We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I decided to stay here after reading other T/A reviews which were spot on. This is a great, inexpensive hotel for a short stay. We found it to be very clean. The staff are all super friendly and very helpful. I particularly liked the fact that they advertise that they wash the bedspread after each guest so everything on the beds is clean and fresh every time. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was more than a continental breakfast. They have a waffle station, oatmeal station, different kinds of fruit, various cereals with fresh milks, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, a separate hot egg option, bacon or sausage, bagels, english muffins and several juice choices. We were very satisfied for what we got for the price of $86 a night plus tax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MicheleC631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much Michele C for the outstanding review of our property. You nailed all of great things we have going for us. Hampton Inns breakfast is above average on every level. We try to get the best products in and with the recent changes like adding a new scrambled egg, shell on hardboiled eggs and sliced fresh fruit, we are proud to be Hampton. From all of us here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City we want to personally thank you for the review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We love to have you here and come back and see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    109
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
177
99
26
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel staff were great, tornado in the area while I was there, hotel staff provided lights, handled issues quickly in a professional manner. The grounds were clean, breakfast was great. It is a hotel I would recommend. There are many attractions close by, the Wright Memorial and park in Kitty Hawk, the beaches at the Outer Banks, several lighthouse tours within 30-40 miles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
You are great Thomas D for the amazing review on our team here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. All of us have been trained on a great procedure to set us apart when it comes to the uncontrollable items that life throws at us. Being so close to the Outer Banks, we can provide you with maps, attractions and several great eateries along the way to the Outer Banks. From all of us here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, we are glad to hear that you were safe during the storm and if you are ever back in this area please allow us the privilege to serve you again. We love to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable rooms, we originally had a double room but were able to get upgraded to a king. It was nice having a fridge and microwave. Woke up to a rainy dreary day but was pleasantly surprised to have some yummy comfort food for breakfast-biscuits and gravy! It was the best Hampton breakfast we've had yet. The staff was extremely friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Talspray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you FrizzSpray for the amazing review of The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. We work hard on ensuring our breakfast is one of the best in the hotel industry. A fun fact is that Hampton Inns are the originators free breakfast so with that being said, our breakfast selections are rather vast and delectable. We are glad you got the upgrade and hope you return to visit us again while in the area of Elizabeth City. Thank you so much and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

First class operation from staff to management - every person at the hotel was welcoming and helpful. My sister and I did a 300+ mile bicycle ride circling the Outer Banks and our start and end was this beautiful hotel. We got great recommendations for meals (Montero's was terrific and 3 Amigo's was amazing food and loads of fun with the Mariachi band!), and as always Hampton Inn provides excellent clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Barbara W. you are stunning! If I could I would write the biggest review of what you ladies do. You all are truly inspiring and we were more than privileged to have you here. We were glad to welcome you back from your trip with open arms, bottles of water and nice pat on the back for a job well done. So thanks for giving us a wonderful review and we hope to see you the next time you peddle through. Take care and best of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lost power as I checked in due to a tornado touching down on Friday April 25th. Simply amazed at how everyone pitched in to help; offering flashlights, kind, patient words. You could not find a nice group of folks. Sue ran the breakfast Saturday and was warm and friendly; went well beyond the call of duty to make the breakfast special. The beds are great.....I will be back, hopefully when you have power.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We all can't thank you enough rfallan for your kind words and support. We actually had three tornados touch down which led for a power outage for over 7 hours for 5 surrounding towns including ours. Our staff has been trained if anything of this nature was to happen and it paid off huge when it was needed. Your encouraging words has given us a pat on the back and we hope when you come to Elizabeth City you choose our location. But please, don't bring the tornados. :)
Thanks again and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Exceeded my expectations. Staff very friendly and helpful. My wife and I travel a lot. You never know what grade of hotel you are going to encounter. Good value and a good sleep. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you James B for the stellar review of our property and service. We here at the Hampton Inn Elizabeth City embrace our towns motto with is a Harbor of Hospitality. We will do whatever is needed to make sure you enjoy your stay here. Thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great location, excellent service, mid-week managers dinner special is generally excellent. The staff is always friendly, helpful. One of the best Hampton's that I stay at regularly in terms of quality and relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much Phillip H for the wonderful review of The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. We love to have you here when you are in Elizabeth City. We always provide our guest with top notch service that is worth the memory of sharing. We are in a prime location in Elizabeth City and a perfect stop before the OBX in the upcoming summer months.

Thanks again Phillip H and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
83 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
23.8 mi away
Inn at Corolla Light
Inn at Corolla Light
#1 of 2 in Corolla
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elizabeth City

Property: Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Address: 402 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Any port in a storm" is an old seaman's saying, but if you're actually caught in a storm, try to make it to the town that surrounds our Hampton Inn® hotel in Elizabeth City. Why? Well, first of all, we're a harbor that offers a huge array of services. You'll find shops, docks, stores, and restaurants all along our waterfront. And second? We're home to the United States Coast Guard. They're just six miles from the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City. While you're in town, make sure to explore our gorgeous neighborhoods. Many boast Greek Revival, antebellum, Italianate, and Victorian homes and businesses. Those who love golf will find championship links within just a few minutes of our hotel in Elizabeth City. Lastly, if you pull into our town by boat, don't be surprised if you're greeted by a friendly welcome party complete with roses. It's a long tradition here in town-started by two private citizens in 1983 and continued by Elizabeth City's "Rose Buddies." It's yet another reason why we think you'll agree that the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City is in the friendliest harbor on the Eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing