I would argue that was the one area that the hotel was lacking. It was not bad food just I know where to get better locally.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotTheCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear NotTheCar,

We often hear that our staff and service is what makes the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club such a special place, and we are happy to know that you were able to experience that firsthand during your conference stay. We’re delighted that you enjoyed Inn’s décor, golf course views, in-room amenities and high level of service, but we do apologize that the menu items you selected were not to your satisfaction. We strive to exceed every guests expectations and regret this aspect did not meet your standards. Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. The feedback is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    129
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
234
116
39
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

After spending 8 hours in the car driving to Durham from Florida, this hotel was a comfortable and convenient landing space while retrieving our daughter from summer camp at Duke. We actually spent our entire full day in Durham lounging at the hotel -- the bed and all the pillows and the nice shower and good food -- didn't really need to leave the property. Just had a very relaxing stay before having to make the drive back to Florida the following day. This will be our go-to stop whenever our travels take us to Durham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Christine F,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We’re so happy to have been a relaxing retreat for you after many hours of traveling from Florida. To know that we were able to meet all of your needs and there was no need to leave the property is a lovely compliment. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future visits to Durham and the Inn!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely property, outstanding golf course. Rooms are beautiful. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is excellent. The hotel is owned by Duke University and is right across the street from the campus. The Doris duke Gardens which are a short walk or a free hotel shuttle ride away are stunning. Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Irene B,

Your five star review means so much to us and truly validates our commitment to stellar service. Your praise of our guest rooms, dining options and convenience to the area’s amenities lets us know that you enjoyed your stay immensely. Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted your time with us was memorable and we hope you will visit the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club again soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Attended a wedding function with this as the destination hotel last weekend. Large group and except for the slowness in the bar for food due to volume, it was almost perfect. Help is great at all levels highly recommend Angelo in the bar a true professional.

From the bellman to the housekeeping staff no detail is overlooked. If your in the RDU area it is a must stay. Duke University quality in all respects including the Golf course.

Room Tip: get a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milespert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Milespert,

We’re so happy to know that you had an excellent experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! Guests often comment about the high level of service provided by our staff…its one compliment that we never get tired of hearing! It is our mission to ensure that all guests have a phenomenal stay. Thank you for your kind remarks about Angelo. He’s a remarkable team member and we’re excited to share this with him. We do apologize for your wait time in the bar. We try our very best to serve guests quickly and efficiently. We greatly appreciate your review and look forward to your return to the Inn!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Enjoyed the classic, resort, traditional style hotel during a visit to Duke Univ. Took in the area restaurants so didn't partake of the food, but staff was very pleasant and accommodating without being stuffy. Great dining suggestions and directions from the concierge. Comfy beds, good housekeeping but a tad off mark with maintenance (shower handle fell off when adjusting, and black areas around caulking on tub).

Room Tip: Ask to be near the end of the hall for best views - otherwise you're blocked by trees if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCWDMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear SCWDMIA,

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and we truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and found our staff and concierge to be accommodating and friendly. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered in your bathroom. We will be sure to address this with our engineering team. Again, thank you for your review. We hope you will consider staying with us during your next visit to Durham!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June while dropping my son off at Duke Basketball Camp. The hotel is across the street from the Duke campus and about a 15 minute walk to Cameron Indoor Stadium. My room was an average-sized king room, but it was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable with crisp linens, and I took advantage of the nightly turndown service. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. I did not visit the restaurant or bar. Overall, it is a fine hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDawgs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear GoDawgs11,

Thank you for your gracious comments about the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We’re pleased that you found our location convenient to campus, your guestroom to be comfortable and clean, and our staff to be friendly, attentive and helpful during your stay. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Was here for a conference in July. The property looks terrific and the hotel was comfortable and convenient. The staff were all helpful. The food in the bar was good, but a little expensive. Overall a great hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justlogical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear justlogical,

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your conference and your stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! It’s wonderful to know that you found our staff helpful and our hotel comfortable and convenient. The Bull Durham Bar offers a unique dining experience and we’re happy you enjoyed the food. Thank you for sharing your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 70 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#35 of 70 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.6 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd., Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing