We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain's Quarters Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Edenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed Memorial Weekend and it was a wonderful experience. This bed and breakfast was cozy, clean, and some of the most wonderful food we have ever tasted. Don and Diane are great host. The town was quaint and peaceful. Our room had a big bathroom with a tub I loved. We will be returning!
Jody and Lisa

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

A two night stay at this B&B included a morning "class" on how to prepare a southern BBQ, followed by an evening dinner where we ate the smoked ribs that we had prepared earlier in our class. Our room, number 8, was dark, walls of dark wood paneling. Other rooms appeared well appointed, bright and cheerful. The innkeepers were very gracious, helpful, and made us feel "at home". A very relaxing place to stay....however, I would choose a different room next time around...Edenton is an awesome area, too,

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have now stayed at Captain's Quarters Inn several times this spring. This is a gorgeous home in an ideal Edenton location (walking distance to the main street with shops, movies and the sound). Don and Diane are lovely hosts who prepare the most scrumptious breakfasts (using local veggies and often home made/cured/smoked sausage and bbq). Their wine collection, featuring many CA vintages, is superb (and lovely to sip on the large porch with a book or chat with fellow travelers). Their local knowledge of the area a real plus for folks new to the area. Rooms are spacious, impeccably decorated and affordable. I look forward to many more visits!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayak001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I spent 1 nigth with my wife at the Captain's Quarters Inn. The Inn is a nice independent house in a quite area just a few blocks from Edenton main downtown street.
Car park is available for guests behind the house.
The Inn has a small garden, a veranda, a hospitable sitting room, a reception area and a room for breakfasts.
The owners are nice persons, willing to give helpful information about the town and the region.
We had a room at the ground floor, it was wide, clean and confortable, with all services and amenities just like a good hotel.
The day of the check out we had to leave very early in the morning, before the time of the breakfast. The owners were very kind in providing us a complete breakfast even if the time was very early.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Papx-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We went to Edenton with two other couples to take Don's BBQ course. It was a lot of fun. There were five sets of people participating. The size of the kitchen required that there be two sessions. Therefore, being prompt was key. Each couple got to choose the makeup of their rub. At dinner, we got to sample all five and decide upon the one we liked best. It was a "blind" sample. We didn't know which was which until Don told us. The "lessons" on smoking, trimming and preparing ribs were short, sweet and informative. This gave us ample time to explore Edenton.

In this regard, the Inn is perfectly situated. Once we parked, we were able to walk everywhere. The Inn itself is a beautiful old home. It is well maintained, clean and comfortable. Don was very accommodating and helped us arrange a sail on the Albemarle Sound.

Edenton is a gem, the people are wonderful. Three days there, with two nights at the Captain's Quarters is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAMES H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

2 night stay nicer than expected. Don seemed a little curt at first but as time went on we all warmed up and embraced our differences, us being true Southerners, he being a Bostonian who lived many years in northern Ca.
The Inn has 8 bedrooms, but one of the fun things we enjoy with B&Bs is the opportunity to meet all kind of people.
Our stay included cookies & lemonade in the afternoon, wine @ BBQ sauce tasting in the evening for the 1st night. Loved the pumpkin pancakes & fresh sausage for breakfast. After breakfast Don gave us a BBQ rib rub & smoking class. Loved learning some of his BBQ competition secrets. Dinner that night allowed each person to taste each couples rib creation. Now that was fun. Then Don gave us all movie passes.
The time at the inn was lovely, lots of books, magazines, games, etc. which was good for our very rainy trip.
2nd breakfast also very good.
Don & Dianne great chefs. Although not a Southern warm & fuzzy, we
embarrassed our differences and enjoyed our time
Rooms and inn VERY clean.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank pmurray1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was the first time that my husband and I stayed at a B&B. I was way more excited than he was. There was a Living Social deal for their BBQ University. We decided to take advantage and are so happy that we did. Don was wonderful! He patiently talked us through the BBQ process, answering many questions from the other men in our group. We did a BBQ sauce tasting the first night with riblets. The second day after a wonderful breakfast we rubbed our own ribs, and then for dinner that night we ate the ribs plus baked beans, cole slaw and corn bread. The room was quiet and clean!! even if we don't return to Edenton (we saw it all), Don and Diane showed us tht B&B's are a wonderful way to vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenton
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
423 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 3 in Plymouth
85 reviews
0 mi away
The Granville Queen Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inner Banks Inn
Inner Banks Inn
#2 of 8 in Edenton
364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Athol Plantation
Athol Plantation
#6 of 8 in Edenton
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Inn

Address: 202 W Queen St, Edenton, NC 27932-1840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Edenton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Edenton
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing