We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding with a difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hargate Hall
Derby,
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wedding with a difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here Friday 5th - Sunday 7th October 2012 for our friends wedding. It was a great DIY venue and the guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves.
We liked the idea of no pretentious hotel staff or check-out deadlines.
The self catering apartments were not plush but well equipped with everything you may need. The addition of the coal fire was lovely! The bed was comfortable and the linen clean.
Adults and children alike enjoyed themselves and we partied until the early hours. The hall was ideal for an intimate no frills wedding and great for a good boogie later on! The owners were on hand if need be and very friendly which was nice.
I think you have to go here for a wedding with a open mind. It is not 5* by any stretch of the imagination but for a good priced DIY wedding venue, its perfect. We have attended over 17 weddings in the past 4 years (phew!) from castles in Scotland, to 4* Sorrento to £35k (Yes £35k!!!!!) weddings, 5* Cedar Grand York.....I can honestly say that we had so much fun at Hargate Hall!

Take it for what it is and blooming well enjoy it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyLass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was a very unique wedding to the ones I have attended recently - Grays Court, York and the Vineyard, Jersey. I can see why a young couple would like this venue as the place must reflect on the prices charged and the location was superb although I do think the gardens around the grounds could have been more well tendered for wedding photos i.e. the grass hadn't even been cut where the bride and groom wanted to have their photos taken. It was really good if you were a resident in one of the apartments but for anyone not a resident and staying away from Hargate Hall was a bit of a nightmare.

Firstly no public toilet at the venue other than down the path, over the bridge and in the building at the end! This path didn't seem to be lit when it turned dark - perhaps you could issue your wedding party guests with a torch! Fortunately we did not have to take this treck as guests staying in the Hall were kind enough to allow us to use their toilets but I found this very embarrasing and an intrusion.

The reception was held in a large marquee which was lovely but instead of holding the evening function in there we were asked to move up to the Hall which was no more than a room with a large fireplace, two settees and a dining table and six chairs. There were approx 80 guests at this wedding and we were packed in like sardines. There was no provision for a bar and
the "disco" was set up on the landing to the upstairs apartments.

I feel the owners of Hargate Hall are trying to supply a service but without the minimal facilities for wedding functions - ie a male and female toilet and a bar, to say the least.

Having said all that the bride and groom looked blissfully happy and no doubt enjoyed themselves tremendously but I feel that is what the owners are depending on! There are far more excellent venues in Derbyshire but, no doubt, at a price.

Room Tip: All apartments looked acceptable for a visit to the Buxton area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hargateh, Owner at Hargate Hall, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We aren't and don't want to be Hotel, particularly one where Brides and Grooms are told what they can and can't have at their wedding and how they should do things. This should mean that the end result will be what the Bride and Groom want, which may not necessarily be what all guests are used to. For example you say that we haven't got a bar. A full pay bar can be provided if desired, but 95% of couples prefer to be able to set their own bar up and let people help themselves to what they have provided. This helps keeps costs down substantially which is probably why so many people opt for it. Many guests also bring their own alcohol for the rest of the weekend as well.

Discos, bands and general entertainment are all be set up in a way that the Bride and Groom see fit. We will step in if we think that something clearly doesn't work well or might pose a risk to guests or the building, but otherwise we let them do what they want - that is why so many people book here.

There are 2 communal toilets. 1 in the games room and 1 on the upstairs landing (there was a short period when this was closed for refurbishment). There is lighting along the path to the games room, but a bulb had blown and tripped the breaker in the fuse box. All that was needed was to reset it - as a general comment, if something doesn't work please just tell us. We can normally fix things immediately as could have been done in this case.

Regarding the number of people at the wedding, in the few weeks running up to this review all the weddings had between 120 and 150 people rather than 80. As the numbers go up, yes indeed the Main Hall gets very full if everybody is in there together. Again we go through this with the bride and groom and suggest that the living areas of 2 apartments are opened up to act as additional communal space which effectively doubles the floor area.

We are obviously delighted that you said the Bride and Groom were blissfully happy - it was after all their wedding weekend.

We publish as much information as we can on our website so that everybody can clearly see what we are about, and how we operate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

we stayed Monday to thursday in the 2 bedroomed apartment 'Tissington', the apartment is ready for a refurb, but everything was lovely and clean and very homely, owners were lovely and the hall is stunning, the grounds are beautiful and the surrounding countryside is fabulous, we used here as a base to travel around the Peak District and some of Derbyshire. Situated about a 5 minute drive from Buxton and 15 minutes from Bakewell. I had a bit of creepy experience, so not sure if the place is known to be haunted or not, didn't get much sleep as a result of that! Still a lovely stay, thank you!

Room Tip: Apartment great for families lots of room, this apartment had lots of windows so lots of light in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rks0pwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We got married at Hargate Hall in August 2012 and we could not have asked for more. We didn't want hotel-style service and corkage-fees, we wanted to do our wedding our way in an incredible place. Anthony and Julie were really helpful and have loads of advice on who to bring in. A tip is to tell your guests that they get a great weekend and everyone has to do a bit of chair carrying but for us, that was perfect.

We will write a longer review later but thanks for making our wedding so wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polemicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Hargate Hall, one of our favourite places to be! We got married here in April 2011 and had the most perfect weekend along with 70 of our familiy and friends who were able to stay with us in the well catered large apartments. Full of character with beautiful grounds in a wonderful Peak District location, Hargate Hall provided us with the opportuity to have exactly the wedding we wanted. The friendly owners were on hand to help whilst giving us the freedom to make our own choices. We had a wonderful time.

We've also holidayed twice at Hargate - most recently in July 2012 - and had a fantastic time with our eight year old and one year old sons. A perfect place for a family holiday.

Thank you Hargate, we highly recommend you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having booked the place for a June '11 wedding, we were looking forward to a return visit just over a year later. We know and love the place well, so all I can say about that is have a look at the website, make sure you know that the place is quirky and unique, and not your bog standard hotel rooms, and then when you get there you'll love the unusual layout of each apartment like we do.
This time around it was myself, my wife, three kids aged 9 (girl), 11 (boy), and 12 (girl), and baby girl.

Amenities.
Since our wedding here last year there have been a few improvements, most notably new big screen telly's and free Wi-Fi (for those of us who couldn't leave our laptops behind). The electricity is on a pay-as-you-go system where pound coins are used in a meter. In all we spent about £7 on electricity for the entire weekend, and as we had one of the downstairs apartments, with the bedrooms below ground, we needed to heat the bedrooms for our baby. You could save even more by following some common sense rules like keeping the room doors shut.
The beds were comfy, the kids loved their rooms and kept swapping each night, the sofas great for slouching on and just the entire concept of having a massive spacious apartment to yourself is such a great feeling.

What There Is To Do.
We went Friday to Monday on the weekend of the Olympics opening ceremony, and our main worry was that we wouldn't find anything to do. The last time we came we had a wedding weekend full of activities and family, but this weekend it was just us. Our worry was quickly abated when we found the rack of leaflets in the entrance, and we spent little time at the hall. We spent time at Gulliver’s Kingdom, the gorgeous town of Matlock Bath (a lovely front which is like the seaside without the sea) tried the awesomely greasy tart in Bakewell, as well as spent some time on the Hargate Hall grounds burning meat to a crisp on one of the covered BBQ's.
There's loads of room to play and let the dogs run, the grounds are huge, and the wooded part is a nice adventure playground for the kids, and as the area is somewhat secluded, you can feel confident that they're safe out there. The kids loved Gulliver's, though why anybody would want to build a theme park on the side of a mountain is beyond me. The place wasn’t quite Alton Towers, but the queues were almost non-existent and the biggest roller coaster there was straight on. The food wasn’t TOO expensive, but it was the kind of food that doesn’t in any way fill you up.
In Matlock Bath there was some kind of motor biker event that weekend and there were hundreds of hairy bikers. That said, they might have looked intimidating, but everyone was very friendly and the place had a nice atmosphere. The parking was kind of a nightmare, but one you’re stopped you can make the most of the place. I noticed there were a few chocolate shops on the main road, all of which looked gorgeous; I found out that they were actually pretty poor quality I would compare to cooking chocolate. After we had had our fill of the rubbish stuff, we bought gifts at the last chocolate shop before the train station where we’d parked. This is the shop which has the two full size chocolate skulls which are about £50 each. Man alive I wish we’d gone there first. The chocolate was absolutely gorgeous and we ended up eating all the gifts we bought.
I've been told by guests and internet reviews that there are great trails for walking or peddling, but I wouldn't know anything about that as I'm bone idle.
One thing I will say is that because of the remote location, if you aren't into walking or cycling, then the places to see are best viewed by car, it's a long way to the nearby towns.

Would I Go Back?
Damn right I would. Next time I think we’ll go for something a little different. We’ll go without the kids, just take the dogs and a boot full of books and spend the weekend lazing the time away reading on that gorgeous lawn in a continuous picnic.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We both loved our stay here so much we booked another night, we wanted a peaceful uninterrupted break and that's exactly what we got, the owners met us on arrival and answered any questions that we asked, the surroundings were beautiful, Hargate Hall was beautiful. Would highly recommend just remember to stock up on food and drink.
Lisa and Tommy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
3.5 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 18 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Property: Hargate Hall
Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing