We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly Peaceful, clean and pleasant accommodation. A real Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hargate Hall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazingly Peaceful, clean and pleasant accommodation. A real Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after a last minute booking during the Easter 2012 holidays. This place is great and just what we needed. Our apartment was on the 1st floor with great views. If you want a quiet get away from it all break, then look no further. The apartments are of a very high standard and have everything you need. Just bring your clothes and toiletries.
We are a couple with no kids, but there is a small outdoor play area and indoor play room if you are travelling with children.
The owners are very pleasant and on hand if you need them. Accommodation is great if you are planning a family get together. Would definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nubique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

On arriving at the venue on a friday late afternoon, the apartments and hall were freezing cold as the heaters aren't left on for when guests arrive. The electricity is metered requiring endless pound coins as we tried to heat the rooms up, so I suppose this is the reason.
The decor of the hall may well be a work in progress but presents the appearance of a youth hostel rather than wedding venue.
Our apartment slept 8 - we had booked a room with friends as a 4 expecting to share a bathroom and maybe a bedroom - in fact we stayed in the ironically named Sandringham and shared a single bathroom (one toilet but we were lucky enough to have a second shower cubicle installed in one of the 4 person bedrooms!) between us. With 4 girls to get ready for a wedding this is far from adequate.
Our bedroom slept 4 (one double and a bunkbed) was damp and the single porthole window was of no assistance.
Our party utilised the majority of the hall's accommodation and our sleeping arrangements were not the worst - beds on the mezzanines were simply matresses ontop of surfaces. One of these beds had a small arch over it c.3feet about the surface of the matress which one our party likened to being in an MRI scanner!
The main wedding function was held in a marquee in the grounds, this was great for our size of function (c.100 people) once the heating was under control.
Unfortunately we were moved inside for the firdt dance and the remainder of the evening. The "main hall" was the entrance hall to the building and although possessing original features wasn't particularly grand and wasn't large enough for our number. Also, the bar was housed in the porch! Most astoundingly, all party guests were expected to use the toilets in our apartments which we had paid a not inconsiderable amount for. No additional sanitary arrangements were available. We locked our apartment and gave the key to our tallest member as they would always be visible in the small room. We were led to believe there was one communal toilet but this was locked.
In summary, I wouldn't class this as a wedding location. It would make a great youth hostel or base for outdoor pursuits, but had very little "wow" factor. Disappointing

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeD956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Going to Hargate for the third time soon, enjoyed every trip here. House is charming in an 'oldie worldy' kinda way with lots of original features. Great for going with kids who love to explore and the grounds are great too. Perfect in winter if theres snow for sledging before warming up infront a open fire with a glass of wine and a few board games. Rooms are clean and adequate but fairly basic (less to worry about when holidaying with family etc). No pubs or restaurants close by but great location for touring-can recommend the cable car in Matlock Bath and sampling the original Bakewell tart.
As for the lack of tv channels and broadband, personally I come on holiday to get away from all that so no bones there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspicklebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

My daughter’s wedding was a very special occasion and Hargate Hall was the perfect setting in which to celebrate it We arrived on 9th December 2011 on a very snowy Friday night to a warm, welcoming fire roaring away in the Hall!! Some of our party had got stuck in the snow and Tony, the owner, promptly went out to collect them. That was just one the many helpful things he did over our three day stay there. Hargate Hall is an amazing place full of character and a perfect backdrop for the wedding ceremony. Before I go any further I must apologise for the overuse of words like ‘wonderful’, ‘amazing’, ‘stunning’ etc, all words that convey my opinion of Hargate Hall and the owner and staff! Our Apartment ‘Bakewell, was warm without feeding too many £1 coins in the meter, the beds were very comfortable, the lounge area more than adequate for our relaxing in, the conservatory, although cold! was so nice in which to prepare our breakfast and cuppas! We were able to make Hargate Hall our home for the duration of our stay whilst knowing that Tony was always there if we needed any help.
The day of the wedding ceremony was just as perfect as it could be, Tony was there discreetly offering support and help in the order of things such as propping open of doors for the Brides entrance, - he was a calming, supportive, presence in a stressful situation!! (Thank you Tony!) That evening, we celebrated the wedding until the early hours of the morning without the worry of transport home – just meander over to our apartment! Definitely a positive! Sunday, the day after the ceremony was spent relaxing and chatting in front of the wood burning stove in the Hall, I loved that time, catching up with friends and family news. Monday morning was spent just tidying up – having a nice chat with Brian the ‘coalman’ – lovely man! Leaving was sad but we are hoping to have another ‘family get-together’ in the future at Hargate Hall!!
To summarise, I would definitely recommend Hargate Hall as a wedding venue or to share any family celebration!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is our second trip to hargate. Last year there was snow but none this year unfortunately. Hargate Hall is fabulous for large groups or individual apartments. There were about 70 of us and because each apartment has it's own living room it didn't feel too crowded. The bits and bobs that need doing in each apartment only add to the charm of the place, after all it's not a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had a lovely stay in Hargate Hall for our friends' wedding weekend. The ceremony was held in the hall itself, with the bride entering down the impressive staircase and the reception was in a surprisingly warm and inviting marquee in the grounds.
The apartment we stayed in was more than adequate, with plenty of hot water and a modern kitchen (nicer than the one we have at home!) The electricity meter didn't cost more than a few pounds and we had a scuttle full of coal included in the room price, which we made use of to keep cosy on the Sunday night.
The owners were great- there if we needed them but not interfering in any way.
All in all, we had a lovely stay in Hargate Hall and would definitely return to explore more of the beautiful countryside which surrounds it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

The hall is packed with atmosphere whilst staying free of things we'd worry about the kids harming. Rooms have a charm that weve got used to over the 22 years weve been coming - initially as students on a budget making use of every sofabed and every mezzanine, now augmented by loads of kids with bikes, balls and the various detritus that accompanies them, and using more rooms and more space. Yes, it all needs a bit if an update, there are repairs needed here and & there, (& what a task Anthony & family have taken on!) but it's not meant to be a five star hotel, but a functional, friendly and fun escape into some marvellous countryside. Grounds are excellent to let the kids have a bit of controlled feral time - & they love it. And so we love it too!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paindoc412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
3.5 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 18 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Property: Hargate Hall
Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing