We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, interesting building and great hosts”
Review of Hargate Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hargate Hall
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Ran group holiday for Norfolk Gingerbread group, lone parents. We took over 4 apartments for 32 of us. The house as a whole is lovely old building full of character, and set in acres of space. The kids loved the freedom to run about.

The price was very reasonable, and by filling the apartments meant bargin holiday. Very homely comfortable feeling, the couple running it were on holiday but on their return very helpful.

The play barn was great assest and the kids loved it, we also made use of the BBQ area which was good too.

Brilliant location for trips out.

The rooms had everything you'd need home from home, and although not 5* was extremely family friendly.

Would agree with one members comment that recycling bins in the apartment would be great help, but otherwise myself and majority of group had no grumbles at all for an affordable, enjoyable and welcoming venue for holiday. Many thanks and we plan to return this year again.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkgingerbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hargate Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 95 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

Owners on holiday when we arrived; front door not locked at night, faults not remedied by caretakers as requested (eg our back door had no key and remained unlocked all 5 days, one loo seat slid about and several bulbs were missing or failed.

We went as a group but eight of us were put in the Bakewell Apartment which has one very small double bed upstairs. In the living area there is a mezzanine on which 4 mattresses were placed. Two adults and two kids were supposed to sleep here but two gave up and shared a campbed of their own when eczma and asthma problems arose due to the dust up there. It was also very claustrophobic and talk about "lumbago walk" - had to crawl everywhere!

No open fire here and unbelievably uncomfortable sofa beds offered just 4 seats.

Bathrooms both small, basic and carpeted with rather grubby carpet. Plenty of hot water though.

Electricity is by a meter but we found £3 lasted us 5 days.

The basement was grim - there is one tiny bedroom which had to be shared with a baby in a cot whose breathing problems noticeably worsened - the basement smelt musty and damp. Lighting is very poor as it is a basement and a door opened into the communal laundry room!

No dishwasher, microwave in a low cupboard and both this and the cooker were hard to work out how to use. Cooker needs replacing as it is badly chipped. Very cold, even in August.

Grounds and exterior seemed quite nice but a good tidy round would help, e.g. lots of cardboard and bits of wood lying around.

Play area (inc. ball pit) in the garden was damp too I was told but I didn't use it.

Owners should embrace recycling - providing convenient bins/boxes for guests to use rather than just leaving us to throw all in a black sack. Spare keys would also help as we had just one between us all (not that it really mattered when the back door was unlocked!)

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank NorfolkHotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Firstly it has to be said that this is not a hotel, but an old country house split into holiday apartments.

I booked 3 nights in the Ashbourne Apartment for my mates stag weekend. When we arrived we were the only guests so we were upgraded to the larger Windsor Apartment. This was really comfortable and had all mod cons including dishwasher, telly and DVD player. The three beds and 2 bathrooms downstairs were very cosy and clean.

The house is set in 7 acres and has a kids room and play area too.

Anthony, the owner, is a great chap and was very helpful whenever called upon.

I would really love to return with my girlfriend soon as there is lots to explore in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenistoneJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle zijn rustige appartementen. Wij zaten in Chatsworth, prima kamer alleen geen uitzicht vanuit de...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marique2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wormhill
4.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,813 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hargate Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hargate Hall

Address: Wormhill, Buxton SK17 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton > Wormhill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wormhill
Price Range: £66 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hargate Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just five minutes from the centre of famous Buxton, this Victorian country house offers self catering apartments for 2 to 10 people with free Wi-Fi and open fires. Built in 1899 as a gentleman’s residence, Hargate Hall is set in seven acres of parkland near Buxton in the centre of the Peak District National Park. Converted to apartments in 1990, it now offers fully furnished and well equipped accommodation for a relaxing break.Apartments vary in size, from one bedroom to three bedrooms; however all contain modern conveniences such as flat-screen televisions, DVD players, digital channels and free Wi-Fi, to ensure a comfortable, home-from-home feel. Some rooms boast mezzanine style floors, ideal for older children. Apartments also feature fully equipped kitchens, giving you the freedom to either prepare your own meals or enjoy one of the many dining options found in Buxton. Well maintained decor and tasteful furnishings provide a relaxing space in which to unwind after a full day enjoying all of the area’s attractions. The heating in the apartments is operated by a pound coin meter which guests can use.Being in the heart of the beautiful Peak District National Park, Hargate Hall offers a fantastic location to for a break of any duration. The Peak District was the first National Park to be established in England and is now the most visited in Britain. Dotted with picturesque villages and scenes of natural beauty, it is a vastly popular location for both the new and seasoned visitor. A wealth of activities and pursuits ensure there is something for everyone, ranging from mountain biking, caving, rock climbing and hang gliding to summer fetes, antiques shopping and visits to the area many historical houses and attractions. Chatsworth House, one of England’s most grandiose stately homes, is located a short distance away, with its stunning architecture, impressive art collection and scenic grounds. The nearby village of Castleton boasts 4 grand caverns, including the Blue John Cavern, named after the attractive variety of Fluoride found only in the immediate region.Founded by Romans and originally named Aquae Arnemetiae, Buxton has a long history as a spa town with its geothermal spring rising at a constant temperature of 28c. The popular tourist attraction of St Ann’s Well, a shrine to St Ann since medieval times, allows visitors to bottle limestone filtered water piped directly from the spring. The town also offers many sites of historical interest and of course the stunning architecture for which it is famed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hargate Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing