We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee was horrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Reviewed 13 August 2014

the motel was very clean and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Our only complaint is the coffee machine that brews coffee instantly. It's like having instant coffee! Being coffee drinkers that we are - this just is not a good choice. We much prefer real brewed coffee. Otherwise, the breakfast was very good with lots of choices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lois O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponse_2014, General Manager at Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Lois,

Thank you for completing a review about your recent stay with us at Best Western Plus Inn & Suites in Elizabeth City. I am so pleased that you found our establishment clean, quiet, and comfortable!

I am glad you were able to enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast bar, and I do apologize for your dissatisfaction with the coffee.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, as they are an important part of continuing to improve the overall guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

They have remodeled the hotel since last stayed. The beds are so comfortable. Everyone is nice. I can tell they change the air filters because the air smell clean the carpet has the new smell and the hall ways smell good. Not like other hotels. I wanted to stay over another night but it was booked out so I had to stay at the Marriot in VA. The cons is that they do not have a pool but there is a local public pool called Meads Pool close to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponse_2014, General Manager at Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Pamela,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review about your recent stay with us here at Best Western Plus Inn & Suites in Elizabeth City.

I am pleased that you found the bed comfortable, the staff friendly, and the air so fresh. I hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast bar as well.

We hope to see you again, so that we may continue to provide you with superior hospitality and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to stay before we could check in to our house in Corolla,OBX. The rooms were clean and nice we had a suite which had a pull out bed. Breakfast was good, too ! It's not a 5 star review because my wife found some hair in towels that were in the cubby located in the bath. The staff was quick to apologize and replace them. As for the pool that was closed due to remodeling we will have to see...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponse_2014, General Manager at Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Orlando,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Best Western Plus Inn & Suites in Elizabeth City.

I apologize for the trouble with the towels, and I am glad that the staff immediately replaced them for you. I am so glad that you found the room to be clean, comfortable, and spacious, and that you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast bar!

We hope to see you again in the future, so that we may continue to exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel was built/remodeled very poorly. No Pool, fitness room is dark. Staff is lazy and unfriendly. Rooms have an odor and beds are like sleeping on card board boxes on the pavement. Internet was slow, paint in rooms was not even and trim was falling off everywhere. Have stayed at many BW and seem to be getting away from them more and more due to quality of them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponse_2014, General Manager at Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Shayne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Best Western Plus Inn & Suites, Elizabeth City. I am so very sorry to hear that you were disappointed about so many aspects of your stay. It is always our goal to exceed every guest's expectations, and I am sorry that we failed to do so for you.

I hope you are able to visit us again, so that we may show you the true hospitality and service that Best Western offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked the hotel one night before the trip, and requested a King size bed. The room was small but comfortable. My Husband ran into the small dark coffee table, so we just moved that under the desk. Other than that, the room was clean and decorated very well. We would return to this hotel if we were to travel back to Elizabeth City.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponse_2014, General Manager at Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your recent stay at Best Western Plus Inn & Suites in Elizabeth City.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautifully decorated, comfortable rooms. I hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast bar and that everything else exceeded your expectations, as that is our number one priority here at Best Western Plus Inn & Suites.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided to stay in Elizabeth City Best Western PLUS because it had a pool, it was close(told 30-45 min from coast), and had free breakfast. None of that turned out. I'll say this. the room was nice. Pool closed. breakfast gone by 830 and not near enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponse_2014, General Manager at Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Bryan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your most recent stay with Best Western Plus Inn & Suites in Elizabeth City. Hearing from our guests is an important part of being able to actively improve the overall guest experience.

It is always our first priority to exceed guests expectations and I am sorry to hear that we failed to do that. I hope that you choose to stay with us again and provide us with another chance to live up to what you should expect from a Best Western Plus Inn & Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time going to this hotel when we came down for our family vacation. The hotel staff n mangers were very nice and everything. They accommodated me n my large family very well. The only dislike i had was that the pool wasn't finish. But i really enjoy my stay there. And very special thank you to Mr.Curtis Ms.Tina n Mr.Mitch

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarsha_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponse_2014, General Manager at Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Reid Family,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a survey about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Inn & Suites in Elizabeth City! I am so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our sincere hospitality, comfortable rooms, and friendly atmosphere. I hope you were able to experience our complementary hot breakfast bar as well.

I am very sorry that the pool was not operational. I fully understand how disappointing this can be for families with children. Please accept my apology.

We hope to see your family again soon here at Best Western Plus Inn & Suites, Elizabeth City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#6 of 9 in Elizabeth City
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites

Address: 848 Halstead Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-6919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range: £72 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Elizabeth City are close to all of the nearby popular destinations, and with the Best Western brand, guests are guaranteed comfort and competitive prices. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites puts the comfort of guests first. With proximity to USCG Base Elizabeth City and Air Station Elizabeth City, we're proud to welcome those who serve and their families. Elizabeth City hotels are homes away from home for a number of military families, and we consider it an honor to provide as much warmth and convenience as possible to our guests who are traveling far from home. An outdoor pool and semi-truck parking are just some of the ways our Elizabeth City hotel helps make your travels a little easier. Nothing compares to a day of relaxing poolside, whether guests are in town for a meeting or simply passing through. Long-haul truckers and road trippers alike enjoy the ample parking that's available. Top it all off with a free hot breakfast that includes favorites like a waffle bar, fresh local fruits and a wide cereal selection, and mornings always start off on the right note. Hotels near OBX North Carolina are highly desired because it makes commutes that much faster. From speed boat races in the summer to taking care of business at the USCG Base Elizabeth City, there are many reasons guests travel to the area. Whether guests need hotels near Eastern Carolina University or an extended stay with affordable rates, this Elizabeth City hotel provides the ultimate getaway. Business travelers like the spacious rooms, and employees of Coca-Cola® and TCOM alike are regular guests. From annual meetings with Lockheed Martin to road trips up the east coast, travelers deserve cozy pillow-top mattresses and southern hospitality when on the road. Reserve a relaxing stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing