We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break.”
Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hargate Hall
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Break.”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Arrived here Monday 13th with my husband, stayed in the Bakewell apartment which is on the ground floor. The apartment is true to the photos on the website. There was a king size bed and bathroom in the basement which are down a staircase of the living room, a double and bathroom on the ground floor and kitchen in the conseritory, which had everything you would need. More beds up ladder in living room. We found it very cosy, a home from home. If any problems just phoned the number left and someone was there in mins to sort it out. Lovely comfy bed, very quite, other apartments in use but we never heard any noise. Handy for many places to visit in the Peaks, which we loved. Would go back again and bring family to enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    24
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NOrthern Lights
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

A group of us hired Hargate hall for my hen do in April and it was amazing!! Excellent facilities, extremely clean and well equipped apartments. We love it that much that we are going next year for a reunion!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H00ligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Well equipped apartments, great location, friendly & helpful owner. Lovely quiet retreat, perfect for families with kids & dogs. Coin operated electricity not madly expensive and apartments stay warm. Our kids loved the loft beds. Really good option for several families wanting to be stay at the same location but have your own space! Will definitely go back...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flup-pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We made this booking back in July last year, through a Groupon deal & stayed Fri 1st & Sat 2nd February. I always check out places before booking anywhere & everything said about this place was spot on. The Hall is a lovely old building with magnificent features. The self-catering apartments are very spacious, well equipped & clean. Once we got the coal fire going it was very cosy (the rest of the heating is by an electric radiators, 1 in the bedroom & one in the lounge - these are quite adequate even for the weather that we experienced whilst we were there, it was freezing outside) The heating, lighting & oven, hob etc is operated by an electricity meter. We put in approx £10 for the weekend we were there, so that wasn't too bad, I did think it would be more & had taken plenty of £1 coins just incase. I do hope they have another offer on, because it was nice to feel like 'Lady of the Manor' (Hall) for a bargain price.

Room Tip: Sorry I'm not telling you which room we stayed in, I don't want it to get booked up!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyLynn1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed when the ground was covered in snow. Think we were the only people staying at the time.
The photos on the website don't do the place justice. The apartment was very spacious and well equipped - just what you need for a few days away.
It's within easy reach of Buxton and Bakewell but you do need to have a car to get about.
Beautiful grounds and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beerpig75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Spent the weekend here with snow everywhere! A bit of a mission in a taxi from the train station, but our driver was "Derbyshire born and bred, and I've done this before duck!"

Lovely things:
A beautiful building with a real sense of history.
Very friendly owner who made an effort to make us feel welcome, showed us how to use everything, and gave us a complimentary late check out so we could avoid the worst of the snow.
Spacious apartments. We had Castleton.
A lovely coal fire.
Fully fitted kitchen.
Beautiful grounds, big enough to have a potter about.
The meter for the lights and heating wasn't too expensive, and we managed to keep warm.

Not so great:
The turret room in Castleton stayed chilly, but it was unusually cold weather!
The decor is quite worn and mismatched - hopefully you'll find it adds to the charm, but don't go if you want a boutique hotel.
If you don't have a car, it's quite a walk to get anywhere. We'd hoped to have a pub lunch at some point. Although in better weather we could have explored further.

All in all a lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hargateh, Owner at Hargate Hall, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks for your feedback. The taxi drivers around here are great and most of them put snow tyres on in the winter - pretty well essential !

You mentioned the turret room being chilly. Yes it was particularly cold when you were here and the turret room has 4 outside walls making it harder to keep warm. We are working on plans to install a better heating system, but in the mean, for any other guests just let us know if you want more heat, and we can lend an additional heater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

we travelled to hargate in november as two couples through groupon we absolutely adored the totally chilling atmosphere owners were wonderful and very helpful and informative surroundings gorgeous just sooo perfect want to go back def worth the 2 hour drive from south shields tyne and wear

Room Tip: loved the sandringham room very spacious but cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
3.5 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#3 of 19 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Property: Hargate Hall
Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing