We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This Hampton is a very nice and well run motel. we use it regularly as a stop off on the way to the Outer Banks. One of the best things about it is the almost sumptuous free breakfast - plenty to eat and good variety.

Room Tip: Older guests may prefer the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHOref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you CHOref for the stunning review on our property. We do everything possible to provide a wide selection of food for breakfast. We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much, you shared it on Trip advisor. We take great pride insuring our guest that they made the correct choice when stopping through Elizabeth City. We love to have you here and again thank you CHOref for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    98
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
152
89
24
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Enjoyed the stay, clean room, quiet, pleasant, efficient staff. If you arrive at the hotel and must turn left to enter the parking lot, you must either turn left into the Golden Corral next door, or go to a light that allows "U Turns." Cannot turn left directly into parking lot. Plenty of average, standard fare breakfast and selection rotation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We want to thank you Phillip T for the great review of our wonderful Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. I agree with you Phillip, at times it is a tad bit challenging to turn in or turn left out of the property. I have contacted the city to perhaps create a center lane in order have a decent and better flow exit and entry pattern to our building. However, I am glad that you ranked us very high up and we want you to know that we love to have you here. From all of us, a big thank you and best of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great place to stay in E-City. Friendly and helpful staff, decent free breakfast, good room. We traveled from Alaska and I was hoping the pool was open, but I guess 70s in early May insn't considered summer and pool season like it is for me!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks Erik A for the great review on Tripadvisor. I am glad we were able to accommodate you while on your long travels. I am sorry that to pool was not open during your stay. We have just recently finished a refinish on our pool which it shines as bright. Once our final inspection happens, we should be opened before memorial day weekend! We would like to invite you to come on back and we can reserve and nice, warm section of the pool for you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed and we hope your travels were safe. Thanks again and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
255 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Hampton Inn at 402 Halstead Blvd is easy to get to; however, there is not a left-hand turn lane for you to enter the property and this blvd is a busy thoroughfare, so be careful. The hotel is very clean, close to restaurants, and the staff very nice. One person in particular, Melissa Johnson, was very helpful to us. Due to unforeseen circumstances and weather, we had to change our reservations twice and she was so nice and helpful. She told us about the restaurants and downtown historic district and gave us directions. The maps copied at the hotel are not clear, so it would be nice if they started with a new map and make fresh copies. We enjoyed our stay here and on the second stay, we enjoyed our walk-in shower rather than having to deal with a bathtub-shower combo. Breakfast is typical Hampton Inn style; hot and cold items offered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you travelexplorer27 for the stellar review of our property. Melissa is a ROCKSTAR! She is one of our longest lasting front desk reps. and she will always go above and beyond to ensure your stay is one to remember. I will make sure to share this review with our team and we celebrate the wonderful deeds that Melissa helped you with. She is Hamptonality to a T. So thank you again travelexplorer27 for the wonderful review and shout out and we hope to have you back when you come through Elizabeth City. From all of us, we love to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I decided to stay here after reading other T/A reviews which were spot on. This is a great, inexpensive hotel for a short stay. We found it to be very clean. The staff are all super friendly and very helpful. I particularly liked the fact that they advertise that they wash the bedspread after each guest so everything on the beds is clean and fresh every time. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was more than a continental breakfast. They have a waffle station, oatmeal station, different kinds of fruit, various cereals with fresh milks, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, a separate hot egg option, bacon or sausage, bagels, english muffins and several juice choices. We were very satisfied for what we got for the price of $86 a night plus tax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MicheleC631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much Michele C for the outstanding review of our property. You nailed all of great things we have going for us. Hampton Inns breakfast is above average on every level. We try to get the best products in and with the recent changes like adding a new scrambled egg, shell on hardboiled eggs and sliced fresh fruit, we are proud to be Hampton. From all of us here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City we want to personally thank you for the review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We love to have you here and come back and see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel staff were great, tornado in the area while I was there, hotel staff provided lights, handled issues quickly in a professional manner. The grounds were clean, breakfast was great. It is a hotel I would recommend. There are many attractions close by, the Wright Memorial and park in Kitty Hawk, the beaches at the Outer Banks, several lighthouse tours within 30-40 miles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
You are great Thomas D for the amazing review on our team here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. All of us have been trained on a great procedure to set us apart when it comes to the uncontrollable items that life throws at us. Being so close to the Outer Banks, we can provide you with maps, attractions and several great eateries along the way to the Outer Banks. From all of us here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, we are glad to hear that you were safe during the storm and if you are ever back in this area please allow us the privilege to serve you again. We love to have you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable rooms, we originally had a double room but were able to get upgraded to a king. It was nice having a fridge and microwave. Woke up to a rainy dreary day but was pleasantly surprised to have some yummy comfort food for breakfast-biscuits and gravy! It was the best Hampton breakfast we've had yet. The staff was extremely friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Talspray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you FrizzSpray for the amazing review of The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City. We work hard on ensuring our breakfast is one of the best in the hotel industry. A fun fact is that Hampton Inns are the originators free breakfast so with that being said, our breakfast selections are rather vast and delectable. We are glad you got the upgrade and hope you return to visit us again while in the area of Elizabeth City. Thank you so much and we love to have you here at The Hampton Inn Elizabeth City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Elizabeth City

Property: Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Address: 402 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Any port in a storm" is an old seaman's saying, but if you're actually caught in a storm, try to make it to the town that surrounds our Hampton Inn® hotel in Elizabeth City. Why? Well, first of all, we're a harbor that offers a huge array of services. You'll find shops, docks, stores, and restaurants all along our waterfront. And second? We're home to the United States Coast Guard. They're just six miles from the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City. While you're in town, make sure to explore our gorgeous neighborhoods. Many boast Greek Revival, antebellum, Italianate, and Victorian homes and businesses. Those who love golf will find championship links within just a few minutes of our hotel in Elizabeth City. Lastly, if you pull into our town by boat, don't be surprised if you're greeted by a friendly welcome party complete with roses. It's a long tradition here in town-started by two private citizens in 1983 and continued by Elizabeth City's "Rose Buddies." It's yet another reason why we think you'll agree that the Hampton Inn hotel in Elizabeth City is in the friendliest harbor on the Eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing