We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain's Quarters Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Edenton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were here for the "Rib U" experience. It was well worth it. Don is a great host and an excellent instructor. I learned a lot about the basics of smoking ribs, doing the preparation and most importantly, eating a rib dinner with wine and all the trimmings. I learned a lot, all the ribs prepared by the 3 couples in attendance were tasty and fall off the bone good. Interestingly, the wood for smoking is obtained from a crab apple tree in the front yard. This is local sourcing! The accommodations are spacious and clean. Breakfast each day was incredibly good. A byproduct of making the ribs the night before was Don made fresh smoked sausage from the rib trimmings which was delicious. This was served with breakfast as well as roasted fresh tomatoes from the front yard garden. We need a sausage making school now :) We will return

Room Tip: We chose the corner quilt room which has windows on 2 walls since it's a corner. It's very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank qwerty103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are looking at getting away to a nice quiet place that just oozes history, then Edenton NC is it. And the best place to stay is the Captain's Quarters Inn. Each of the rooms in this nautical themed B&B are both comfortable and cozy. and just about everything you may want to do is within easy walking distance in town or a short drive away. Or you can just enjoy a quiet evening on the large porch. Don't miss out on owner Bob's "Rib University" where he'll pass on some of his award winning rib secrets for you to use and then enjoy for dinner. Each of the rooms in this nautical themed B&B are both comfortable and cozy.

Room Tip: Any one of the rooms is great, but I enjoy the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were a group of four couples from SC and VA playing golf and drinking wine. And we could not have found a better place to stay. Each room was different and well appointed. We spent the better part of our waking hours on the very comfortable front porch and Don and Diana were also kind enough to let us bring munchies and wine into the parlor which was very comfortable and elegant at the same time. We were lucky to have 3 breakfasts there and each day couldn't believe how the breakfast was better than the day before. The smoked bacon was extraordinary. One nite they prepared a 3 course dinner for us with wine and every course was unique and delicious. It is definitely a place to which we will return - hopefully soon.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Captain's Quarters in late June. 2014 and graduated from "Rib U". Don is a great instructor who was eager to share his knowledge. The ribs we and two other couples prepared under Don's guidance were excellent. Changed my whole approach to making ribs!
Accommodations were clean and comfortable and included all necessary amenities.
The breakfasts were delicious and imaginative. All loved Diane's oatmeal pancakes.
Gracious hosts who make you feel at home. Enjoyed Don's sense of humor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had wanted to go to Edenton, the third oldest city in North Carolina. We found a groupon for a two day stay that included "BBQ college". The host is an excellent teacher and we were amazed at the wonderful taste of our ribs. I recommend the "college" visit to anyone interested in learning how to cook ribs.

Room Tip: Go to the website and select your room from the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great accommodations, clean and comfortable. The Rib University is only surpassed by the taste of the ribs you learn to cook. Best I've ever eaten, bar none. He really, really knows what he is talking about and has the trophies to prove it. The breakfast meals were outstanding and the homemade sausage is the best I've had. You can't buy anything like it at the store for sure. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet and the inn is only a short walk to the historic downtown. There was also wi-fi available and a great front porch to enjoy the summer breeze and chat with new friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Absolutely Fantastic. Package that included BBQ Class by owner (a top in his field) proved to be fun and informative. The best ribs we've ever eaten (and I am a picky meat eater) and sooo much food. The service was A+ from the moment we arrived. My husband is still raving and wants to go back (saying a lot when the guys LOVE a B&B!) Hats off to Don and Diane for giving my hubby a perfect 70th birthday gift. Lots of good food (meat!) and a happy hubby for me. I must also mention that even though the temp was pushing 100 outside, the inn and our room stayed very cool. That takes some doing in older restored homes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunsterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenton
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
410 reviews
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 3 in Plymouth
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Granville Queen Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inner Banks Inn
Inner Banks Inn
#2 of 8 in Edenton
354 reviews
4.4 mi away
Athol Plantation
Athol Plantation
#6 of 8 in Edenton
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Inn

Address: 202 W Queen St, Edenton, NC 27932-1840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Edenton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Edenton
Price Range: £82 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing