We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local spot, charming staff and good food”

Sidney's Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 106 Restaurants in Elizabeth City
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sidney's Cafe & Bistro is located along the beautiful shore of Elizabeth City harbor, just 2 blocks north on E. Main St. We serve fresh homemade fare that is both, health conscious and delicious. Our hearty breakfasts and lunches are made with only the finest and freshest ingredients with daily homemade soups being a local favorite. Sidney's Cafe & Bistro creates uniquely satisfying salads, sandwiches and daily specials to satisfy a variety of palates. And of course, we can't forget to mention our famous Cheesy Bacon Meatloaf Sandwiches and our fresh baked Tuna Salad Melts. Come join us for breakfast, lunch, light snack or for dinner on Thursday, Friday or Saturday! You can even enjoy our fresh brewed coffee, cappucinos or a glass of wine, as you breathe in our small town friendly atmosphere!
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Karen makes her French onion soup herself from actual sweet onions. It is GREAT. We also had a nice salad and a meatloaf sandwich on toasted chibatta flat bread. We found the meatloaf a bit bland, just a bit. For desseert a waitress suggested blueberry bread pudding with whipped cream. Excellent! We will definitely stop at Sidney's again when an Elizabeth City opportunity permits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thanks for your review, as we cannot become better without them. Safe travels and as always would love to see you visit us anytime Elizabeth City is within your reach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Sidney's Cafe and Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My associates, family and I, eat there a few times a month, doesn't matter what we order, always fresh, great lunch specials that I get on my Facebook daily...great service, also open Thursday and Friday evenings, where my wife and I enjoy fabulous seafood and pasta specials. Makes a great romantic place for date night!

Thank mjhall12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Glad you enjoy what we do! Our goal is good food, great atmosphere, at an affordable price. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were in Elizabeth City for two days and after touring the Museum of the Albemarle and walking around town we opted to go to Sidney's for lunch. We had the French onion soup and the Mediterranean salad special. Both were fresh tasting and the serving sizes were just right for lunch. The only negative was a conversation between the person we assumed to be the owner and we guessed a newer employee. The employee was being asked about her cell phone (she doesn't have one) and then her email address (she only has access to someone else's). It was a bit uncomfortable to be so close to the people having this conversation and watching the employee's body language as she answered the questions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mtm221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review. First let me apologize if you felt uncomfortable with the discussion I was having with one of my employees. Unfortunately, being a small place it is sometimes impossible to hide our discussions from the public, but that is no excuse.
We want to provide good food with good atmosphere and good prices and I am very sorry yours ended on a sour note. Would love to see you back if you are ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A friend and I were in town for a day of sightseeing and happened on this delightful little place! the day was chilly, so Shrimp & Grits seemed perfect! However, we were there for lunch and it was on the dinner menu. Never mind…the proprietress had it fixed for us with a side of perfectly sautéed and seasoned fresh spinach!! We both expected to leave with "to go" boxes, but ate every delicious bite! Love her recipe! Coffee was good, too! Worth a visit! We will be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback! Glad to hear you will return. Only feedback will make us a better dining experience. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Down from Virginia for a concert, we stopped in for dinner beforehand. Nice, intimate place with open kitchen and owner available for inquiries and chatting.

I had the shrimp tacos with pineapple and mango chutney special (8.99). Delicious fresh shrimp - roughly 6 shrimp total, with more of a fresh 'salsa' with a kick of jalapeno pepper in two tacos with a side of ranch dressing. It also came with a potato side. The bistro chips are made in house and were plentiful as well as delicious! My husband commented his Ruben was excellent and he loved the chips as well. My only complaint was the slowness of staff to get drinks going and the bread we were offered was 4 tiny slices of a baguette with 2 packets of butter.

Appreciated the wine descriptions and tried the William Hill Chardonnay "with citrus notes".

Lovely restaurant that is only open for dinner in Thursday and Friday nights. Apparently Elizabeth City has a fun "First Fridays" month art explosion. Would like to experience that as well as breakfast and lunch at Sidney's.

Go and eat at Sidney's for dinner - you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Owner at Sidney's Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your evening. We do hope you get back to try us for breakfast and lunch! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sidney's Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sidney's Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing