We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely restful weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hargate Hall
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely restful weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We made this booking back in July last year, through a Groupon deal & stayed Fri 1st & Sat 2nd February. I always check out places before booking anywhere & everything said about this place was spot on. The Hall is a lovely old building with magnificent features. The self-catering apartments are very spacious, well equipped & clean. Once we got the coal fire going it was very cosy (the rest of the heating is by an electric radiators, 1 in the bedroom & one in the lounge - these are quite adequate even for the weather that we experienced whilst we were there, it was freezing outside) The heating, lighting & oven, hob etc is operated by an electricity meter. We put in approx £10 for the weekend we were there, so that wasn't too bad, I did think it would be more & had taken plenty of £1 coins just incase. I do hope they have another offer on, because it was nice to feel like 'Lady of the Manor' (Hall) for a bargain price.

Room Tip: Sorry I'm not telling you which room we stayed in, I don't want it to get booked up!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLynn1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed when the ground was covered in snow. Think we were the only people staying at the time.
The photos on the website don't do the place justice. The apartment was very spacious and well equipped - just what you need for a few days away.
It's within easy reach of Buxton and Bakewell but you do need to have a car to get about.
Beautiful grounds and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beerpig75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Spent the weekend here with snow everywhere! A bit of a mission in a taxi from the train station, but our driver was "Derbyshire born and bred, and I've done this before duck!"

Lovely things:
A beautiful building with a real sense of history.
Very friendly owner who made an effort to make us feel welcome, showed us how to use everything, and gave us a complimentary late check out so we could avoid the worst of the snow.
Spacious apartments. We had Castleton.
A lovely coal fire.
Fully fitted kitchen.
Beautiful grounds, big enough to have a potter about.
The meter for the lights and heating wasn't too expensive, and we managed to keep warm.

Not so great:
The turret room in Castleton stayed chilly, but it was unusually cold weather!
The decor is quite worn and mismatched - hopefully you'll find it adds to the charm, but don't go if you want a boutique hotel.
If you don't have a car, it's quite a walk to get anywhere. We'd hoped to have a pub lunch at some point. Although in better weather we could have explored further.

All in all a lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hargateh, Owner at Hargate Hall, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for your feedback. The taxi drivers around here are great and most of them put snow tyres on in the winter - pretty well essential !

You mentioned the turret room being chilly. Yes it was particularly cold when you were here and the turret room has 4 outside walls making it harder to keep warm. We are working on plans to install a better heating system, but in the mean, for any other guests just let us know if you want more heat, and we can lend an additional heater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

we travelled to hargate in november as two couples through groupon we absolutely adored the totally chilling atmosphere owners were wonderful and very helpful and informative surroundings gorgeous just sooo perfect want to go back def worth the 2 hour drive from south shields tyne and wear

Room Tip: loved the sandringham room very spacious but cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We were back again for our annual Xmas party, all 65 of us, we had a great time but no snow again!!!

Hargate hall is such a vast and amazing place, the apartments are wonderful and have everything you could need.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We booked a two-night weekend stay through GroupOn.
We drove up on a Friday evening right at the end on November. Our GPS system took us to within 500 yards of the place, but we still took some time to locate it !!. One of the attractions of the Hall is that it is in the "back of beyond", but there are no direction signs until you are right in front of the gate. Also, there is no reception area, and very little to indicate you are in the right place. We did call the owners, but repeatedly got an "engaged" tone. They later apologised. Anyway - we found our way in, and found our 1 bedroom apartment on the first floor.
All electricity, including the radiators is powered by a meter taking £1 coins. This seemed alarming at first, but worked out OK. There is also a coal fire, with plenty of coal for a weekend. Outside temperature when we were there was well below freezing, but the heating managed OK.
Our apartment could take 4 people - and so was plenty big enough for 2. Any kids would sleep on a mezzanine reached by climbing a ladder from the main bedroom. The en-suite bathroom had just been refitted, and everything worked perfectly. The lounge/kitchen was well equipped with stuff for cooking (oven, hob, microwave, no dishwasher, plenty of crockery & utensils). Also two comfy settees, a TV, DVD player and a radio.
The "Welcome Hamper" was a bit disappointing, consisting of a pint bottle of milk, and some sachets of tea & coffee. But we had taken plenty of provisions, so no problem !!
This is an excellent location for walking in the Peaks, but there are no shops/restaurants/pubs within easy strolling distance in winter. We drove out to the "Devonshire" at Peak Forest, and had an excellent meal.
All in all, the experience was"OK". The Hall is certainly not a Luxury venue, nor would it be particularly good value without a decent discount. But it is in a great location, and gives a chance to stay in an interesting old building.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights (19th-20th October) planning our wedding, which is at the hall next April. We stayed in the Chatsworth apartment which had loads of space for just the two of us. It was great to find milk in the fridge and lovely biscuits waiting for us on the side. We didn't use the coal that was there, the radiators made it cosey enough. We cooked a few meals and found everything we needed in the kitchen, including butter dish.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
9.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Property: Hargate Hall
Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing