We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,547 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,172 helpful votes
“beautiful inn”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a severe storm come through Durham and lost power. Instead of staying in a house with no a/c we checked into the Washington Duke Inn because we are only a few miles from there. I was a little uncomfortable at first because the place is fancy. I'm a laid back hippie type so I really felt out of place but he people couldn't have been nicer. Our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear cheryl h,

Thank you for selecting the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club as your home away from home during the recent inclement weather we experienced in Durham. We are thrilled that you found our hotel beautiful and your guestroom clean and comfortable. Every guest is a VIP in our eyes and we are delighted that you enjoyed our welcoming environment. We hope that you plan to visit us again soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    138
    47
    17
    13
See reviews for
258
128
41
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

As with all of my reviews, this review is solely based on a business trip perspective.

Wifi - not only free but is the best wifi service I have ever experienced. Fast and does not cut out.

AC- room AC rocks!

Great food at the bar as well.

All around great experience here on my quick 2 day trip.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear James M,

We are happy to have been your host during your quick business trip to the area and are thrilled that your stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club was great. We appreciate your comments about our free and fast WiFi, the air conditioning in your room and the food in the Bull Durham Bar. We couldn’t be more pleased with your five star review and we welcome the opportunity to host you again!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Every time we get to Durham / Chapel Hill we try to stay at this hotel. We stayed again this month, and were not disappointed. Amazing charm, amazing service. Great food and rooms. Lots to do for the kids and adults. Since we were there in the summer, the prices were reasonable-- actually pretty inexpensive for the service and room quality.

Room Tip: We always stay in the family suite-- a king bed in one room, a desk in a middle area, and bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseballmom60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Baseballmom60763,

What an honor it is to be noted as your favorite hotel! We can’t thank you enough for the stellar review. From the service to the food and guestrooms, we are thrilled that your stay was everything you expected and more. Thank you for sharing your room tip. Our family suites truly are the perfect accommodation for guests traveling with children. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Wa Duke is a very formal hotel and welcoming hotel. The staff is very helpful and the rooms large and nicely appointed. My room looked unto the rolling green golf course and the property is beautiful. I highly recommend going for a walk or run in the early morning. It is a great start to the day! The hotel restaurant serves a pretty good meal as well, Room service is not bad either. I really enjoyed this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookeburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Brookeburke,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We are pleased you felt welcomed by our staff and enjoyed the golf course views from your guestroom as well as the Inn’s dining options. We look forward to your return to experience Southern hospitality at its best!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed overnight while attending a conference. The room was clean and comfortable, but the pillows soft so you need a bunch if you are used to a firmer pillow. The bathroom was very spacious and clean which is always nice when traveling. We ate at the Bull Durham restaurant for lunch. We didn't have a lot of time to eat and our waiter worked hard to get us our meals quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripGal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear TripGal25,

We are so happy to know that your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club was a pleasant one. We’re delighted to hear that you received wonderful service in the Bull Durham Bar and found the guestrooms and bathrooms to be comfortable. We do apologize that the pillows were not to your liking. Upon your return, do not hesitate to contact us to ensure that a firmer, more suitable pillow is available for you – we are happy to meet any need or request! Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn again soon!

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel was nice. Valet staff was extremely friendly, always wishing you a great day in the mornings. Hotel staff was friendly as well, always asking if we needed assistance or directions. You can valet or self park, we self parked and never had any problems. It was nice being across from Duke University, a lot of places to explore on campus.
The hotel room was nice. I loved that it had a separate work area with a desk and comfy chair, made my work a lot easier. The beds were comfy, if a little small. Our bed sheets were dirty so we left them our for housekeeping to change.
The bathroom was nice and spacious, plenty of room for our things. The closet was a nice size, too.
Indoor pool was lukewarm at best, but a nice size with plenty of chairs to sit in both inside and outdoors. Bathroom was poolside, which was very convenient. Fitness room was excellent - loved the variety of machines and availability of amenities like towels, headphones and water.
Locker room was very roomy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krv448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDukeInn, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear krv448,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are thrilled you experienced the warm, Southern hospitality from our staff and found our location on the Duke University campus to be convenient. While we are happy you enjoyed many of our guestroom and property amenities, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your bed linens. We greatly appreciate your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I made a reservation here before attending a function at Duke and originally received a preferred rate. When confirming the reservation prior to my arrival, I received the third degree on why I was getting a preferred rate. After about 6 pointed questions as to the purpose of my visit, I refused to be questioned any longer and was rudely told that I would have to pay a higher rate (only about $20 more). But after the rude treatment, I decided on principle I did not want to pursue it further. I was shocked that a potential paying customer could be treated that way by a reservationist. I will visit Durham and Chapel Hill often in the future, but I will not call the Washington Duke Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaDuke, Director of Special Services at Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Ben H,

I am disappointed to hear of your recent experience with our reservations department. This is not up to our standards of hospitality and it is not how we like to leave our guests feeling. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak personally with you to apologize and to rectify this situation. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Anna Marie Lawson
Director of Special Services
919-313-2180
alawson@wdigc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
2.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
2.7 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
264 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club

Property: Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Address: 3001 Cameron Blvd, Durham, NC 27705-1059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, on the campus of Duke University and just minutes from Research Triangle Park, downtown Durham and Raleigh/Durham International Airport, is one of North Carolina's most celebrated hotels. The Inn, known for its luxury facilities, internationally recognized service, excellent cuisine and banquet facilities, stands among the tall Carolina pines, overlooking the Duke Univeristy Golf Course. Join us for business or pleasure, and experience a true Carolina treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Duke Inn And Golf Club Hotel Durham
Washington Duke Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing