We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable rooms, we originally had a double room but were able to get upgraded to a king. It was nice having a fridge and microwave. Woke up to a rainy dreary day but was pleasantly surprised to have some yummy comfort food for breakfast-biscuits and gravy! It was the best Hampton breakfast we've had yet. The staff was extremely friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Talspray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you FrizzSpray for the amazing review of The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. We work hard on ensuring our breakfast is one of the best in the hotel industry. A fun fact is that Hampton Inns are the originators free breakfast so with that being said, our breakfast selections are rather vast and delectable. We are glad you got the upgrade and hope you return to visit us again while in the area of Elizabeth City. Thank you so much and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

First class operation from staff to management - every person at the hotel was welcoming and helpful. My sister and I did a 300+ mile bicycle ride circling the Outer Banks and our start and end was this beautiful hotel. We got great recommendations for meals (Montero's was terrific and 3 Amigo's was amazing food and loads of fun with the Mariachi band!), and as always Hampton Inn provides excellent clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Barbara W. you are stunning! If I could I would write the biggest review of what you ladies do. You all are truly inspiring and we were more than privileged to have you here. We were glad to welcome you back from your trip with open arms, bottles of water and nice pat on the back for a job well done. So thanks for giving us a wonderful review and we hope to see you the next time you peddle through. Take care and best of luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lost power as I checked in due to a tornado touching down on Friday April 25th. Simply amazed at how everyone pitched in to help; offering flashlights, kind, patient words. You could not find a nice group of folks. Sue ran the breakfast Saturday and was warm and friendly; went well beyond the call of duty to make the breakfast special. The beds are great.....I will be back, hopefully when you have power.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We all can't thank you enough rfallan for your kind words and support. We actually had three tornados touch down which led for a power outage for over 7 hours for 5 surrounding towns including ours. Our staff has been trained if anything of this nature was to happen and it paid off huge when it was needed. Your encouraging words has given us a pat on the back and we hope when you come to Elizabeth City you choose our location. But please, don't bring the tornados. :)
Thanks again and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Exceeded my expectations. Staff very friendly and helpful. My wife and I travel a lot. You never know what grade of hotel you are going to encounter. Good value and a good sleep. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you James B for the stellar review of our property and service. We here at the Hampton Inn Elizabeth City embrace our towns motto with is a Harbor of Hospitality. We will do whatever is needed to make sure you enjoy your stay here. Thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great location, excellent service, mid-week managers dinner special is generally excellent. The staff is always friendly, helpful. One of the best Hampton's that I stay at regularly in terms of quality and relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you so much Phillip H for the wonderful review of The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. We love to have you here when you are in Elizabeth City. We always provide our guest with top notch service that is worth the memory of sharing. We are in a prime location in Elizabeth City and a perfect stop before the OBX in the upcoming summer months.

Thanks again Phillip H and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I always seek out Hampton Inns and stay there during my travels for business. Particularly the Hampton Inn at Elizabeth City, North Carolina. I have always had pleasant and the most comfortable stays while visiting the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone driving through to the Outer Banks (located an hour away).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you Rebecca S for writing this stellar review on Trip Advisor about the wonderful Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. We love to hear that you use us for business and for your travel needs out to the Outer Banks. It is a great location for business with amazing local restaurants and bars and a great location for the trip to the Outer Banks. If you are headed that way, stop by our desk and receive the best directions, detailed map of the Outer Banks and great suggestions for dinning.

From all of us here at the Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, we love to have you here and we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Walking in the corridors and smell this freshness was unusual. Most of the times, i don t have any troubles with the hotels we ve chosen. This one was over the top.
Location is good, easy to find. Super nice service, standard room, decent gym and breakfast.
Cons: swimming pool was a mess (still early in the season) and our room was on the main street side, proven to be a little noisy.

My tip: ask for a room on the other side of the hotel.

Conclusion: not the best hampton inn i ve been to, but definitely one with the most courteous staff.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the street
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank so much NicoCT for reviewing The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City on Tripadvisor. We love to see detailed reviews that allows our up coming guests as well as repeaters to be informed. We have address some of the cons that you have posted by getting our pool sand blasted and resurfaced. We really think this will improve the overall pool look and we are very excited.

Again, we thank you for choosing our wonderful Hampton Inn Elizabeth City and we always love to have you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#6 of 9 in Elizabeth City
84 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elizabeth City

Address: 402 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range: £89 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Any port in a storm" is an old seaman's saying, but if you're actually caught in a storm, try to make it to the town that surrounds our Hampton Inn® hotel in Elizabeth City. Why? Well, first of all, we're a harbor that offers a huge array of services. You'll find shops, docks, stores, and restaurants all along our waterfront. And second? We're home to the United States Coast Guard. They're just six miles from the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City. While you're in town, make sure to explore our gorgeous neighborhoods. Many boast Greek Revival, antebellum, Italianate, and Victorian homes and businesses. Those who love golf will find championship links within just a few minutes of our hotel in Elizabeth City. Lastly, if you pull into our town by boat, don't be surprised if you're greeted by a friendly welcome party complete with roses. It's a long tradition here in town-started by two private citizens in 1983 and continued by Elizabeth City's "Rose Buddies." It's yet another reason why we think you'll agree that the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City is in the friendliest harbor on the Eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing