We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Place to Stay”

Days Inn Elizabeth City
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Elizabeth City
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This must be one of the most awful hotels I have ever stayed at. The room was dirty, there was a large urine stain on one of the chairs that gave off an unmistakable odour of what it was. Light bulbs burned out, mildew in the bathroom, sticky something on the table, lumpy pillows and what looked like a long blood stain on the wall (but turned out to be paint). The metal stairway up to the second floor is rusting and the floor to my room shook everytime someone came up or down the stairway. The only positive thing I can think of to say is that the sheets and towels were clean. Usually the Days Inn chain of hotels is respectable and a decent place to stay, not this one. Also the legally posted room rate on the door, which is usually some number considerably higher than the rate actually charged, in this case had clearly not been kept current. The posted rate was $30 lower than what I was charged for this room (I took a photo). I believe it is illegal to charge more than the posted rate, but the the front desk person naturally said it had nothing to do with the hotel itself and was a "management issue". The rate card had probably not been updated since the 1970's which is probably when the interior was last updated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Loreen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Brothers D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I was unable to connect to Internet, but did not complain as I had my own hot spot connection with me. Very conveniently located between Norfolk and Kitty Hawk for day trip to the latter. Room was quite clean, staff friendly. Free continental breakfast was adequate and convenient, with a 7/11 adjacent in case you wanted more. Good choice if you don't want to pay hotel higher rates in Kitty Hawk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The hotel seems a little dated. However, the value was what brought me to this motel. Low cost and reasonable accommodation are what will make me come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ferguson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#6 of 9 in Elizabeth City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Elizabeth City

Address: 308 S Hughes Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range: £45 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Elizabeth City 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fully renovated- 2017 renovated with new lvt flooring. New furniture, micro/refrigerator, high speed internet,new tubs, walls redone,free breakfast,24 hr front desk service,electronic doors, security cameras,pets allowed with a small fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing