We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left without staying the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon and the hotel looked fine, but in a sketchy area. Both of our rooms smelled like smoke (we requested no smoking rooms) but they were nicely furnished - with a small fridge and a microwave. For $44 we were pleased. We went to dinner and to visit some friends. When we came back at 11 pm the hotel, there were numerous people whooping and hollering in the upper outside hallway. Several of the women were in bras. There was a policeman sitting in his police car and we asked him if this was normal and he said "it happens" We asked if there had ever been a shooting there - and he said "it happens" We packed up and left. Later we talked to our friends who lives in Durham and they said that is known as a dangerous hotel. Don't try it - it's not worth the low price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill-Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 119 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2008

It's not anything special, the beds aren't great, and the towels are kind of scratchy. However, it was clean, easy to find, a good price, and the people who were running the place were very friendly, from the night manager to the security guard at night and the women at the desk in the morning. I've stayed in great places and horrible places all over the world, and this is one of the best cheap hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jcsk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a room for the price of $44 a night. This hotel is in a great location, not far from restaurant row. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank henrocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Booked on the redroof.com site, because I needed something close to the airport for an early morning flight and did not want to pay $100 plus for a room. The hotel is only 5 miles down the interstate from RDU and borders RTP, so the location was perfect. The rooms are new and are a big step forward from what they once were. The business king room for $62 was a great deal. The outside of the hotel looks about the same, but the rooms are all new and very clean. If you don't need the breakfast and don't want to pay $100 for similar rooms, I strongly recommend trying the Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gharrisrtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2006

We wanted a motel not to far from RDU that was easy to find and inexpensive. The Red Roof was about 15 minutes along Interstate 40. On booking in the receptionist immediately brewed some fresh coffee and was helpful with information on where to get an evening meal. The room was perfectly adequate for the price we paid ($40.) The next morning the staff were very friendly and helpful and gave directions where we could get a good breakfast and where we should visit.

A little tired but very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Negra1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
6.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chapel Hill
8.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 55
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn RTP
Comfort Inn RTP
#52 of 71 in Durham
100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Durham - Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park

Address: 4405 Highway 55, Durham, NC 27713
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £41 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Durham Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Durham
Durham Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing