We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a family vacation”
Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hargate Hall
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a family vacation”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Hargate Hall in the month of March 2014 and stayed at their Windsor suite for two nights. It was big and spacious and could easily accommodate three small families. The best part was the huge living room that had a kitchen attached to it. In the basement, there were three bedrooms that had normal as well as dormitory style beds. The Windsor suite can easily accommodate around 10 guests. We were only five so didn't require to use one bedroom at all. The bathroom were neat but there were no towels. Barring a kid, who showed us how to use the electricity meter, we didn't get to see anyone else. So service, that ways, was a bit disappointing. Other than that, we had a perfect stay.

Hargate Hall reminds me of the bygone era. The building itself is close to 150 year old and has a piece of history associated with it. As read, it was also used as a place to nurse the injuries of the soldiers of world war. The suites have a fire place too and the owners provide the coal and wood to get the fire going. The electricity meter is quite dated and runs only with one pound coin inserted into it (photo attached). To keep the meter running the whole night, one must insert at least 10 coins. This was the most irritating factor of our stay when we ran short of coins on the first night and the heaters stopped working. On the second night, we kept ample change with us to keep it going for the whole night.

Overall a beautiful place to stay with your family and friends, especially when you are in search of a laid back holiday, far from the crowd, into the countryside. This was my first trip to England and I would definitely recommend Hargate Hall to anyone traveling towards Buxton. A repeat visit for me, of course!

Room Tip: Choose the Windsor suite if you're traveling with a big family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_determined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    25
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
38
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times now and cannot recommend it enough. Its a beautiful building with great rooms which are really clean and homely. The rooms have everything you need and the beds are really comfy. We hired out the whole hall and Anthony was fantasitic and so friendly.
The grounds are beautiful and we managed a couple of nice walks over the course of the weekend. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanchia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbots bromley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked to stop for two nights and the place is wonderful, beautiful grounds great location for peace and quiet, Anthony the owner couldn't do enough for us. We will be coming here again but for an extra night. We stayed in the Welbeck one bed apartment, it is fully equipped and very spacious, I love the big bathroom. He showed us around the rest of the accommodation, they are all wonderful in there own way. Hope you have a loverly stay Gill and Darren x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex.UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was a great find! Such a lovely place with a really lovely welcoming owner. The upgraded apartments show real promise for the rest of the building and it will be lovely when they are all of the same high standards. Stylish bedrooms and good quality beds and linens. Very well equipped generally. A great location close to lots of tourist hot spots. Looking forward to a return visit sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upgraded apartments, some are still in need of doing and although still very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stay at the hall each year and take over the whole place. The accommodation is vast and yes imparts is tired and needs some tic but it's a big place and Anthony is a one man band, please give him time. It must also cost a fortune for the upkeep never mind the ongoing maintenance!

We had a smashing time and are already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodieh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We visited recently for a few days away. The man who showed us round was very helpful and friendly. Good value for money and a beautiful location. A bit of a drive to Buxton etc but we had a car and enjoyed the trip so that was fine. The place is spotless. Very pleasant accommodation and grounds, we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsRDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just back from 18th annual stay at Hargate Hall. Fantastic place to stay - great for walking but also just for getting together. Love the newly refurbished Eyam. Bathroom is amazing. Great job Anthony and Julie. See you next year!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trishnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,709 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
195 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
389 reviews
9.2 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Property: Hargate Hall
Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing