We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful hideaway in great surroundings,”
Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hargate Hall
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We both loved our stay here so much we booked another night, we wanted a peaceful uninterrupted break and that's exactly what we got, the owners met us on arrival and answered any questions that we asked, the surroundings were beautiful, Hargate Hall was beautiful. Would highly recommend just remember to stock up on food and drink.
Lisa and Tommy

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We threw a party for friends and family this weekend. It was absolutely perfect for our needs, all 77 adults and kids loved the venue - be it day time water pistol fights in the garden or night time music in the hall. I lost count of the number of people asking when we'll book the venue again for another party. That's the best compliment a venue can get.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tyler303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We got married at Hargate Hall on 28 April 2012, and wanted to write a quick post to describe our experiences and also to give a different perspective from a few of the comments written by the reviewer of the wedding earlier that month (MikeD956).

Hiring Hargate Hall for your wedding is like hiring a big country house for a weekend which you can do whatever you like with - picking our own decorations; getting our own beer barrels, champagne and wine (without paying corkage!); choosing our own suppliers and running our own evening buffet to keep costs down; flexible owners who are generally quite relaxed about how we used the space to make it our own; and also not having to turn the music off at a specific time in the main Hall (we partied until 3am!). However if you want a slick wedding where you can choose from various venue-provided options with everything organised for you, then this isn't the venue for you.

You should choose Hargate Hall if you want to make your wedding completely unique, be able to run it completely how you want over a whole weekend (Friday to Monday) and to have a lot of your guests staying onsite. For us it meant more effort, but a lot more reward too, which was echoed by many of our guests - many of who said it was one of the best weddings they'd been too. It's also a great venue if you have lots of children at the wedding - with ample space for a bouncy castle, for running around and with lots of toys available too.

Anthony and Julie (the owners) were very helpful in giving us the names of some excellent suppliers and were very quick to respond to email requests for information. They are in the process of upgrading the Hall's accomodation at the moment, so some of the apartments are still a bit rough round the edges, but for us this just added to the Hall's charms (and meant it wasn't too expensive to hire). Log fires in all of the rooms meant we didn't need to put too many pound coins in the meters, and the main fire in the Hall kept things very warm on the Sunday so that we felt cosy, even though the weather was a bit rubbish (felt like Boxing Day - relaxing and eating cheese the day after the big party!).

We had around 130 guests in total - so more than MikeD956 mentioned in his review - and used the main hall to have a ceilidh and then a disco. For us though there was ample space for everyone as we had arranged for two of the apartments' sitting rooms to be opened up to be used as seating areas for guests. We'd pre-arranged this with our guests so it was fine, as was people using their bathrooms, and it was no problem to have the bar in the room off the Hall as this was easily accessible for guests (though you could easily set up a bar outside in a gazebo if you'd prefer). People could also hang out in a separate games room which had a pool table and table football, though it didn't have any heating.

Anyway, to finish up, this is a great venue for creating a really unique and special wedding and we would definitely recommend it! We had the best weekend of our lives.

Room Tip: Balmoral apartment has the best shower and has been recently redecorated, so would be a good one to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after a last minute booking during the Easter 2012 holidays. This place is great and just what we needed. Our apartment was on the 1st floor with great views. If you want a quiet get away from it all break, then look no further. The apartments are of a very high standard and have everything you need. Just bring your clothes and toiletries.
We are a couple with no kids, but there is a small outdoor play area and indoor play room if you are travelling with children.
The owners are very pleasant and on hand if you need them. Accommodation is great if you are planning a family get together. Would definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nubique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

On arriving at the venue on a friday late afternoon, the apartments and hall were freezing cold as the heaters aren't left on for when guests arrive. The electricity is metered requiring endless pound coins as we tried to heat the rooms up, so I suppose this is the reason.
The decor of the hall may well be a work in progress but presents the appearance of a youth hostel rather than wedding venue.
Our apartment slept 8 - we had booked a room with friends as a 4 expecting to share a bathroom and maybe a bedroom - in fact we stayed in the ironically named Sandringham and shared a single bathroom (one toilet but we were lucky enough to have a second shower cubicle installed in one of the 4 person bedrooms!) between us. With 4 girls to get ready for a wedding this is far from adequate.
Our bedroom slept 4 (one double and a bunkbed) was damp and the single porthole window was of no assistance.
Our party utilised the majority of the hall's accommodation and our sleeping arrangements were not the worst - beds on the mezzanines were simply matresses ontop of surfaces. One of these beds had a small arch over it c.3feet about the surface of the matress which one our party likened to being in an MRI scanner!
The main wedding function was held in a marquee in the grounds, this was great for our size of function (c.100 people) once the heating was under control.
Unfortunately we were moved inside for the firdt dance and the remainder of the evening. The "main hall" was the entrance hall to the building and although possessing original features wasn't particularly grand and wasn't large enough for our number. Also, the bar was housed in the porch! Most astoundingly, all party guests were expected to use the toilets in our apartments which we had paid a not inconsiderable amount for. No additional sanitary arrangements were available. We locked our apartment and gave the key to our tallest member as they would always be visible in the small room. We were led to believe there was one communal toilet but this was locked.
In summary, I wouldn't class this as a wedding location. It would make a great youth hostel or base for outdoor pursuits, but had very little "wow" factor. Disappointing

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeD956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Going to Hargate for the third time soon, enjoyed every trip here. House is charming in an 'oldie worldy' kinda way with lots of original features. Great for going with kids who love to explore and the grounds are great too. Perfect in winter if theres snow for sledging before warming up infront a open fire with a glass of wine and a few board games. Rooms are clean and adequate but fairly basic (less to worry about when holidaying with family etc). No pubs or restaurants close by but great location for touring-can recommend the cable car in Matlock Bath and sampling the original Bakewell tart.
As for the lack of tv channels and broadband, personally I come on holiday to get away from all that so no bones there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspicklebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My daughter’s wedding was a very special occasion and Hargate Hall was the perfect setting in which to celebrate it We arrived on 9th December 2011 on a very snowy Friday night to a warm, welcoming fire roaring away in the Hall!! Some of our party had got stuck in the snow and Tony, the owner, promptly went out to collect them. That was just one the many helpful things he did over our three day stay there. Hargate Hall is an amazing place full of character and a perfect backdrop for the wedding ceremony. Before I go any further I must apologise for the overuse of words like ‘wonderful’, ‘amazing’, ‘stunning’ etc, all words that convey my opinion of Hargate Hall and the owner and staff! Our Apartment ‘Bakewell, was warm without feeding too many £1 coins in the meter, the beds were very comfortable, the lounge area more than adequate for our relaxing in, the conservatory, although cold! was so nice in which to prepare our breakfast and cuppas! We were able to make Hargate Hall our home for the duration of our stay whilst knowing that Tony was always there if we needed any help.
The day of the wedding ceremony was just as perfect as it could be, Tony was there discreetly offering support and help in the order of things such as propping open of doors for the Brides entrance, - he was a calming, supportive, presence in a stressful situation!! (Thank you Tony!) That evening, we celebrated the wedding until the early hours of the morning without the worry of transport home – just meander over to our apartment! Definitely a positive! Sunday, the day after the ceremony was spent relaxing and chatting in front of the wood burning stove in the Hall, I loved that time, catching up with friends and family news. Monday morning was spent just tidying up – having a nice chat with Brian the ‘coalman’ – lovely man! Leaving was sad but we are hoping to have another ‘family get-together’ in the future at Hargate Hall!!
To summarise, I would definitely recommend Hargate Hall as a wedding venue or to share any family celebration!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,934 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range: £67 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing