We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older style Hampton but well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Older style Hampton but well maintained”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I never know what to expect when staying at the older style Hamptons. There is one in Vermont that is older and need to be remodeled. This property has been remodeled and and is very clean and as a result highly recommended. It is about an hour from Kitty Hawk and an hour from Virginia Beach. The breakfast is typical Hampton Inn which is sufficient for most people.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    100
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
157
92
24
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mableton, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Rooms are spacious with the awesome Hilton beds! Managers banquet on Tuesday and Wednesday was super nice...especially after a long day at work. The warm cookies were also a nice touch. Everyone was very service oriented and always greeted you with a smile. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbdickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property! It was our please to have you visiting with us and we would like to invite you back next time you are in the area!!

Thanks again!

"We Love Having You Here!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Julie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I have been the unlucky guy that has been charged for 2 bed covers for a surcharge of 420,00 US $. I have discovered that on my Visa bill few weeks after my stay. The general manager has decided that I had stolen them, nothing else to discuss.

Hampton Inn Corporate is telling that they are not able to do anything because each hotel is independant.
At check out time, all door were opened for free access (I have check out at 11:30)...
Seriously, read the comment from others and you will see that the management is not customer oriented, and use strange way to boost their revenues. Do not trust the price...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank paquet_fecteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
It is our policy for housekeepers to report any items that are missing from the room after a guest checks out. Also, it is another policy of ours that if no one is in the room, the room door is to remain shut and secure. We employee very honest housekeepers and we never have problems with any employee taking things from rooms. We have investigated this matter with each staff member present that day and found that no one had entered the room between the time that this guest checked out and the time that housekeeping went in to clean. Also, we have offered to refund the $420 to this guest once the bed covers are returned in an acceptable condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
199 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

One person working the desk at 4:45pm and I had to wait to check-in. I got my room key and went up to find someone in "my" room! An apologetic desk clerk quickly reassigned me. I did receive a courtesy call later asking if my room was OK. King room was large with a kitchen area, nice lounge chair and a desk. Bathroom was full size and clean. Internet was good. A/C worked very well. Breakfast was improved since the last time I was at this property. Pool was very clean. This is probably the most expensive chain hotel in Elizabeth City so not much of a value. This hotel is not downtown near the water, it is on a busy road full of chain store shopping and eating. The Fairfield Inn is quite a bit further out of town if that is important to you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay last weekend at The Hampton Inn in Elizabeth City. We were very fortunate to get an Executive Room with a Jacuzzi and a small sink/fridge & a dining table. The TV was a flat screen with plenty of stations (got to see all the college football games I wanted to see). The room was clean with a King Size bed. The Free Continental Breakfast was above average with fruit salads and fresh fruit. Elizabeth City is a delightful place where people are very hospitable and a great place for the boaters to dock. The lobby was spacious and the free-internet was great both at the computer in the lobby and the wireless connection in the room. Elizabeth City is also a great location for a day trip to the Outer Bank and to explore the Dismal Swamp. We played golf at the Pines and had a very enjoyable round. The Pines also has an excellent practice area with a driving range and a practice green for chipping and sand shots. I highly recommend the Hampton Inn and you're sure to enjoy Elizabeth City.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollisCross621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This is a decent Hampton Inn and suited our needs of a place to stay after a very long day of driving. I think it looks like they have tried to cosmetically update the hotel but it really needs a more thorough update. I wish our bathroom was a bit cleaner (the tub was questionable). The staff was very friendly - particularly Susan, the breakfast lady. The key for breakfast in general for Hampton Inn's is to remember that you get what you pay for - a "free" breakfast is not going to be very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton_NYBimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Had a very different experinece than previous reviewers. As of Sept 09 it appears the hotel has received a basic update with new carpets, wall paper, lamps and TVs. Bed was comfy and large. Some aspects seem a bit old, such as key card scanners, but not things that are central to most stays. Room also had a fridge. Hotel staff were friendly and curteous.

We opted for the safe components of the breakfast, cereal, muffins and coffee, but I can understand the previous complaints about the heated items. We tried one and it was below average, but we didn't stay here for the food.

All in all a fine hotel in a small town. One final note, if you're looking to stat close to the Outer Banks, Elizabeth City is about an hour away. Weekend traffic to the OBX can be heavy with renters, so plan on leaving on the early side if you don't want to sit in traffic for a few hours.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polarbear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elizabeth City

Property: Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Address: 402 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Any port in a storm" is an old seaman's saying, but if you're actually caught in a storm, try to make it to the town that surrounds our Hampton Inn® hotel in Elizabeth City. Why? Well, first of all, we're a harbor that offers a huge array of services. You'll find shops, docks, stores, and restaurants all along our waterfront. And second? We're home to the United States Coast Guard. They're just six miles from the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City. While you're in town, make sure to explore our gorgeous neighborhoods. Many boast Greek Revival, antebellum, Italianate, and Victorian homes and businesses. Those who love golf will find championship links within just a few minutes of our hotel in Elizabeth City. Lastly, if you pull into our town by boat, don't be surprised if you're greeted by a friendly welcome party complete with roses. It's a long tradition here in town-started by two private citizens in 1983 and continued by Elizabeth City's "Rose Buddies." It's yet another reason why we think you'll agree that the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City is in the friendliest harbor on the Eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing